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APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF 
COSMETOLOGY INDIVIDUAL PROFESSIONAL LICENSE  

237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 
Phone (478) 207-2440 

 
Licensees are required to be familiar with Georgia law and Board rules governing the practice of Cosmetology/Hair Design/Nail Technology/Esthetics 

 Visit the Board website for information: www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this checklist to 
ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. We recommend you keep a copy of your 
application for your records. 
 

 NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE: $200.00  The payment must be made by check or money order payable to 
the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. DO NOT SEND CASH OR COUNTER CHECKS. Checks 
returned for insufficient funds are subject to a $30.00 service charge pursuant to O.C. G.A. § 16-9-20. 

 

 NOTARIZED APPLICATION: The complete application must be mailed to the Board’s office at the address listed above, 
along with your FEE.  Sign the application in the presence of a notary. 

 

 PROOF OF CONTINUING EDUCATION:  (See requirements on page 4 of application).  
 

 SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENT (SVD) – Enclosed is a copy such as my Driver’s License, Passport, or other 
document OR a copy of my current immigration document(s) which includes either my Alien number or I-94 number and SEVIS 
number if needed. Secure and Verifiable Documents under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 issued August 1, 2011 by the Office of the 
Attorney General, Georgia: 

The list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of The 
Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”) on the 
Department of Law’s website pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents 
that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this list may not 
necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.  This list may be found 
on the Board’s website at this address:  http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf  

  SUBMIT APPLICATION IN A 9X12 or LARGER ENVELOPE – – DO NOT STAPLE pages or check/money order.  Do 
not fold pages of the application. Make check/money order payable to Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and 
Barbers submit to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217. We recommend using US Mail or private courier (UPS, 
FedEx, etc.) with tracking. Keep a copy of your application for your records. 

Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the Board. 
 

DO NOT SUBMIT THIS PAGE WITH YOUR APPLICATION

* * * IMPORTANT * * * 
The Board cannot process incomplete applications.  If any item is missing, incomplete, or 
incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.  Please review this application 
before you submit it to ensure that all information and documentation is complete and 
correct.  Incomplete applications result in delayed processing. Incomplete applications are 
void after one year.  Furthermore, because application information is time sensitive, 
documents cannot be transferred from old applications to new applications. 
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APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF 
COSMETOLOGY INDIVIDUAL PROFESSIONAL LICENSE  

$200 Application Fee (non-refundable) 
 

 

 HAIR DESIGNER      ESTHETICIAN 
 

 MASTER COSMETOLOGIST    NAIL TECHNICIAN 
 

LICENSE NUMBER:________________________________________ 
 
Additional License Types (currently or previously issued by the Georgia Professional Licensing Boards): 
___________________________________________________________________ 

 

 
 

8. E-mail Address 3: (Please print clearly)_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
3

 Acknowledgement of your application will be sent to your email.  If further information is needed, Board staff will 
contact you by email so that your application can be processed in the most efficient manner.  Your email will not 
be shared with third parties 

 

1. Legal Name to  
appear on License: 

 

 

                                                               LAST                                                                                                          FIRST                                                                                                                               MIDDLE                                                 
 

2. Name as shown on exam records, transcripts or any documentation provided to the Board including maiden name (if different):  
 
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                 LAST                                                                 FIRST                                                                                              MIDDLE                                                                                                      MAIDEN 
 

3. Social Security # ¹ :    -   -     Date of Birth: M M - D D - Y Y Y Y 

                                         ¹ This information is authorized to be obtained & disclosed to state & federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 101. 
 

4.  Gender:    Male   Female 
 

5. Residential Address: 

                                                            PHYSICAL ADDRESS  - NUMBER AND STREET NAME REQUIRED   ( P.O. BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE )                                                                                        APT # 
  

 
          -     

                     CITY                         STATE                                             ZIP                                                                                                              

6. Mailing 2 
Address : 

 

 

                                       ( P.O. BOX ACCEPTABLE )                       2 O.C.G.A. §43-1-2 (k) Your name, mailing address and license number are public information and will appear on Secretary of State’s website
 
 

   - 

 CITY                                                                                                                                                                                                           STATE                                                    ZIP 
 

7. Daytime Phone # 
 

   -    -      Evening Phone #    -    -     

      GEORGIA  STATE  BOARD  of 
 COSMETOLOGYAND BARBERS 

237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, GA 31217 
Phone (478) 207-2440  

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Date Entered ___________________________________ 
 

Receipt #       ___________________________________ 
 

Submitted $  ___________________________________ 
 

Date Issued   ___________________________________ 
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Print Name of Applicant:_________________________________________ 

 

This application will be returned if you do not answer the questions on this page. 
 
 9. Since the date you last renewed, or the date your license was issued if you have never renewed, have you been arrested 

or convicted of a felony, misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation), crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime violating 
federal or state law relating to controlled substances or dangerous drugs? (DWI and DUI are not minor traffic violations.) For 
purposes of this question, a “conviction” includes a finding or verdict of guilty, plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere, or first 
offender treatment, and also includes adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered on the charge (s). NOTE: The 
answer to this question is “YES” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, dismissed or deferred, you 
pled & completed probation under First offender and/or your civil rights have been restored and/or you have received 
legal advice that the offense will not appear on your criminal record.  
 

   No           Yes      
 

If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding arrest/court convictions, you must submit the following to the 
Board: 
 

(a) Submit a letter of explanation and certified copy of final court disposition from the county(s) in w h i c h  you were 
arrested/convicted. The court document should include the charges and sentencing information. 

(b) Probation/Parole - Submit a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer regarding your current 
status. If probation/parole has been completed, submit certified documents from the courts verifying case closed and 
completion of probation / parole. 

 

10. Since the date you last renewed, or the date your license was issued if you have never renewed, has any other  
        licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state:               

 

   No     Yes      (a) Denied your application for licensure, renewal, or reinstatement?      
         No     Yes      (b) Revoked, suspended, restricted, sanctioned, or probated your license?  
         No     Yes      (d) Reprimanded, fined, or disciplined you?            

  No     Yes      (c) Requested or accepted surrender of your license?      
 
If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or 
agency send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to 
the Board’s office. Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by 
the Board. Provide the name of the agency or board in the space provided: 
  
    

       ___________________________________________________________ 
Name of State Board or Agency 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PREVIOUS DISCIPLINARY AND CRIMINAL ARREST INFORMATION 

Applicants Must Answer ALL 5 Questions Below: 
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 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR COSMETOLOGY REINSTATEMENT  

 
 
Print Name of Applicant:_________________________________________ 
 
 
11.  I am enclosing copies of attendance/completion of the required number of Continuing Education (CE) hours since my last 

renewal as specified in the Board Rule 240-3-.01. 
 
 Yes      No 

 
You can find the list of Board Approved Continuing Education Providers under “Education and Exams” at the top 
of the page on the Board’s website at: www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology   
 
You must include a copy of your certificate of attendance/completion from the CE provider for each continuing 
education course submitted for credit. Five (5) hours of continuing education is required for each renewal period that 
the license was not active (e.g. a license that lapsed on 3/31/10 would require 20 hours – 5 hours for 2010, 5 hours for 
2012, 5 hours for 2014, and 5 hours for 2016).    
 
The required hours of the continuing education are:    

 
1. Three (3) hours of the total five (5) hours must be satisfied by a course in health and safety developed or approved 

by the Board. A health and safety course or program that meets or exceeds the three (3) hours that has been developed 
and offered through a college, university department, or division of continuing education of the Department of Education, 
the Technical College System of Georgia, the Board of Regents, or The American Red Cross may be accepted by the 
Board without prior approval. 

 
2. Two (2) hours of the total five (5) hours must be in a course previously registered with the Board in any of the 

following areas: industry or trade show, health and safety, industry trends, computer skills, business management, or the 
licensee’s area of practice. 

 
In order to reinstate a license after expiration, the applicant shall pay all fees required by the law or rules, including the 
reinstatement fee, and shall submit documentation of completion of all CE hours required since the date of expiration.   
A license shall be issued upon completion of all requirements of the rules and O.C.G.A. §§ 43-10-9 and 43-10-10. 
 
 
REINSTATEMENTS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION. 
Georgia Law O.C.G.A.  43-10-10 requires documentation shall be submitted of completion of 
all required continuing education hours since the date the registration was automatically 
revoked.  
 
THE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERS CANNOT WAIVE A REQUIREMENT OF 
GEORGIA LAW. 
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NOTARIZED SIGNATURE BY COSMETOLOGY REINSTATEMENT APPLICANT 

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 
12. APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 

 
License Type (check only one license type per application): 

 HAIR DESIGNER      ESTHETICIAN 
 

 MASTER COSMETOLOGIST    NAIL TECHNICIAN 
 

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules 
and regulations of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers and I agree to abide by these laws and 
rules, as amended from time to time.  
 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and 
accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1 (mark 1 or 2 below): 

 
1) _______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older.  You must submit a copy of your current Secure and 

Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other document. 
 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I 
am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an 
alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. You must submit a 
copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number 
and, if needed, SEVIS number. 

 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and has attached at least one Secure 
and Verifiable Document, as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with this Affidavit.  
 
In making the above representations under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or 
fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as 
allowed by such criminal statute. I also understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary 
action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure. 
 
  

Print Name of Applicant 
 
  

         Signature of Applicant 
 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE   
 
 

   DAY OF ,  20   

 

________________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE  
     
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:  

 

O.C.G.A. § 45-17-6 requires legible seals for notarized documents. 
If an embossed seal is used a foil overlay or shading should be applied 
to make the seal, state, title, name, and county legible when digitized.  

 

NOTARY SEAL 


