APPLICATION FOR A COSMETOLOGY OR BARBER SALON/SHOP LICENSE
GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERS
237 Coliseum Drive * Macon, Georgia 31217
Phone (478) 207-2440 -« Fax: (866) 888-1176
www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of
Cosmetology/Hair Design/Nail Technology/Esthetics/ Master Barber/Barber Il in the State of Georgia.

**Important*
The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing, incomplete or
incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board and will delay the processing of your
application. Review your application before submitting it to ensure all information and
documentation is complete and correct. Applications are void after one year. Documents cannot
be transferred from old applications to new applications.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this checklist to
ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. We recommend you keep a copy of your
application for your records.

() NON-REFUNDABLE FEE: $75.00 The payment must be made by check or money order payable to the Georgia State
Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. DO NOT SEND CASH OR COUNTER CHECKS. Checks returned for insufficient
funds are subject to a $30.00 service charge pursuant to 0.C.G.A.§16-9-20.

() BILL OF SALE/LEASE: Bill of Sale/Lease (location, address and signature pages ONLY, you do not need to submit
the entire document) must be submitted.

(J NOTARIZED APPLICATION: NOTARIZED APPLICATION & AFFIDAVIT: The complete application must be mailed to
the Board'’s office at the address listed above, along with your FEE. Each owner must sign a separate affidavit in the
presence of a notary.

() ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS: All questions must be answered. Applicants who must answer “Yes” to the
arrest/conviction question must submit a certified copy of the final court disposition with a letter of explanation, as well
as a letter from probation/parole officer with a current status of probation or stating the case has been closed.
Applicants who answer “Yes” to the sanction/disciplinary questions must provide a certified copy of the agency order
showing the action taken by the other state licensing board. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.

(J NAME OF ESTABLISHMENT: The name of the salon/shop must include the word “salon” or “shop” in the name.

() PROOF OF CONTINUING EDUCATION: Please submit a certificate of completion of a Board approved Continuing
Education course covering health, sanitation, and safety, as required by Board Rule 240-12-.01. (If multiple owners,
only one owner will need to complete this requirement.)

(J SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENT (SVD) - Enclosed is a copy of my Driver's License, Passport, or other
document OR a copy of my current immigration document(s) which includes either my Alien number or I-94 number
and SEVIS number if needed. Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 issued August 1, 2011
by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia:




The list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of The lllegal Immigration
Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (IREA”) on the Department of Law’s website pursuant to
0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents
on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status. This list may be found
on the Board’s website at this address: http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf

(L SUBMIT APPLICATION IN A 9X12 or LARGER ENVELOPE - DO NOT STAPLE pages or check/money order. Do
not fold pages of the application. Make check/money order payable to Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and
Barbers submit to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217. We recommend using US Mail or private courier (UPS,
FedEXx, etc.) with tracking. Keep a copy of your application for your records.

APPLICATION FOR COSMETOLOGY OR BARBER SALON/SHOP LICENSE
PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND BECOME FAMILIAR WITH THE LAWS AND RULES GOVERNING THE
PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA. VISIT THE FOLLOWING SITE FOR
INFORMATION: http://sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology.

e Please be aware that a salon/shop license is NOT the same as a business license. Please contact the city or county
in which you are establishing your salon/shop to obtain a business license.

e In order to open a salon/shop you must have the actual license issued by the Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
and the registration must be displayed in a conspicuous place in the salon/shop. A copy of the application and proof of
payment sent will not be viewed as an acceptable substitute for a salon/shop license. Licenses may be printed from the
Board website.

e Salon/Shop Change of Name or Address requires a change of name and/or address application be submitted to the
Board office with the required fees. Change of Ownership requires a new application be submitted to the Board office
with the required fees and issuance of a new license number. YOU MUST INCLUDE A COPY OF YOUR BILL OF
SALE/LEASE. Business names of salon/shop shall include the word salon or shop and shall not contain terms which
would mislead the public as to the operation of the cosmetology or barber establishment.

e The Board does not license booths within a salon/shop or a kiosk as a salon/shop. A state nursing home is not required
to have a salon/shop license issued by the Board. Services may be performed by a registered cosmetologist, master
barber, or barber Il in a client's residence, a nursing home, an assisted living community, a personal care home, a
hospital, or similar facilities when the client for reasons of ill health, infirmity, or other physical disability is unable to go to
the licensed beauty shop, salon, or barber shop for regular barbering or cosmetologist services.

e Processing Time: Please allow at least 25 business days for processing of applications.

e Citizenship/Qualified Alien Status: All owners must complete and submit a separate Owner Affidavit and submit a
current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated. If not a U.S.
citizen, please attach a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or 1-94
number and SEVIS number if needed.

e Information Regarding Apprentices in Salon/Shop: Any individual planning to apprentice in a salon/shop must be
licensed as an apprentice. Each master cosmetologist, hair designer, nail technician, esthetician, or master barber must
have held a license for at least 36 months (18 months for barber). If the master trainer or salon/shop for an apprentice
changes, a new apprentice application and processing fees must be submitted to the Board office. See Board Rules for
further information on apprentice requirements.

DO NOT SUBMIT THIS PAGE WITH YOUR APPLICATION.
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD «

COSMETOLOGYA> BARBERS
237 Coliseum Drive « Macon, GA 31217

Phone (478) 207-2440
www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology

Date Entered

Receipt #

Submitted $

Date Issued

APPLICATION FOR COSMETOLOGY OR BARBER SALON/SHOP LICENSE
(Application Fee $75.00.Non-Refundable & Non-Transferrable)

Reason For Application (Check Only One Box):

O New Cosmetology or Barber Salon/Shop (Name must include “Salon” or “Shop”)

O Change of Ownership

Salon/Shop Business Name (to appear on license):

The name must include the word SALON or SHOP.

Federal Employee Identification Number or Salon/Shop Owner’s Social Security Number:

*THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED AND DISCLOSED TO STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT TO
0.C.G.A.§19-11-1 AND O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 AND 20 U.S.C.A. § 101.

MAILING ADDRESS — This is the address where the Owner will receive mail from the Board:

P.O. Box OR Number and Street Apt. No. City/State Zip Code

STREET ADDRESS WHERE SALON/SHOP IS LOCATED — This address is assigned to your license:

(NO P.O.Box)  Number and STREET NAME Suite Number Studio Number City/State Zip Code

If you are granted a license, your name, address and license number becomes public information and will be posted on the Secretary of
State’s website. The mailing address is used for renewal notices and application processing.

TELEPHONE

Shop Telephone Number Cell Telephone Number Evening Phone Number

EMAIL

E-Mail Address (please print clearly)
Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by email. Also, if further information is needed, email is the most efficient way for Board

staff to contact you so that your application can be processed in the most efficient manner. Please notify the Board of any email address
change._ Your email address will not be shared with any third party.
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OWNER INFORMATION PAGE (Complete for each owner of the salon/shop)

OWNER 1

(PLEASE PRINT) First Middle Last

Personal Address
P.O. Box not acceptable- Number and Street Apt. No.  City/State Zip

Mailing Address

(if different) Number and Street Apt. No. City/State Zip

Social Security Number - -

If you hold a license issued by the Professional Licensing Boards, what is the license number(s)?

Do you own another salon(s) or shop(s)? Yes No

If so, what is the name of the salon(s) and the license number(s)?

Do you plan to continue operating this salon(s) or shop(s) that was previously licensed?___ Yes No
kkkkdokkkkdkkkkkkkkkkikkkklkkkkkikkkklkkkkikkkkikkkkkikikkikkikikkkkkikikkdkkkkikkkkkkkikkikkkkkikikkikkkkikkkkk

OWNER 2

(PLEASE PRINT) First Middle Last

Personal Address
P.0. Box not acceptable- Number and Street Apt. No.  City/State Zip

Mailing Address

(if different) Number and Street Apt. No. City/State Zip

Social Security Number - -

If you hold a license issued by the Professional Licensing Boards, what is the license number(s)?

Do you own another salon(s) or shop(s)? Yes No

If so, what is the name of the salon(s) and the license number(s)?

Do you plan to continue operating this salon(s) or shop(s) that was previously licensed?____Yes __ No

NOTE: If additional owner pages are needed, copy this page and attach to the application.
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CHANGE OF SALON/SHOP OWNERSHIP QUESTIONS

If you are changing the Owner of a Salon/Shop you MUST provide the information below:

O Yes ONo 1. I'have enclosed a copy of the Bill of Sale / Lease with the owner’s names

and the physical location of the Salon/Shop listed (Please submit pages with

location, address and signatures ONLY — You do not need to send the entire document)
OYes ONo 2. | have provided the salon/shop information purchased at this location:

Name of salon/shop purchased

Old License Number:

ALL Salon/Shop Applicants Must Answer the Below Questions:

OYes [ONo  ¢uemm 1. s this salon/shop located in a residence/home?

OYes [CONg - @uumm 2. Is this salon/shop located in a flea market?

OYes [ONo . ¢ummmm 3. Have all owners completed page 2 of this application titled “Owner Information Page” and
have all owners completed a separate page 5 of this application titled “Owner Affidavit?

OYes [CONo . ¢eemm 4. Have the owner(s) completed a Board approved 3 hour continuing education course
covering health, sanitation, and safety as required by Board Rule 240-12-.01? If you
answer NO, we cannot process your application. (If multiple owners, only one owner is
required to complete this requirement.)

O Yes [CINo O 5. Have the owner(s) ever been arrested or convicted of a felony, misdemeanor (other

than a minor traffic violation), crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime violating federal
or state law relating to controlled substances or dangerous drugs? (DWI and DUI are not
minor traffic violations.) For purposes of this question, a “conviction” includes a finding or
verdict of guilty, plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere, or first offender treatment, and
also includes adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered on the charge (s).

NOTE: The answer to this question is “YES” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, dismissed or deferred,
you pled & completed probation under First offender and/or your civil rights have been restored and/or you have received
legal advice that the offense will not appear on your criminal record. If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding
arrest/court convictions, you must submit the following to the Board:
(@) Submit a letter of explanation and certified copy of final court disposition from the county(s) in
which you were arrested/convicted. The court document should include the charges and
sentencing information.
(b) Probation/Parole - Submit a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer
regarding your current status. If probation/parole has been completed, submit certified documents
from the courts verifying case closed and completion of probation / parole

Salon/Shop Name Owner Name(s)
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Has any licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state ever:

O Yes
O Yes
O Yes
O Yes

ONo
ONo
ONo
ONo

RN

6.(a) Denied an owner(s) application for licensure, renewal, or reinstatement?
(b) Revoked, suspended, restricted, sanctioned, or probated an owner(s) license?
(c) Requested or accepted surrender of an owner(s) license?
(d)

d) Reprimanded, fined, or disciplined an owner(s)?

If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or
agency send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to
the Board’s office. Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by
the Board. Provide the name of the agency or board in the space provided:

Owner's Name

Name of State Board or Agency

Salon/Shop Name

Owner Name(s)
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NOTARIZED SIGNATURE BY SALON/SHOP OWNER

OWNER AFFIDAVIT I"] ﬁﬁ{wll "I

(Each Owner Must Submit a Separate Affidavit)

| hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my
knowledge and belief. | further swear and affirm that | have read and understand the current state laws and rules
and regulations of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers and | agree to abide by these laws and
rules, as amended from time to time.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and
accurate (Check or initial beside #1 or #2 below):

1) | am a United States citizen least 16 years of age or older. You must submit a copy of your current photo ID or
Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other document.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or |
am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an
alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. You must submit a
copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your 1-94 number
and, if needed, SEVIS number.

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is at least 16 years of age or older and has enclosed at least
one form of acceptable identification such as a Secure and Verifiable Document as required by 0.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with
this Affidavit.

In making the above representations under oath, | understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or
fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as
allowed by such criminal statute. | also understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary
action by the Board for which | am applying for licensure.

Print Name of Applicant

Signature of Applicant

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE

0.C.G.A. §45-17-6 requires legible seals for notarized documents.
If an embossed seal is used a foil overlay or shading should be applied
to make the seal, state, title, name, and county legible when digitized.

—DAYOF 20 NOTARY SEAL

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:
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