
Georgia State Board of Funeral Service – Inactive Status App                                                       1                                                                                   Rev. 6.13.2016 
 

GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
237 Coliseum Dr. 
Macon, GA 31217 

478.207.2440 
www.sos.ga.gov/plb/funeral 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO BE CHANGED TO INACTIVE STATUS 

(must be submitted prior to the expiration date of the currently active license) 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Info to know about inactive license status: 
 
250-6-.04 Inactive Status. 

A person must have a current Georgia license in order to apply for inactive status. 

(a) A funeral director or embalmer who holds a current license and who will not practice funeral directing or embalming in 
Georgia may apply for inactive status by completing an application for inactive status and submitting the appropriate fee (see 
Fee Schedule) to the Board. Once the license is on inactive status, an embalmer or funeral director shall not practice 
embalming or funeral directing in the State of Georgia while that license is on Inactive Status. 

(b) In order to place a license on inactive status, the license must be in good standing and the licensee must show that he/she 
has met continuing education hours which will be required at their next renewal. 

(c) A funeral director or embalmer who wishes to reactivate an inactive license must submit to the Board an Application to 
Reactivate, appropriate fee, and documentation of continuing education. 

1. If the request to reactivate is received more than two years but less than four years from the date on which inactive 
status was approved, the licensee must document five (5) continuing education hours. 

2. If the request to reactivate is received four or more years after the date on which inactive status was approved, the 
licensee must document 10 continuing education hours and take and pass the State Laws and Rules Examination, 
notwithstanding the fact that he/she may have passed the Laws and Rules Examination on a prior date. 

 
APPLICATION PROCEDURE 

 
• Submit the Application for License to be Change to Inactive Status prior to the expiration date of the license(s), along with 

the non-refundable fee, the original license(s) issued to you by the Board, and a copy of your certification(s) of completion of 
10 (ten) hours of continuing education required for the next renewal period. 

• Upon satisfactory submission of the application package, your license(s) will be placed on Inactive Status.  You will be 
notified in writing of the change in your license status. 

• During Inactive Status, you may not practice as a funeral director or embalmer.   
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
237 Coliseum Dr., Macon, GA 31217 
478.207.2440 - www.sos.ga.gov/plb/funeral 
 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO BE  
CHANGED TO INACTIVE STATUS 
(must be submitted prior to the expiration date  
of the currently active license) 

 
 
 Embalmer License # EMB ____________ - $35.00 fee*  

*(non-refundable) 
 

 
 Funeral Director License # FD _____________ - $35.00 fee*  

*(non-refundable) 
 

 
 

 
 

E-mail Address 3: ____________________________________________________________    
                                   3

 RRequired for communication with Board staff. Your email will not be shared with third parties. 
 
I hereby make application to place my current, valid embalmer and/or funeral director, as indicated above, on Inactive Status in 
accordance with Board Rule 250-6-.04.  As required, enclosed with this application are: 

• My original license(s) for which I am applying for Inactive Status; 
• Documentation of  10 (ten) Continuing Education hours;  
• The non-refundable fee for the license(s) indicated. 

 
I attest that I am not practicing embalming or funeral directing in Georgia, and I will not practice embalming or funeral directing in 
Georgia until I have requested and been approved by the Board to reactivate my license(s).  
 
_____________________________________________________             Subscribed and sworn to before me 
  Signature of Applicant                                                                               this _______day of ___________, ________ 
 
________/________/________          _____________________________________ 
Date                                                                                                                Notary Public 
              My Commission Expires __________ 
              

NOTARY SEAL 

Name as appears on 
current license: 

 
 

                                                                                                                        
 

Social Security # ¹ :    -   -     Date of Birth: M M - D D - Y Y Y Y 
                                          This information is authorized to be obtained & disclosed to state & federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 101. 
 

 

Residential Address: 
 

                                                                  PHYSICAL ADDRESS  - NUMBER AND STREET NAME REQUIRED   ( P.O. BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE )                                                                                         APT # 
  

 
          -     

                     CITY                         STATE                                             ZIP                                                                                                                                                       

Mailing 2 
Address : 

 
 

                                         ( P.O. BOX ACCEPTABLE )                       2 O.C.G.A. §43-1-2 (k) Your name, mailing address and license number are public information and will appear on Secretary of State’s website 

  
 

           -     

 CITY                                                                                                                                                                                                           STATE                                                    ZIP 
 

Daytime Phone # 
 

   -    -      Evening Phone #    -    -     

  

 
 
 

Date Entered ___________________________________ 
 

Receipt #       ___________________________________ 
 

Submitted $  ___________________________________ 
 

Date Issued   ___________________________________ 
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