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The meeting of the Georgia State Board of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology was held 
on Monday, September 27, 2010, at the Professional Licensing Boards, 237 Coliseum Drive, 
Macon, Georgia. 
 
The following Board members were 
present: 
 

Others Present:  

     
Andrea Boswell 
Robin Bohannon   
Elizabeth Larrimore 
Lori Smith 
Denise R. Sheppard 
Terri Williams 
 

 
Susan Hewett,  Licensure Supervisor 
Anita Martin, Executive Director 
Carol White, Board Secretary 
Janet Wray, Sr. Assistant Attorney General  
 

 
Open Session  

 
Andrea Boswell established that a quorum was present and the meeting that was scheduled to 
begin at 8:00 a.m. was called to order at 8:05 a.m. 

 
Review of August 30, 2010 Board Conference Call meeting minutes. 

• Board response: Robin Bohannon moved to approve the minutes.  Terri Williams 
seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. 
 

Ratify License. 
• Board response:  The Board tabled until the October 2010 Board meeting. 

 
Discussion on changing the title of Chapter 609-6 to Speech-Language Pathology Aides and 
Audiology Assistants. 

• Board response: Lori Smith made a motion to post an amendment to the title of the 
Board Rule Chapter 609-6 to read Speech-Language Pathology Aide and Audiology 
Assistants. Elizabeth Larrimore seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. 
 

Review the updated Reinstatement Board policy. 
• Board response: Lori Smith made a motion to update the Reinstatement Board Policy to 

state the same number of CE hours for reinstatement as the Board Rule. Robin Bohannon 
seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. 
 

 
 



 GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 
AND AUDIOLOGY 

Conference Call Board Meeting 
Professional Licensing Board 

237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA  
September 27, 2010 

Page 2 of 4                                                                                                      Georgia State Board of SLPA Minutes 
   

 
Reinstatement Policy  
 
All applicants must provide continuing education information in compliance with Board rule 
609-7-.01.  The information submitted must include a certificate of completion and a course 
outline for each program attended.  The information submitted must be organized & concise.  
Information that is submitted that is scant or excessive will be returned for the applicant’s 
resubmission.  The return of information to the applicant will extensively delay processing 
 
Practice with Expired License 
 
For 0-6 months – reinstate with a Private Consent Order in addition to fees & ce requirements 
as outlined below: 

• Fees: 
o Applicant must pay the late renewal fee; and 
o Applicant must pay a fine of $500 within 60 days of docket 

date of the reinstatement consent order. 
• Continuing Education: 

o Applicant must submit documentation of having completed 
30 contact hours or 3.0 CEUs directly related to the scope of practice of 
the license within two (2) years preceding the date of the application; 

o Continuing education hours submitted for late 
renewal/reinstatement cannot be used for any upcoming renewal period; 
and 

o 2 contact hours continuing education in Ethics must be 
obtained within 12 months from the docket date of the reinstatement 
consent order. 

 
Greater than 6 months but no more than 12 months: reinstate with a Public Consent Order in 
addition to fees & ce requirements as outlined below: 

• Fees: 
o Applicant must pay the late renewal fee; and 
o Applicant must pay a fine of $1000 within 60 days of  
 docket date of reinstatement consent order. 

• Continuing Education: 
o Applicant must submit documentation of having completed 

30 contact hours or 3.0 CEUs directly related to the scope of practice of 
the license within two (2) years preceding the date of the application; 

o Continuing education hours submitted for late 
renewal/reinstatement cannot be used for any upcoming  renewal period; 
and 

o 2 contact hours continuing education in Ethics must be 
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obtained within 12 months from the docket date of the reinstatement 
consent order. 

 
Greater than 12 months but no more than 24 months: reinstate with a Public Consent Order 
in addition to fees & ce requirements as outlined below: 

• Fees: 
o Applicant must pay the late renewal fee; and 
o Applicant must pay a fine of $1500 within 60 days of 

 docket date of reinstatement consent order. 
• Continuing Education: 
 

o Applicant must submit documentation of having completed 
40 contact hours or 4.0 CEUs directly related to the scope of practice of 
the license within two (2) years preceding the date of the application; 

o Continuing education hours submitted for late 
renewal/reinstatement cannot be used for any upcoming  renewal period; 
and 

o 2 contact hours continuing education in Ethics must be 
obtained within 12 months from the docket date of the reinstatement 
consent order. 

 
More than 24 months: reinstate with a Public Consent Order in addition to fees & CE 
requirements as outlined below: 

• Fees: 
o Applicant must pay the late renewal fee; and 
o Applicant must pay a fine as determined at the Board’s  

discretion within 60 days of docket date of reinstatement consent order. 
• Continuing Education: 

o Applicant must submit documentation of having completed  
50 contact hours or 5.0 CEUs directly related to the scope of practice of 
the license within two (2) years preceding the date of the application; 

 
Correspondence from Karen L. Niles, Director, ASHA Professional Development. 

• Board response: The Board tabled until the October 2010 Board meeting. 
 
Report on review of approved Endorsement States. 

• Board Response: Robin Bohannon made a motion to approve endorsement for 
Audiologist from Alabama, Arizona, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oregon, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, 
Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Lori Smith seconded the motion and it carried 
unanimously. 
 



 GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 
AND AUDIOLOGY 

Conference Call Board Meeting 
Professional Licensing Board 

237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA  
September 27, 2010 

Page 4 of 4                                                                                                      Georgia State Board of SLPA Minutes 
   

 
Update from Audiology Committee regarding Dr. Goldsmith’s request regarding the 
online fitting and dispensing of hearing aids with a medical clearance or a waiver to decline 
an audiological evaluation. 

• Board Response: Denise Sheppard made a motion to advise Dr. Goldsmith that the 
practice as proposed does not meet our minimum standards in Georgia. Mr. Bohannon 
seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. 

 
Executive Session  

 
Denise Sheppard made a motion, Lori Smith seconded and the Board voted to enter into 
Executive Session in accordance with O.C.G.A §43-1-2(k) to deliberate on applications. Voting 
in favor of the motion were those present who included Robin Bohannon, Elizabeth Larrimore 
and Terri Williams. The Board concluded Executive Session in order to vote on these matters 
and continue with the public session. 
 
Cognizant Report – Lori Smith 
SLPA110001 – The Board requested additional information  

• Request investigative file form Insurance Commissioner’s office 
• Contact complaint and see if respondent is still sending him/her bills. 

 
Attorney General’s Report – Ms. Janet Wray 

• Ms. Wray reminded the Board of the hearing that will be heard before the Board on 
October 25, 2010 at 11:00 a.m.  
 

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 8:45 
a.m. 
 
Minutes recorded by:    Carol White, Board Secretary 
Minutes reviewed and edited by:   Anita O. Martin, Executive Director 


