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1. Guidelines for Responding to a Request From a Patient for the 

Release of Patient Records 
 

a. Upon receipt of a properly signed and executed release from the 
Patient, the podiatrist must release the patient records, a copy of 
the original x-ray film, etc. to the patient or his/her designee 
within seven (7) business days. 

 
b. If the Board office receives a complaint against a podiatrist stating 

that the podiatrist will not release the records to a patient at a 
patient’s request, a letter from the Board will be sent via Certified 
Mail to the podiatrist to release the records to the patient within ten 
(10) days of receipt of the certified letter; and the podiatrist must 
submit proof that the records have been mailed to the patient (via 
Certified Mail) to the Board within ten (10) days.  

 

c. If the Board office has not received proof that the records have been 
released to the patient, or has not received a response from the 
podiatrist within fifteen (15) days of the date the request was mailed 
from the Board office, the podiatrist will be subject to the following 
disciplinary sanctions, which may include any or all of the 
following: 

1) Public Reprimand; 
2)  Pay $500.00 fine; 
3) One (1) year probation; and/or 
4) Six (6) additional hours of continuing medical 

education: 
 Five (5) hours of record keeping 
 3 hours in risk management 
 2 hours in law and rules 
 Successfully pass Ethics and Boundaries 

Examination. 
 
Adopted on June 1, 2007 
Amended on April 15, 2016 
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2.  Guidelines Regarding Notice of Intent to Dispense 
 

It is the policy of the Board to allow staff to administratively submit 
written notification regarding receipt of a Podiatrist’s intent to dispense 
drugs to the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy in accordance with BR 
500-8-.01 and Georgia State Board of Pharmacy rule 480-28-.03 under 
the following conditions: 
 
a. the Podiatrist’s license is active and in good standing; 
b. the Podiatrist has not been disciplined by this or any other licensing 

or regulatory board; and,  
c. the Podiatrist is not currently under investigation by the Board. 
 
If the Podiatrist does not meet the criteria noted above, the letter of 
intent to become a dispensing podiatrist must be presented to the Board 
for consideration. 

 
 
Adopted January 22, 2016 
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3. Guidelines for Continuing Education Audit 
 
 

a. In accordance with O.C.G.A. § 43-35-15(b)(1)(A), as a requirement for 
the biennial renewal of his or her license, a podiatric physician must 
submit proof to the Board of the completion of not less than 50 hours of 
approved continuing education in the preceding two years. 

 
b. During the renewal period, the Board grants staff the administrative 

authority to conduct random audits of continuing education as follows: 
 

1) Select a percentage of licensees to audit for compliance at the time 
the license is renewed. 
 

2) Select a percentage of licensees to audit for compliance a 
minimum of thirty (30) days after the expiration date of the 
license 
 

3) Audit one hundred percent (100%) of all licensees that apply for 
the renewal of a license during the lapsed late renewal period.  

 
c. If a licensee is selected for continuing education audit, each licensee 

must submit continuing education records to meet the renewal 
requirements for that license renewal period as directed by staff. 

 
d. In the event a licensee fails to certify or submit adequate proof of 

completed CE hours, or if the CE documentation submitted is incorrect, 
false, or fraudulent, the Board Cognizant may initiate disciplinary action 
in accordance with Board Rule 500-5-.02. 

 
e. All actions initiated by the Cognizant may be ratified during the next 

scheduled meeting of the Board. 
 
 
Proposed April 15, 2016 


