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APPLICATION FOR SALON/SHOP CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS 

GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERS 
237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 • (478) 207-2440 

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 
 

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of 
Cosmetology/Hair Design/Nail Technology/Esthetics/Master Barber/Barber II in the State of Georgia. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGE CHECKLIST 
The following checklist is an important part of your application.  Please use this checklist to 
ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. We recommend you keep a copy of your 
application for your records. 
 
  NON-REFUNDABLE FEE: $45.00:  The payment must be made by check or money order payable to the Georgia State 

Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. DO NOT SEND CASH OR COUNTER CHECKS. Checks returned for insufficient 
funds are subject to a $30.00 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A.§16-9-20.   NOTE: Change of Ownership requires 
a new application and Bill of Sale/Lease (location, address and signature pages ONLY – you do not need to 
submit the entire document) to be submitted along with the required fees. 

 
 NOTARIZED APPLICATION:  NOTARIZED APPLICATION & AFFIDAVIT: The complete application must be mailed to 

the Board’s office at the address listed above, along with your FEE.  Each owner must sign a separate affidavit in the 
presence of a notary.  
  

 BILL OF SALE/LEASE: Bill of Sale/Lease (location, address and signature pages ONLY) must be submitted.  
 

 ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS:All questions must be answered. Applicants who must answer “Yes” to the 
arrest/conviction question must submit a certified copy of the final court disposition with a letter of explanation, as well 
as a letter from probation/parole officer with a current status of probation or stating the case has been closed. 
Applicants who answer “Yes” to the sanction/disciplinary questions must provide a certified copy of the agency order 
showing the action taken by the other state licensing board. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.  

 NAME OF ESTABLISHMENT: The name of the salon/shop must include the word “salon” or “shop” in the name. 
 
 PROOF OF CONTINUING EDUCATION: Please submit a certificate of completion of a Board approved Continuing 

Education course covering health, sanitation, and safety, as required by Board Rule 240-12-.01.  (If multiple owners, 
only one owner will need to complete this requirement.) 

 
 SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENT (SVD) – Enclosed is a copy of my Driver’s License, Passport, or other 

document OR a copy of my current immigration document(s) which includes either my Alien number or I-94 number 
and SEVIS number if needed. Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 issued August 1, 2011 
by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia: 

 

*** IMPORTANT *** 
 

The Board CANNOT process incomplete applications.  If ANY item is missing, incomplete, or incorrect, 
your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.  Please review this application before you submit it to 
ensure that all information and documentation is complete and correct.  Incomplete applications result in 
delayed processing. Incomplete applications are void after one year.  Furthermore, because application 
information is time sensitive, documents cannot be transferred from an old application to a new application. 



GSBCB - Rev 08/16 2 

The list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of The Illegal Immigration 
Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”) on the Department of Law’s website pursuant to 
O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents 
on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.  This list may be found 
on the Board’s website at this address:  http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf  

 
 SUBMIT APPLICATION IN A 9X12 or LARGER ENVELOPE –  DO NOT STAPLE pages or check/money order.  Do 

not fold pages of the application. Make check/money order payable to Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and 
Barbers submit to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217. We recommend using US Mail or private courier (UPS, 
FedEx, etc.) with tracking. Keep a copy of your application for your records. 

 

APPLICATION FOR SALON/SHOP CHANGE OF NAME AND/OR CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND BECOME FAMILIAR WITH THE LAWS AND RULES GOVERNING THE 
PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA. VISIT THE FOLLOWING SITE FOR 
INFORMATION: http://sos.ga.gov/plb/comsetology . 
 
● Please be aware that a salon/shop license is NOT the same as a business license.  Please contact the city or county 

in which you are establishing your salon/shop to obtain a business license.  
 
● In order to open a salon/shop you must have the actual license issued by the Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers 

and the registration must be displayed in a conspicuous place in the salon/shop.   A copy of the application and proof of 
payment sent will not be viewed as an acceptable substitute for a salon/shop license. Licenses may be printed from the 
Board website.  

 
● Salon/Shop Change of Name or Address requires a change of name and/or address application be submitted to the 

Board office with the required fees. Change of Ownership requires a new application be submitted to the Board office 
with the required fees and issuance of a new license number. YOU MUST INCLUDE A COPY OF YOUR BILL OF 
SALE/LEASE.  Business names of salon/shop shall include the word salon or shop and shall not contain terms which 
would mislead the public as to the operation of the cosmetology or barber establishment.   

 
● The Board does not license booths within a salon/shop or a kiosk as a salon/shop.  A state nursing home is not required 

to have a salon/shop license issued by the Board. Services may be performed by a registered cosmetologist, master 
barber, or barber II in a client’s residence, a nursing home, an assisted living community, a personal care home, a 
hospital, or similar facilities when the client for reasons of ill health, infirmity, or other physical disability is unable to go to 
the licensed beauty shop, salon, or barber shop for regular barbering or cosmetologist services.   

 
● Processing Time: Please allow at least 25 business days for processing of applications.  
 
● Citizenship/Qualified Alien Status: All owners must complete and submit a separate Owner Affidavit and submit a 

current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated. If not a U.S. 
citizen, please attach a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or 1-94 
number and SEVIS number if needed. 

 
● Information Regarding Apprentices in Salon/Shop:  Any individual planning to apprentice in a salon/shop must be 

licensed as an apprentice. Each master cosmetologist, hair designer, nail technician, esthetician, or master barber must 
have held a license for at least 36 months (18 months for barber).   If the master trainer or salon/shop for an apprentice 
changes, a new apprentice application and processing fees must be submitted to the Board office.  See Board Rules for 
further information on apprentice requirements.   

 
DO NOT SUBMIT THIS PAGE WITH YOUR APPLICATION
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APPLICATION FOR SALON/SHOP CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS  
$45.00 Application Fee (Application Fees are non-refundable) 

 
 (Check Only ONE):  

 Salon/Shop Change of Name Only (Name must include “Salon” or “Shop”) 
 
 Salon/Shop Change of Address Only (If the USPS changes the address of the salon/shop a new 
application is not required. Only submit to the board proof of USPS mandated change.  
 
 Salon/Shop Change of Name and Address (Only select this option if changing BOTH) 
 
* Current Business Name of Salon/Shop (as it currently appears on license): 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  

* Current Salon/Shop License Number (as it appears on license):  ______________________________________ 
 

* New Business Name of Salon/Shop (as desired on license)(only complete if changing name of salon/shop):  
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
The name of the business facility must include the word SALON or SHOP.  
 
* Federal Employee Identification Number or Social Security Number ________________________________  
*THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED AND DISCLOSED TO STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 AND O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 AND 20 
U.S.C.A. § 101. 

   
MAILING ADDRESS – This is the address where the Owner will receive mail from the Board: 
 
 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
  P.O. Box OR Number and Street      Apt. No.   City/State  Zip Code 
 
 

STREET ADDRESS WHERE SALON/SHOP IS LOCATED – This address is assigned to your license: 
 
 _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (NO P.O. Box)      Number and STREET NAME     Suite Number   Studio Number       City/State          Zip Code 
   

   If you are granted a license, your name, address and license number becomes public information and will be posted on the Secretary of   
  State’s website. The mailing address is used for renewal notices and application processing. 
 

TELEPHONE  _____-_____-_______     ____-____-_______       _____-_____-_____    
                                             Shop Telephone Number            Cell Telephone Number               Evening Phone Number   
 
EMAIL   ______________________________________________________________________ 

   E-Mail Address (please print clearly) 
Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by email.  Also, if further information is needed, email is the most efficient way for Board 
staff to contact you so that your application can be processed in the most efficient manner.  Please notify the Board of any email address 
change.  Your email address will not be shared with any third party.  

      GEORGIA  STATE  BOARD  of 
 COSMETOLOGYAND BARBERS 

237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, GA 31217 
Phone (478) 207-2440  

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 

 
 
 

Date Entered ___________________________________ 
 

Receipt #       ___________________________________ 
 

Submitted $  ___________________________________ 
 

Date Issued   
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OWNER INFORMATION PAGE (Complete for each owner of the salon/shop) 

 
Owner 1 __________________________________________________________________________________ 

   (PLEASE PRINT)  First                                       Middle                         Last                   
  

 
Personal Address __________________________________________________________________________ 
                                P.O. Box not acceptable- Number and Street Apt. No.       City/State Zip 
 
Mailing Address ___________________________________________________________________________ 

(if different) Number and Street Apt. No.        City/State Zip 
  
 Social Security Number ______-_____-________    
 

If you hold a license issued by the Professional Licensing Boards, what is the license number(s)?    
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 Do you own another salon(s) or shop(s)?  _____ Yes    _____ No 
  
 If so, what is the name of the salon(s) and the license number(s)?   
 
 ________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  
 Do you plan to continue operating this salon(s) or shop(s) that was previously licensed?___Yes  ___No 
 
 

*************************************************************************************************************** 
 
Owner 2__________________________________________________________________________________ 

   (PLEASE PRINT)  First                                       Middle                         Last 
 
Personal Address _________________________________________________________________________ 
                               P.O. Box not acceptable- Number and Street Apt. No.       City/State Zip 
 
Mailing Address __________________________________________________________________________ 

(if different) Number and Street Apt. No.         City/State Zip 
  
 Social Security Number ______-_____-________    
 

If you hold a license issued by the Professional Licensing Boards, what is the license number(s)?    
 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 Do you own another salon(s) or shop(s)?  _____ Yes    _____ No 
  
 If so, what is the name of the salon(s) and the license number(s)?   
 
 ________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  
 Do you plan to continue operating this salon(s) or shop(s) that was previously licensed?___Yes  ___No 

 
 
 
 
 
             NOTE: If additional owner pages are needed, copy this page and attach to the application. 
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All Salon/Shop Applicants Must Answer the Below Questions: 
 
              1.   Is this salon/shop located in a residence/home?  
 

2.  Is this salon/shop located in a flea market?   
 

3. Have all owners completed page 2 of this application titled “Owner Information Page” and 
 have all owners completed a separate page 4 of this application titled “Owner Affidavit”?                

4. Have the owner(s) completed a Board approved 3 hour continuing education course 
covering health, sanitation, and safety as required by Board Rule 240-12-.01?  If you 
answer NO, we cannot process your application. (If multiple owners, only one owner is 
required to complete this requirement.) 

5. Do you have a bill of sale and/or lease agreement with the owners names listed? Bill of 
Sale/Lease (location, address and signature pages ONLY) must be submitted. 
 

6. Was there an existing salon at this location?   
Name of existing salon/shop__________________________________________   
License Number:___________________________________________________ 
 

7.   Did you purchase this salon or shop from the previous owner:  ______Yes        ______No 
 

8. Have the owner(s) ever been arrested or convicted of a felony, misdemeanor (other 
than a minor traffic violation), crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime violating federal 
or state law relating to controlled substances or dangerous drugs? (DWI and DUI are not 
minor traffic violations.) For purposes of this question, a “conviction” includes a finding or 
verdict of guilty, plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere, or first offender treatment, and 
also includes adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered on the charge (s).  

NOTE: The answer to this question is “YES” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, dismissed or deferred, 
you pled & completed probation under First offender and/or your civil rights have been restored and/or you have received 
legal advice that the offense will not appear on your criminal record. If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding 
arrest/court convictions, you must submit the following to the Board: 

(a) Submit a letter of explanation and certified copy of final court disposition from the county(s) in 
w h i c h  you were arrested/convicted. The court document should include the charges and 
sentencing information. 

(b) Probation/Parole - Submit a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer 
regarding your current status. If probation/parole has been completed, submit certified documents 
from the courts verifying case closed and completion of probation / parole 

 
Has any licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state ever: 
       Yes     No                9.(a) Denied an owner(s) application for licensure, renewal, or reinstatement?  
  

      Yes     No     (b) Revoked, suspended, restricted, sanctioned, or probated an owner(s) license?   

 

        Yes     No      (c) Requested or accepted surrender of an owner(s) license?   
    

       Yes     No      (d) Reprimanded, fined, or disciplined an owner(s)?        
 
If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or 
agency send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to 
the Board’s office. Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by 
the Board. Provide the name of the agency or board in the space provided: 
 
 ________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 

Owner’s Name     Name of State Board or Agency 

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  

 Yes     No  
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OWNER AFFIDAVIT     

    (Each Owner Must Submit a Separate Affidavit) 
 
Salon/Shop Name: ___________________________________________________________  
 
Owner Name:_______________________________________________________________ 
 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules 
and regulations of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers and I agree to abide by these laws and 
rules, as amended from time to time.  
 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and 
accurate (Check or initial beside #1 or #2 below): 

 
1) _______ I am a United States citizen at least 18 years of age or older.  You must submit a copy of your current photo ID 

or Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other document. 
 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I 
am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an 
alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. You must submit a 
copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number 
and, if needed, SEVIS number. 

 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is at least 18 years of age or older and has enclosed at least 
one form of acceptable identification such as a Secure and Verifiable Document as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with 
this Affidavit.  
 
In making the above representations under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or 
fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as 
allowed by such criminal statute. I also understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary 
action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure. 
  

Print Name of Applicant 
 
  

         Signature of Applicant 
 

 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

 
 

   DAY OF ,  20   

 

________________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE  
     
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:  

 

NOTARIZED SIGNATURE BY COSMETOLOGY AND BARBER APPRENTICE APPLICANT 

O.C.G.A. § 45-17-6 requires legible seals for notarized documents. 
If an embossed seal is used a foil overlay or shading should be applied 
to make the seal, state, title, name, and county legible when digitized. 

 

NOTARY SEAL 


