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Board Policy #1 
 

In the May 10, 2001 Board Meeting*, the Georgia Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy: 
 

Guidelines for Issuing Licenses 
 
Applications will be approved administratively once all criteria as outlined in the law and 
Board rules have been met. The administrative processing of licenses mean that the 
Board staff has reviewed the documents and approved licensure based upon the laws, 
rules and Board Policies that pertain to that specific type of licensure.  License 
reinstatements will be administratively processed in compliance with the Board’s current 
Reinstatement/Reactivation Policy. The Board will review any applicant with an 
affirmative answer to the conviction or Board sanction questions. Administratively issued 
licenses are considered for a vote to ratify at the next regularly scheduled Board meeting. 
 
* This policy was reviewed, updated & approved in the June 9, 2003 Conference 
Call, and again in the July 10, 2003 Board meeting. Amended 9/9/2004. 
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Board Policy #2 

 
*In the March 8, 2001 Board Meeting, the Georgia Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy. 
 

Guidelines for “Runner” Disciplinary Action 
 
Standard “Runner” Consent Order Entails: 
 90 Day Suspension 
 3 Years Probation 
 $10,000 Fine 
 D.C. must provide sworn statement listing “runners” used 
 Ethics and Boundaries Examination 

 
Category A: 

The following pertains to chiropractors who were found to have 1-10 documented 
cases of utilization of “runners” for patient referrals: 
 3 Years Suspension, stayed after 90 days – remainder to be served on probation 
 $500.00 fine per Offense 
 Ethics and Boundaries Examination 

 
Category B: 

The following pertains to chiropractors who were found to have 11-25 documented 
cases of utilization of “runners” for patient referrals: 
 
 3 Years Suspension – Stayed after one year, remainder to be served on probation  
 $500.00 fine per Offense 
 Successfully pass Ethics and Boundaries Examination. 

 
Category C: 

The following pertains to chiropractors who were found to have 26-50 documented 
cases of utilization of “runners” for patient referrals: 

  
 10 Years Suspension – Stayed after 3 Years – Remainder to be served on 

probation 
 $500.00 fine per Offense 
 Ethics and Boundaries Examination 
  

Category D: 
The following pertains to chiropractors who were found to have 50 or more 
documented cases of utilization of “runners” for patient referrals: 
 
 10 Years Suspension – Stayed after 5 years ---remainder to be served on 

probation 
 $500.00 fine per Offense 
 Successfully pass Ethics and  Boundaries Examination 

 
* This policy was reviewed & approved in the July 10, 2003 Board meeting. 

Amended 9/9/04. 
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Board Policy #3 
 

*In the May 3, 2001 Workshop Session, The Georgia Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners voted to adopt the following as Board Policy, pursuant to O.C.G.A.  
§§31-33-1 and 31-33-2. In the May 9, 2002 Board meeting, the Board voted to re-
adopt this policy with additions. The policy was amended by the Board in the 
November 6, 2003 Board meeting. 
 

Guidelines for the Request of Records to be Released 
 
 

1. Request for records from another healthcare practitioner must be released within 3 
to 5 working/business days. 

 
2. Upon receipt of a properly signed & executed release from the patient, the D.C., 

at his discretion, may release the original x-ray film, patient records, etc. to the 
patient or his/her designee. 

 
3. If the Board office receives a complaint against a chiropractor whereby the 

chiropractor will not release the records to a patient at the patient’s request, a 
letter from the Board will be sent via Certified Mail to the chiropractor to release 
the records to the patient within 10 days of receipt of the certified letter, and 
submit proof that the records have been mailed to the patient (via Certified Mail) 
to the Board within 10 days as well. The chiropractor must either submit to the 
Board proof of the mailing of the records or respond to the Board as to why the 
records cannot/will not be mailed within 10 days of receipt of the certified letter 
from the Board. 

 
4. If the Board office has not received proof that the records have been released to 

the patient, or has not received a response from the chiropractor within 15 days of 
the date the request was mailed from the Board’s office, the chiropractor will: 

 
 Have his/her license sanctioned by the Board with a PUBLIC 

REPRIMAND, which will be a permanent part of the chiropractors 
records; 

 Pay $500.00 fine. 
 1 year probation 
 Extra continuing education: 5 hrs. in record keeping 

         3 hrs. in risk management 
         2 hrs. in laws and rules 

 Successfully pass Ethics and Boundaries Examination. 
 
*   This policy was reviewed & approved in the July 10, 2003 Board meeting.  
   Amended 9/9/04. 
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Board Policy #4 
 
* In the May 3, 2001 Workshop Session, the Georgia Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy. 
 

Guidelines for Reactivating a License on Inactive Status 
 
1. Submit completed application. 
 
2. Submit proof of 20 hours of Continuing Education for the previous calendar year. 
 
3. Submit $250.00 reactivation fee. 
 
4. Have license held in any other state verified to the Board office. 
 
5. If the licensee has been out of practice for 5 or more years, the Board may, at its’ 

discretion, require successful completion of the S.P.E.C. Exam. 
 
6. Successfully pass Ethics and Boundaries Examination, at discretion of the Board. 
 
* This policy was reviewed & approved in the July 10, 2003 Board meeting. Fee 
amended in the March 14, 2002 meeting and again in the July 10, 2003 meeting. 
Amended 9/9/04. 
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Board Policy #5 

 
Reinstatement Policy 

The Reinstatement Application is available on the board’s web site at 
http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/14. 
 
Once the completed reinstatement application and the supporting documents have been 
submitted the board staff will review and issue the reinstatement for all individuals with a 
“clean” application. Complete “clean” applications will be reinstated administratively. A 
list of the reinstated licensees will be presented to the board for ratification at the next 
board meeting. For purposes of this policy, a consent order is a legal binding document 
that becomes a permanent part of your licensure information. 
 
The supporting documents required with the reinstatement application include: 

o CE hours- twenty (20) hours per year totaling forty (40) hours within the last two 
(2) years; 
 The CE hours used for reinstatement cannot be used to meet the CE 

requirements for the biennium for which the license is reinstated; and 
o Verification of licensure from all states in which the applicants holds or has ever 

held a license. 
 
All reinstatement application citing problems, (not having CE during last biennial 
renewal period, unlicensed practice, convictions, disciplinary action in other states, etc.) 
will have to be reviewed by the board at the next available board meeting. 
 
For licensees that state that they have not been practicing without a license since the 
date that the license lapsed are reinstated without a consent order. 
 
For licensees that state that they have been practicing without a license since the date 
that the license lapsed are reinstated and the matter is referred to Legal Services for the 
following:  

 public consent order citing the dates of the unlicensed practice,  
 $1,000 fine to be paid in full before the license will be reinstated,  
 # of  years probation to be determined by the Board,  
 and the completion of the Ethics and Boundaries Examination administered by the 

National Board of Chiropractic Examiners within one year of the effective date of 
the order. 

 
If reinstatement is granted, the license will be required to be renewed by the last day of 
December in EVEN numbered years, regardless of when the license is reinstated. 
 
The implications of a licensee practicing without a license are far-reaching. Employers, 
employees, and/or associates working with any unlicensed person who is practicing 
chiropractic could be subject to disciplinary action for aiding & abetting unlicensed 
practice; Medicaid & Medicare charges and insurance billed during any unlicensed 
period may be subject to denial or reimbursement; if applicable, malpractice providers 
may not cover the individual during the unlicensed period. 
 
*Amended 02-2007 
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Board Policy #6 
 

* In the May 10, 2001 Board Meeting, the Georgia Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
voted to adopt the following as Board Policy: 
 

Guidelines for Aiding and Abetting Unlicensed Practice Disciplinary Actions 
 
If a Chiropractor licensed in this state is found to have participated in the unlawful 
practice of Aiding and Abetting Unlicensed Practice, he/she shall be placed under a 
Public Consent Order to include the following: 
 

1. Pay a fine of up to $500.00, per occurrence; 
2. Probation (time period of probation to be set by the Board); 
3. Public Reprimand 
4. Successfully pass Ethics and Boundaries Examination 

 
* This policy was reviewed & approved in the July 10, 2003 Board meeting. This 
policy was amended 9/9/04. 
 

Board Policy #7 
 

Guidelines for Continuing Education Renewals 
Renewal Policies 
Once a license expires on 12/31 of the even years, a chiropractor cannot practice until 
his/her license has been renewed. 
 
Continuing Education for License Renewal 
Pursuant to Board Rule 100-5-.02, official documentation is defined as documentation 
from an approved provider that verifies a licensee’s attendance, course content, hours 
earned, and date and times that a course is given. Checks for payment, hotel reservations, 
or copies of a course syllabus shall not serve as acceptable documentation. 
 
CE Guidelines 
The following procedures/guidelines will apply when auditing licensees for compliance 
with continuing education requirements during a renewal cycle: 
1) Licensees who are unable to document CE compliance prior to the December 31st 

deadline but are able to do so prior to March 31st, will be renewed upon receipt of 
such documentation and payment of the late renewal fee. 

2) Any licensee who does not respond to the audit notice or to a deficiency notice and/or 
cannot provide proof of completion of CE will revert to “lapsed” status on April 1st 
and must undergo the reinstatement application process. 

3) If a chiropractor has obtained the required amount of continuing education, but not in 
the required time period and/or in the required subject area he/she may be renewed 
under: 

1. Public Consent Order 
2. $500.00 Fine 
3. At the Boards discretion, successfully pass the Ethics and Boundaries 

Examination 
 
*Amended 02-2007 
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Board Policy #8 

 
Board Policy Investigative Interviews 

 
1. First opportunity, then written request to reschedule. 
2. Second opportunity, then meeting scheduled for Macon. 

 
* This policy was approved in the May 13, 2004 Board meeting. 
 

Board Policy #9 
 

Board Policy Payment of Fines 
 
All Fines must be paid by 5:00 p.m. when due. 
 
Staff will send a thirty (30) day notice to pay letter. If the fine remains unpaid then the 
matter will be referred to the Attorney General’s office for suspension. 
 
*This policy was approved in the November 18, 2004 Board meeting. 
 

Board Policy #10 
 

Board Policy Authorization to Release 
 

The Board authorizes the Executive Director to release investigative materials without 
Board consent. 
 
* This policy was approved in the July 14, 2005 Board meeting. 
 

Board Policy #11 
 

Guidelines for Expunging Advertising Consent Orders 
 
Pursuant to the authority in O.C.G.A. § 43-9-6.1(7), the board may consider, upon receipt 
of a written request from the licensee, expunging consent orders/disciplinary records of 
any advertising violations defined in rules of the board as immoral and unprofessional 
conduct or relating to reasonable care and skill in the treatment of a patient. 
  
Upon receipt of the written request, said request will be placed on the next available  
board meeting agenda. 
 
Upon approval by the board, a docketed letter citing approval will be mailed to the 
licensee. All records of this public matter will be removed from the board’s web-site and 
any other disciplinary databases where the matter is reflected. 
 
* This policy was approved in the September 8, 2005 Board meeting. 
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Board Policy #12 
 

Ownership of Patient Records 
 
Ownership of patient records by Georgia Licensed Chiropractor’s must be in accordance 
with OCGA Title 31 Chapter 33 Health Records and all applicable Federal Laws.  
Georgia law can be found linked on the board’s website at 
http://sos.georgia.gov/plb/chiro/TITLE%2031-%20Patient%20Record%20Laws.pdf  
 
* This policy was approved in the February 21, 2008 Board meeting. 
*This policy amended November 18, 2010. 
 

Board Policy #13 
 

Approved Georgia Professional Associations 
 
For the requirements as specified in Board Rule 100-7-.08, the Georgia Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners approves the Georgia Chiropractic Association (GCA) and the 
Georgia Council of Chiropractic (GCC). 
 
* This policy was approved in the February 21, 2008 Board meeting. 

 
Board Policy #14 

 
Out of Practice: 5 Years or Greater 

 
A Chiropractor with a license in good standing that has allowed his or her license to lapse 
for over a five year period must complete a number of classes/courses in an accredited 
chiropractic college in order to review essential aspects of the chiropractic education.  
The following is a recommended list of courses and suggested credit hours for each.  A 
list of CCE (Council on Chiropractic Education) approved accredited chiropractic schools 
and colleges can be viewed directly from the Board’s website.   
 

 Emergency Procedures:  2 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 8 hours 
 Ethics and Boundaries:  2 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 8 hours 
 Integrated Diagnosis:  2 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 8 hours 
 Radiographic Quality:  2 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 8 hours 
 Advanced Imaging:  2 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 8 hours 
 Skeletal Rad c:  3 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 12 hours 
 Adjusting Special Populations:  4 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 16 hours 
 Level III Clinical Practice Elective:  8 hours weekly x 4 weeks = 32 hours 

 
* This policy was approved in the January 11, 2013 Board meeting. 
* Amended September 18, 2015 
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Board Policy #15 
Board Policy: DUI/DWI Policy: 
 
A single DUI/ DWI incurred five (5) years or more from the original date of application, 
and there being no additional occurrences during the preceding five-year period from the 
original date of the application, will not solely constitute grounds for denial of licensure 
by the Board. 
 

 If all other licensure prerequisites are met and there being no additional 
infractions of the law five (5) years or more from the date of application, license 
may be issued administratively between Board meetings by staff and the issuance 
ratified by the Board at the next scheduled meeting. 

 
Effective: 01-11-13 

 
Board Policy #16 

 
 
 
The Georgia Board of Chiropractic Examiners instructs staff to administratively report all 
public board actions to the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards Chiropractic 
Information Network/Board Action Databank (FCLB CIN-BAD). 
 
* This policy was adopted at the September 12, 2014 board meeting. 
 
 

Board Policy #17 
 
 

 
Continuing education programs granted Board approval must submit a new application 
for approval each year.  Applications are to be submitted at least sixty (60) days prior to 
the anniversary of the approval date from the previous year.  The Board reserves the right 
to deny the acceptance of hours submitted from participants of any program which fails 
to timely submit a new application for approval.  Blanket approval will be granted to state 
chiropractic organizations and accredited chiropractic colleges and universities upon 
receipt and review of a complete continuing education program application provided that 
the course(s) taught fall within the scope of practice of Georgia Chiropractic.  A list of 
approved Continuing Education Programs for the current biennium will be posted on the 
Board website. 
 
* This policy was adopted at the November 7, 2014 meeting. 
* This policy was amended at the January 16, 2015 meeting. 
 

Guidelines for Reporting Public Actions to FCLB CIN-BAD 

Guidelines for Approval of Continuing Education Programs 


