Georgia Companies that Operate Penny Auction Websites Must Register with the
Georgia Auctioneers Commission

The Georgia Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection (“Governor’s Office of
Consumer Protection™)* has recently opened investigations of Georgia companies that operate
“penny auction” websites that have not registered with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission.
Penny auction websites require consumers to purchase bids, typically for a price ranging from
$0.50 to $1.00 each, to participate in an auction.® When a consumer enters an auction for a
product, each bid the consumer uses will increase the purchase price of the product by a set
increment, usually $0.01. As a federal court recently explained, during the penny auction,
“[c]onsumers place bids on individual items until a clock — which increases when bids are placed
— runs out and there is a winner.”* The winning consumer will then pay the final auction price to
receive the product.

Georgia companies that operate penny auction websites are auction businesses that must
register with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission. Under Georgia law, a company must
register with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission before it engages in the business of
auctioning.> A company engages in the business of auctioning when it “offer[s] or negotiat[es],
by auction, the sale or exchange” of goods or merchandise.® This definition includes selling
products, tickets, or any other personal good via the internet auction format. Moreover, a
number of recent court decisions classify penny auction websites and other forms of online
auctions as auctions.’

Requiring Georgia companies that operate penny auction websites to register with the
Georgia Auctioneers Commission ensures that statutorily mandated protections are provided to
consumers. Georgia law requires an auction company to “maintain at all times an active trust
account and [to] register such account with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission.”® This trust
account requirement provides protection to consumers who win auctions but do not receive their
products in a timely manner from the company that operates the penny auction. Moreover,
Georgia law requires auction companies to employ a licensed auctioneer.® This requirement

! Information about the Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection can be found at its website:
Www.consumer.ga.gov.

? The Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection recently entered a settlement with Wavee US, LLC (“Wavee”), a
Georgia company that operated a penny auction website. This settlement required Wavee to cease operating, pay
over $200,000.00 in consumer restitution, pay a $35,000.00 civil penalty, and pay $15,000.00 in administrative
expenses. The details of this settlement can be found at http://ftpcontent.worldnow.com/wgcl/WaveeAVC.pdf.
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ensures that each company that operates a penny auction website employs someone who has “a
good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and (:ompliance.”10

Georgia companies that operate penny auction websites without first registering with the
Georgia Auctioneers Commission violate the Fair Business Practices Act (“FBPA”) in at least
three ways. First, operating a penny auction website without registering with the Georgia
Auctioneers Commission violates the FBPA’s general prohibition against unfair and/or deceptive
practices.’! Second, this conduct violates the FBPA’s prohibition against causing actual
confusion or actual misunderstanding as to the source, sponsorship, approval, or certification of
services.*? Third, this conduct violates the FBPA’s prohibition against representing that services
have sponsorship or approval that they do not have.™

In addition to violating the FBPA, Georgia companies that operate penny auction
websites without registering with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission are committing a crime.
Under Georgia law, any corporation acting as an auctioneer without a license “shall be guilty of
a misdemeanor.”* Therefore, Georgia companies that operate penny auction websites need to
register with the Georgia Auctioneers Commission to avoid both civil and criminal liability.
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