Georgia State Board of Funeral Service
237 Coliseum Dr., Macon, GA 31217
478-207-2440 | fax 866-888-8026
WWW.S0S.ga.gov

APPLICATION FOR EMBALMER
AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE
(For Initial Licensure and for Reinstatement of License)

Information and Instructions for Completing these Forms

o Embalmer and Funeral Director licenses expire on March 31 of even years.
e Licenses are valid for two (2) years.

e Your initial licensing period may be less than two (2) years depending on when the license is
granted by the Board (if application is approved).

e Application fees are non-refundable.

e The Certificate of Embalming Education is for initial licensure only and is to be mailed to the school
where applicant’s education was received. The school will mail the completed certificate to the
applicant in a sealed envelope. The sealed envelope must be submitted to the Board by the
applicant along with this application.

o The Georgia Laws & Rules Examination is required for initial licensure applicants who have not
previously taken the exam and possible required for reinstatement applicants (see next bullet
statement).

e Proof of a passing score for the Georgia Laws & Rules Examination is required for Reinstatement of
License(s) if it has been more than two (2) years since the license has expired.

Optional: For active licensees, decorative wall certificates are available for purchase. To order, print the
Order Form from the Board’s website and submit to the Board Office. The certificate cost is located on the
Fee Schedule on the Board's website.

Certain pages of the application must be signed and notarized as indicated.

Applicants for Initial Licensure do not need to submit the page entitled “Applicants for Reinstatement.”
Applicants for Reinstatement are not required to submit the “Certificate of Embalming Education.”
Applicants for Reinstatement ARE REQUIRED to submit a copy of their Certificate(s) of Continuing
Education completed within the previous two years of the date of this application in order to be considered
for reinstatement by the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service.

If any question on the Professional Background page are answered “Yes,” certified documentation must be

included with this application. Failure to provide the certified documentation will result in application
processing delays and may result in denial of the application by the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service.
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE
FEE SCHEDULE

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT AND CREMATORY

INITIAL APPLICATION FEE - FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT $150.00
INITIAL APPLICATION FEE - CREMATORY $150.00
RENEWAL - IF RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30 OF RENEWAL YEAR $140.00
LATE RENEWAL - RECEIVED BETWEEN JULY 1 AND JULY 31 OF RENEWAL YEAR $390.00
CHANGE OF ESTABLISHMENT NAME $150.00
CHANGE OF ESTABLISHMENT LOCATION / ADDRESS $150.00
CHANGE OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR IN FULL AND CONTINUOUS CHARGE $ 50.00
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP NO FEE
RE-INSPECTION, IF INITIAL INSPECTION IS FAILED $100.00
APPRENTICESHIP REGISTRATION

INITIAL APPLICATION FEE - APPRENTICESHIP $ 40.00
RENEWAL - Received on or before March 31 of Renewal Year $ 70.00
LATE RENEWAL — Received between April 1 and April 30 of Renewal Year $140.00
REINSTATEMENT OF APPRENTICESHIP REGISTRATION (At Board's Discretion) $180.00
CHANGE OF LOCATION $ 20.00
CHANGE OF SUPERVISING EMBALMER &/ OR FUNERAL DIRECTOR $ 20.00
CERTIFICATION OF APPRENTICESHIP HOURS $ 25.00
EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR

Embalmer - APPLICATION FEE $ 50.00
Embalmer - APPLICATION FEE - License by Endorsement or Reciprocity $175.00
Embalmer - RENEWAL FEE — Received on or before March 31 of Renewal Year $100.00
Embalmer - LATE RENEWAL FEE — Received between April 1 and April 30 of Renewal Year $200.00

Embalmer - REINSTATEMENT FEE — (Reinstatement is at Board’s discretion after April 30th

of renewal year) $300.00

Funeral Director - APPLICATION FEE $ 50.00

Funeral Director - APPLICATION FEE - License by Endorsement or Reciprocity (Must have
. ) , $175.00
a valid Georgia Embalmer License)

Funeral Director - RENEWAL FEE — Received on or before March 31 of Renewal Year $100.00

Funeral Director - LATE RENEWAL FEE — Received between April 1 and April 30 of

$200.00
Renewal Year
Funeral Director REINSTATEMENT FEE- (Reinstatement is at Board’s discretion after April $300.00
30" of renewal year) )
Funeral Director and Embalmer APPLICATION FEE — if applying for both license types $350.00
through License by Endorsement or Reciprocity — (Does not include GA Law & Rules Exam Fee) '
Change of Name / Address Processing Fee $ 25.00
APPLICATION FEE - Inactive Status Application for each license type $ 35.00
APPLICATION FEE - Reactivation of each license type $100.00

EXAMINATION — Georgia Laws & Rules Examination is given by PSI; 800-733-9267; www.psiexams.com

NATIONAL EXAMINATION: Contact The Conference at 479-442-7076; www.theconferenceonline.org

DUPLICATE LICENSE (blue card)/WALL CERTIFICATE (may order thru website) $ 25.00

DECORATIVE WALL CERTIFICATE, EACH LICENSE (submit paper form) $ 50.00

APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL AS A CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER (must submit at least $250.00
one completed CE course for board review) ’

NOTE: Checks or money orders are payable to GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE. Fees may be changed at the discretion of
the Board without prior notice. Application Fees are non-refundable. Other refund requests must be in writing. Returned checks will incur fees in
accordance with Code Section 16-9-20 of the Criminal Code of Georgia.
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE
237 Coliseum Dr., Macon, GA 31217
478.207.2440

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/funeral

Date Entered

Receipt #

APPLICATION FOR ]
EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE Submitted $

(for initial licensure or for reinstatement of licensure)

Date Issued

| am applying for (select appropriate license type):

Initial Embalmer & Funeral Director Licenses - $100 fee*

Initial Embalmer License Only - $50 fee*

Initial Funeral Director License Only - $50*
(must have current active Embalmer License - # )

Reinstatement of Embalmer & Funeral Director Licenses - $600
Embalmer License #
Funeral Director License #

Reinstatement of Embalmer License Only - # - $300

O O oto

Reinstatement of Funeral Director License Only - # - $300
(Must have current active Embalmer License # )

*Fees are non-refundable

FDFCC Applicant Name to
appear on License:

LAST FIRST MIDDLE

FDFCC License #: FD Embalmer License #: EMB

1 This information is authorized to be obtained & disclosed to state & federal agencies pursuantto O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & 0.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 101.
Gender: [_] Male [] Female

Residential Address:

Social Security #1: Date of Birth: ‘ ‘

PHYSICAL ADDRESS - NUMBER AND STREET NAME REQUIRED ( P.0. BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE ) APT #
cITy STATE ZP

Mailing 2

Address:

(P.0. BOX ACCEPTABLE) 20.C.G.A. §43-1-2 (k) Your name, mailing address and license number are public information and will appear on Secretary of State’s website
cIry STATE ZP

Daytime Phone # ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ : ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ : ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ Evening Phone # ‘ ‘ - ‘ ‘ ‘ - ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘
E-mail Address s FAX

3Required for communication with Board staff. Your email will not be shared with third parties.
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

REINSTATEMENT APPLICANT INFORMATION

If you are applying for reinstatement, you must complete this form and submit the requested documentation.

What is the Expiration Date of your Embalmer License?
What is the Expiration Date of your Funeral Director License?

Why did you not renew your license?

Have you practiced as a Funeral Director or Embalmer since the expiration date of your
license? YES NO If yes, where?

NOTE: Per Board Rule 250-5-.10(a):

e You must attach a copy of your CONTINUING EDUCATION CERTIFICATE.

e Proof of a passing score for the Georgia Laws & Rules Examination is required for
Reinstatement of license(s) if it has been more than two (2) years since the license
has expired.
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Georgia State Board of Funeral Service
EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

Background Questionnaire

The following questions must be answered by the applicant. If “yes” is answered to any question, documentation/explanation must be provided,
including certified documentation such as court dispositions, board disciplinary action reports, etc.

Do you now hold, or have you in the past held, a funeral director or embalmer license in any state? If

Yes No “Yes,” submit an original notarized letter from the state of licensure.
Has any license issued to you by any board, agency, or licensing authority in any state, including
Yes No : . !
Georgia, been revoked, suspended, or otherwise sanctioned?
Have you ever been denied issuance of, or pursuant to any disciplinary proceedings, been refused
Yes No . . . O ; . )
renewal of a license by any board, agency, or licensing authority in any state, including Georgia?
Yes No | Have you knowingly failed to renew a license during an investigation or disciplinary action?
Ves No Have you been subject to disciplinary action or had your membership revoked by a professional
organization governing the practice of that profession?
Ves No To the best of your knowledge, is there any disciplinary action pending against you by any licensing

board or professional organization?

Have you ever been arrested, charged, convicted, or sentenced for any felony, misdemeanor, DUI,
Yes No | DWI, or any crime involving moral turpitude? If yes, attach certified copy of the court disposition and a
notarized statement on agency letterhead from the probation officer giving current status of probation.

Have you ever entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, or been given First Offender status for any
felony, misdemeanor, DUI, DWI, or any crime involving moral turpitude? If yes, attach a certified copy

Yes No of the court disposition and a notarized statement on agency letterhead from the probation officer
giving current status of probation.
Ves No Are you unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety due to use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics,
chemicals or any other types of material?
Are you unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety due to illness, or as a result of any mental
Yes No . - . L
or physical condition? If yes, attach a notarized physician’s statement.
Yes No | Have you had any suit filed against you related to the practice of a profession?

I hereby swear or affirm that the answers and information contained in this section of the application are true, complete, and
correct. | understand that making a false or misleading statement on this form is a crime and may result in criminal prosecution and
in my being denied a license from the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service. (O.C.G.A. § 43-1-19 and O.C.G.A. § 16-10-71.)

State of Georgia, County of Applicant Signature:
Subscribed and Sworn to before me this

day of , . Applicant Name printed:
Notary Public Date:

My Commission Expires:

NOTARY SEAL
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE
EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE APPLICATION
AFFIDAVIT

| hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. |
further swear and affirm that | have read and understand the current state laws and rules and regulations of the Georgia State
Board of Funeral Service, and | agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to time.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1 (mark either 1 or 2 below as it applies to your status):

1) | am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. You must submit a copy of your current Secure and
Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other approved document.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or
older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an
alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. You must submit a copy of your
current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2

The lllegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“lIREA”") provides that “[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the
Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law's website a list of acceptable secure and
verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(f).
The Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary.

The list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that
are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or
immigration status. This list may be found on the Board's website at this address: http://sos/ga/gov/iadmin/files/svd2013.pdf

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and has attached at least one Secure and
Verifiable Document, as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, with this Affidavit.

In making the above representations under oath, | understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious,
or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal
penalties as allowed by such criminal statute. | also understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in
disciplinary action by the Board for which | am applying for licensure.

State of Georgia, County of

Print name of Applicant
Subscribed and sworn to before me this

day of , Signature of Applicant
Notary Public
My Commission expires: NOTARY SEAL (legible ink seal required; If using embossed
seal, apply shading to make seal legible
when digitized.)
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Georgia State Board of Funeral Service
237 Coliseum Dr., Macon, GA 31217
478-207-2440 / fax 866-888-8026
WWW.S0S.Jga.gov

Certificate of Embalming Education
(This form is to be completed by the school and mailed to the applicant in a sealed envelope.)

Educational Institution:

Name of Mortuary School / College

Address: Street, City, State, Zip

Applicant’s Name:

Date of Attendance:

Beginning Date:

Month / Day / Year

Ending Date:

Month / Day / Year

Diploma Received Date:

Month / Day / Year

| hereby certify that the information concerning the applicant for funeral director & or embalmer license with the
Georgia State Board of Funeral Service referenced in this Certificate of Embalming Education is true and accurate.

President, Dean, or Registrar

Date

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this day of ,

NOTARY SEAL

Notary Public
My Commission Expires

Forward the completed Certificate of Embalming Education directly to the applicant in a sealed
envelope.

Page 7 Georgia Funeral Service Board Embalmer/Funeral Director App - Rev 6/15/2016


http://www.sos.ga.gov/

Georgia Bureau of Investigation
Georgia Crime Information Center

CONSENT FORM

| hereby authorize to receive any Georgia criminal history
record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name (Print)

Address, City, State, County, Zip

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number

By signing this form, | acknowledge that | have been informed of the Non-Criminal Justice applicant’s Privacy Rights
and the Privacy Act Statement (title 28 United States Code § 534).

Signature

Special employment provisions (check if applicable):

Employment with mentally disabled (Purpose code “M”)
Employment with elder care (Purpose code “N”)

Employment with children (Purpose code “W”)

One of the following must be checked:
[1This authorization is valid for 90 / 180 / (circle one) days from date of signature.

RE , give consent to the above named to perform periodic criminal history

background checks for the duration of my employment with this company.
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Attachment A
NON-CRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant that is the subject of a Georgia only or a Georgia and Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBI) national fingerprint/biometric-based criminal history record check for a non-criminal justice
purpose (such as an application for a job or license, immigration or naturalization, security clearance, or
adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below.

. You must be provided written notification that your fingerprints/biometrics will be used to
check the criminal history records maintained by the Georgia Crime Information Center
(GCIC) and the FBI, when a federal record check is so authorized.

. If your fingerprints/biometrics are used to conduct a FBI national criminal history check, you
are provided a copy of the Privacy Act Statement that would normally appear on the FBI
fingerprint card.

. If you have a criminal history record, the agency making a determination of your suitability
for the job, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

. The agency must advise you of the procedures for changing, correcting, or updating your
criminal history record as set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section
16.34. '

. If you have a Georgia or FBI criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable

amount of time to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the agency
denies you the job, license or other benefit based on information in the criminal history
record.

. In the event an adverse employment or licensing decision is made, you must be informed of
all information pertinent to that decision to include the contents of the record and the effect
the record had upon the decision. Failure to provide all such information to the person
subject to the adverse decision shall be a misdemeanor [0.C.G.A. § 35-3-34(b) and §35-3-
35(b)].

You have the right to expect the agency receiving the results of the criminal history record check will use
it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of state and/or federal
statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime
Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.

[f the employment/licensing agency policy permits, the agency may provide you with a copy of your
Georgia or FBI criminal history record for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not
permit it to provide you a copy of the record, information regarding how to obtain a copy of your
Georgia, FBI or other state criminal history may be obtained at the GBI website
(http://gbi.georgia.gov/obtaining-criminal-history-record-information).

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your Georgia or FBI criminal history record,
you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information. Alternatively,
you may send your challenge directly to GCIC provided the disputed arrest occurred in Georgia.
Instructions to dispute the accuracy of your criminal history can be obtained at the GBI website
(http://gbi.georgia.gov/obtaining-criminal-history-record-information).



Attachment B

PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT

Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and
associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the
nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State
statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal
regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary;
however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing,
investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of
comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation
Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent
fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or
otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated
information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints
submitted to or retained by NGL

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information
may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as
permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be
published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI
system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to,
disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies
responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other
suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies;
criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.



