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APPLICATION FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERS 

237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 • (478) 207-2440 
www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 

 
Did you know that you can apply for your license online?  YOU CAN APPLY ONLINE HERE: www.sos.ga.gov/plb  

 
Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of Cosmetology/Barbers/Hair Designer/Nail 
Technology/Esthetics in the State of Georgia. Visit our website for information:  www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

Please read and use this checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. We recommend you keep a 
copy of your application for your records. Do no submit this checklist with your application—it is for your 
reference only. The following items are necessary for your application: 
 

  NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE: $30.00    ( INSTRUCTOR FEE:  $75 ) 
The payment must be made by check or money order payable to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and 
Barbers. DO NOT SEND CASH OR COUNTER CHECKS. Checks returned for insufficient funds are subject to a 
$30.00 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20. 

 

  NOTARIZED APPLICATION: The complete application must be mailed to the Board’s office at the address listed 
above, along with your FEE. You must sign the application in the presence of a Notary Public.  

 

  VETERANS PREFERENCE POINTS: If you are claiming veteran’s preference points, you must enclose a copy of 
your DD-214 showing that you served during a period of conflict or war for a minimum of ninety (90) days. 

 

  CITIZENSHIP/QUALIFIED ALIEN STATUS: Please submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as 
driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 2 and 3 of this application. 

 

  OUT OF COUNTRY APPLICANTS: If applicable, please submit a credentials evaluation from a board approved credentials 
evaluation provider. 

 

  MAIL APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT IN A 9x12 or LARGER ENVELOPE – DO NOT STAPLE pages or check/money 
order.  Do not fold pages of the application. Make check/money order payable to Georgia Secretary of State and submit to 
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217. 

 

  INSTRUCTOR APPLICANTS ONLY: EMPLOYMENT AFFIDAVIT. Submit Page 5 with the application signed and notarized 
proving at least one year of licensed work experience in your profession. (Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, or 
Nail Technician Instructors ONLY). Not required for Barber Instructor applicants.

*** IMPORTANT *** 
 

The Board cannot process incomplete applications.  If any item is missing, incomplete, or 
incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.  Please review this application before 
you submit it to ensure that all information and documentation is complete and correct.  
Incomplete applications result in delayed processing. Incomplete applications are void after one 
year.  Furthermore, because application information is time sensitive, documents cannot be 
transferred from old applications to new applications. 
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APPLICATION FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
Application Fee $30.00 non-refundable (INSTRUCTOR fee $75) 

 
License Type (check only ONE license type per application): 

 

 MASTER BARBER 

 BARBER II 

 BARBER INSTRUCTOR 

 HAIR DESIGNER 

 HAIR DESIGN INSTRUCTOR  
 

 MASTER COSMETOLOGIST 

 COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR  

 ESTHETICIAN 

 ESTHETICS INSTRUCTOR 

 NAIL TECHNICIAN 

 NAIL TECH INSTRUCTOR 
 

List any licenses currently or previously issued to you by the Georgia Professional Licensing Boards: 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                         LICENSE   TYPE                                                                                                                                                            LICENSE NUMBER 

 

 
 

8. E-mail Address 3: ____________________________________________________________   FAX ___________________________________ 
3

 Acknowledgement of your application will be sent to your email.  If further information is needed, Board staff will contact you so that your 
application can be processed in the most efficient manner.  Your email will not be shared with third parties.  

1. Legal Name to  
appear on License: 

 

 

                                                               LAST                                                                                   FIRST                                                                                      MIDDLE                                                    MAIDEN 
 

2. Name as shown on exam records, transcripts or any documentation provided to the Board including maiden name (if different):  
 
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                 LAST                                                                 FIRST                                                                                              MIDDLE                                                                                                      MAIDEN 
 

3. Social Security # ¹ :    -   -     Date of Birth: M M - D D - Y Y Y Y 

                                         ¹ This information is authorized to be obtained & disclosed to state & federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 101. 
 

4.  Gender:    Male   Female 
 

5. Residential Address: 

                                                            PHYSICAL ADDRESS  - NUMBER AND STREET NAME REQUIRED   ( P.O. BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE )                                                                                      APT #

  
 

          -     

                     CITY                         STATE                                             ZIP                                                                                                   

6. Mailing 2 
Address : 

 

 

                                       ( P.O. BOX ACCEPTABLE )                       2 O.C.G.A. §43-1-2 (k) Your name, mailing address and license number are public information and will appear on Secretary of State’s website
 
 

   - 

 CITY                                                                                                                                                                                                           STATE                                                    ZIP 

 

7. Daytime Phone # 
 

   -    -      Evening Phone #    -    -     

      GEORGIA  STATE  BOARD  of 
 COSMETOLOGYAND BARBERS 
   237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, GA 31217 

Phone (478) 207-2440  
www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Date Entered ___________________________________ 
 

Receipt #       ___________________________________ 
 

Submitted $  ___________________________________ 
 

 
Date Issued   ___________________________________ 
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Applicants Must Answer ALL 5 Questions Below:  

This application will be returned if you do not answer the questions on this page. 
 
 9. Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a felony, misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation), crime involving moral turpitude, 

or a crime violating federal or state law relating to controlled substances or dangerous drugs? (DWI and DUI are not minor traffic violations.) 
For purposes of this question, a “conviction” includes a finding of verdict of guilty, plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere, or first offender 
treatment, and also includes adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered on the charge (s). NOTE: The answer to this 
question is “YES” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, dismissed or deferred, you pled & completed 
probation under First offender and/or your civil rights have been restored and/or you have received legal advice that the offense 
will not appear on your criminal record. 

            No           Yes      
 

If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding arrest/court convictions, you must submit the following to the Board: 
 

(a) Submit a letter of explanation and certified copy of final court disposition from the county(s) in w h i c h  you were 
arrested/convicted. The court document should include the charges and sentencing information. 

(b) Probation/Parole - Submit a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer regarding your current status. If 
probation/parole has been completed, submit certified documents from the courts verifying case closed and completion of 
probation / parole. 

 

10. Has any licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state ever: 
 

 (a) Denied your application for licensure, renewal, or reinstatement?       No     Yes   
       (b) Revoked, suspended, restricted, sanctioned, or probated your license?    No     Yes   
       (c) Requested or accepted surrender of your license?       No     Yes   
       (d) Reprimanded, fined, or disciplined you?          No     Yes   

 
If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or agency 
send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to the Board’s 
office. Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the Board. Provide the 
name of the agency or board in the space provided: 
     

       ___________________________________________________________ 
Name of State Board or Agency 

 
11. Submit a copy of your Secure and Verifiable Document (SVD) with this application such as your Driver’s License, Passport, or other 

document OR a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or I-94 number and SEVIS 
number if needed. 
 

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2   
Issued August 1, 2011 by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia 
 

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”) provides that “[n]ot later than August 
1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law’s website a list of 
acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by the 
Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(f). The Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent 
basis, if necessary. 
 
The list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains 
documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this list may not necessarily be 
indicative of residency or immigration status.  This list may be found on the Board’s website at this address:  
http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf  

 

Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the Board. 

PREVIOUS DISCIPLINARY AND CRIMINAL ARREST INFORMATION 
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NOTARIZED SIGNATURE BY COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER APPLICANT 
12.  APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 
 

License Type (check only one license type per application): 
 

 MASTER BARBER 

 BARBER II 

 BARBER INSTRUCTOR 

 HAIR DESIGNER 

 HAIR DESIGN INSTRUCTOR  
 

 MASTER COSMETOLOGIST 

 COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR  

 ESTHETICIAN 

 ESTHETICS INSTRUCTOR 

 NAIL TECHNICIAN 

 NAIL TECH INSTRUCTOR 
 

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules and 
regulations of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as 
amended from time to time.  
 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate 
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1 (mark 1 or 2 below): 

 
1) _______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older.  You must submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable 

Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other document. 
 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I am 
a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien 
number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. You must submit a copy of 
your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if 
needed, SEVIS number. 

 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and has attached at least one Secure 
and Verifiable Document, as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with this Affidavit.  
 
In making the above representations under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or 
fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as 
allowed by such criminal statute. I also understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary action 
by the Board for which I am applying for licensure. 
 

 

Print Name of Applicant 
 
 

 

         Signature of Applicant 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 
 
 

   DAY OF ,  20   
 

________________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE  
     
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:  

Georgia requires a legible ink seal for notarized documents. If an 
embossed seal is used a foil overlay or shading should be applied to 
make the seal legible when digitized. 

 

NOTARY SEAL 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERS 
237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 • (478) 207-2440 

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 
 

EMPLOYMENT AFFIDAVIT FOR INSTRUCTOR APPLICANTS ONLY 
 

State of    I hereby certify that    
Applicant’s Name 

was in my employ as a     
Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, Nail Technician 
 

and worked    from    to in a salon/shop 
Full/Part Time month/day/year month/day/year 

 

located at   
Street Address City State Zip Code Telephone Number 

 

ERASURES OR CHANGES IN DATES ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE 
 

Printed Name:   
Salon/Shop Owner’s Name 

Signature: 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE  

 
Salon/Shop Owner’s Signature 

 

  DAY OF , 20   
 

 
 

NOTARY PUBLIC My Commission Expires: 
 

 

THIS PORTION BELOW TO BE FILLED OUT ONLY IF YOU (THE APPLICANT) OWNED YOUR OWN SALON/SHOP. 

AFFIDAVIT FROM SALON/SHOP OWNER 
State of     

 

I hereby certify that I owned and operated a salon/shop as a licensed at this location: 
Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, Nail Technician 

 
 

Street Address City State Zip Code Telephone Number 
 

From  to . 
month/day/year month/day/year 

 
Printed Name:   

Salon/Shop Owner’s Name 
               Signature: 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

_______________________________________________ 
  Salon/Shop Owner’s Signature 

  DAY OF , 20    
 

 
 

NOTARY PUBLIC    My Commission Expires: 

SEAL 

SEAL 


