
Revision Date July 2012 1 

                
 
 
 
 

 
APPLICATION FOR 

COSMETOLOGY APPRENTICE 
GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

237 Coliseum Drive 
Macon, Georgia 31217 
Phone (478) 207-2440 

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 

 
Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of 
cosmetology in the State of Georgia.  Visit the website for information:  www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology. 

 

**Important** 
 

The Board cannot process incomplete applications.  If any item is missing, incomplete, or incorrect, 
your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.  Please review this application before you submit 
it to ensure that all information and documentation is complete and correct.  Incomplete applications 
result in delayed processing.  Incomplete applications are void after one year.  Furthermore, because 
application information is time sensitive, documents cannot be transferred from old applications to 
new applications. 

 

Application Checklist 
The following checklist is an important part of your application.  Please use this checklist to 
ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. 
 
 NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE:   $45 – Cosmetology Apprentice 

The payment must be made by check or money order payable to the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology.  
DO NOT SEND CASH OR COUNTER CHECKS.  Checks returned for insufficient funds are subject to a 
$40.00 service charge pursuant to O.C. G.A. § 16-9-20.  

 CITIZENSHIP/QUALIFIED ALIEN STATUS: Please submit a copy of your current Secure and 

Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 22 & 23 of 
this application. 

 NOTARIZED APPLICATION:  The complete application must be mailed to the Board’s office at the 
address listed above, along with your FEE.  Sign the application in the presence of a notary.   

 Copy of current shop license and master license are attached 
 Letter from master releasing previous apprentice (if applicable) 

If the master under whom you are training has previously trained an apprentice, our records must indicate 
that they are no longer training that person.  If a master has not notified us that he or she is no longer 
training an apprentice, he or she must notify us in writing.  Without this notification, your application will be 
delayed. 

 SUBMIT APPLICATION IN A 9X12 or LARGER ENVELOPE – Do not staple pages or 
check/money order.  Do not fold pages of the application. 

 
    
 
 

 

http://www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/barber_cosmet/
http://www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE COSMETOLOGY APPRENTICE APPLICATION 
Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the Laws and Rules governing the specific area in 
which you are seeking licensure.  Failing to follow these instructions will delay the processing of your 
application. 
 
Section 1 & 2: This section is to be completed by the applicant, signed and notarized. 
Section 3: This section is to be completed by the master licensee who will supervise the apprentice.  This section 

must be signed and notarized.  The signature of the master trainer must be legible or the application 
will be returned.  The signature of the master trainer must be signed as it appears on the license.  
Failure to do so will result in the application being returned and will cause delay in the processing of the 
apprentice license. 

 
APPRENTICE REQUIREMENTS: 
1. Apprentice training is on-the-job training in a cosmetology salon/shop and under the direct supervision of a 

licensed master licensee with at least 36 months’ experience.   
2. Each master cosmetologist or esthetician, nail technician licensee in a salon/shop may train only one (1) 

apprentice at a time. 
3. Any person at least 17 years of age may qualify to train as an apprentice. 
4. Apprentice hours are accumulated according to the actual number of hours of performance and training. 

Apprentice hours are subtotaled 1
st
 of January, the 1

st
 of April, and the 1

st
 of September. Hours reported will be 

kept on file by the salon/shop owner or manager for inspector review.         
The salon/shop owner and master level trainer are responsible for submitting the apprentice hours after 
the apprentice has completed the hours or is no longer apprenticing under the current master level 
trainer. 

5. Upon completion of the required hours within the appropriate minimum months of training, it is the apprentice’s 
responsibility to obtain and submit an application for examination and or licensure. The Master Cosmetologist, 
Esthetician, Nail Technician and Instructors examinations will be administered only by PSI.  You may contact PSI 
using one of the following: 

  Via the Internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com. 

 Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267. 

 With a PSI registrar at (800) 733-9267, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and 
Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time. 

  
      Contact PSI about the examinations, fees, dates, locations, exam content and grade notifications. 

 
CREDIT FOR TRAINING HOURS BEGINS WHEN THE APPRENTICE LICENSE IS ISSUED, 

 NOT WHEN THE APPLICATION IS MAILED TO THE BOARD OFFICE. 
 
APPRENTICE TRAINING: 
1. The apprentice will receive a certificate of registration for a period of two (2) years.  The certificate may be 

renewed at the end of such period by renewing the license online via the Board’s website at www.sos.ga.gov and 
submitting the applicable renewal fee by the expiration date. The renewal fee increases if submitted after the 
expiration date of the apprentice license.  If the apprentice is changing a master supervisor, or salon location, or if 
the salon where the apprentice has a change in its license status, the apprentice must submit a shop change 
application. 

2. Upon the expiration of the last certificate of registration issued, such person shall not be permitted to practice the 
occupation in any way until he or she obtains his or her master cosmetology license.     

 
CHANGE OF TRAINING: 
If any of the following occurs during the apprenticeship, a new apprentice application must be filed with the Board office 
and a fee of $45.00 must be submitted with the application – NO EXCEPTIONS: 

 Change of Master supervising the apprentice; or 

 Apprentice changes to a new salon; or 

 If the salon where you are apprenticing changes name, location or ownership causing a new salon license 
number to be issued. 

 
COSMETOLOGY APPRENTICESHIP HOURS REQUIRED FOR  EXAMINATION: 

 
COSMETOLOGIST --- 3,000 HOURS AND 18 MONTHS OF TRAINING 
HAIR DESIGNER    --- 2,650 HOURS AND 14 MONTHS OF TRAINING 
ESTHETICIAN        --- 2,000 HOURS AND 18 MONTHS OF TRAINING 
NAIL TECHINICAN --- 1,050 HOURS AND   8 MONTHS OF TRAINING 

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.sos.ga.gov/
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 • (478) 207-2440 

www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology 
 

Application for Cosmetology Apprentice, Fee $45.00 (non-refundable) 
License Type:    Cosmetology Apprentice  
                           Esthetician Apprentice 
                           Nail Technician Apprentice 
                           Hair Design Apprentice 
 
Please check the appropriate box: 
  Initial Application 
  Renewal  Application ($90.00  late renewal) 
  Change of Shop or Master Application 
   
Additional License Types (currently or previously issued by the Georgia Professional Licensing Boards): 

 
Method Obtained by: 
Applicant is applying for above referenced license to obtain:   
 
(  ) Apprentice Training as an apprentice for examination 
 
Name               
  First                    Middle         Last 

Name as shown on records or transcripts  
(if different)              
    First  Middle  Last 

 

Social Security Number ______-_____-________ Date of Birth ___________ 
 *THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED &DISCLOSED TO STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & 

O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 101. 

 

 

     
Physical Address             
                                 Number and Street   Apt. No  City/State Zip 
          P.O. Box not acceptable 

 
Mailing Address             
(If different)              Number and Street   Apt. No  City/State Zip 

(If you are granted a license, your name, mailing address and license number become public information and will be 

posted on the Secretary of State’s website.  The mailing address is used for renewal notices, and application 
processing) 

 
                           
Telephone Number Day       Telephone Number Evening                   E – Mail                    Fax Number 
*Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by email.  Also, if further information is needed, email is the 
most efficient way for Board staff to contact you so that your application can be processed in the most efficient 
manner.  Your email address will not be shared with third parties. 

http://www.sos.ga.gov/plb/cosmetology
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COSMETOLOGY APPRENTICE LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
 

Section 1 (completed by apprentice)   This application will be returned if you do not answer the     

                questions on this page. 
 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violation) or entered a plea of guilty, 
nolo contendere or under the “First Offender Act,” or been sanctioned by another board or agency?  DUI and DWI are not 
minor traffic violations. 

 
 Yes       No    

 
Have you ever had a license revoked, suspended, or otherwise sanctioned by any professional licensing board or agency, 
or have you ever been denied issuance of, or pursuant to disciplinary proceedings refused renewal of a license by any 
professional licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state?  

 
 Yes       No           

 

 If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding court convictions, you must submit to the Board the following: a) 
a copy of conviction/sentencing document(s) from the Court before which you were convicted and sentenced, 
signed by the presiding judge, and showing said conviction and sentence; AND, if applicable, b) a statement (on 
official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer regarding your current status/completion of any probation / 
parole. Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the 
Board.  

 

 If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or 
agency send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to the 
Board’s office.  Your application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by 
the Board. 
 

    Please check here if you answered yes to the question above and have already submitted the documentation to the 
Board within the past two years. If you have, it is not necessary to resubmit this information, but new convictions must be submitted. 
 

I understand the following:  Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an 
apprentice changes master supervisor or salon where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be 
submitted.  If the salon changes ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new 
apprentice application must be submitted.  Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice, 
master and salon license are active.  Only one apprentice renewal is allowed. 
 
 Yes     ________No   
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APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT: 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 

knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules 

and regulations of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as 

amended from time to time.  

 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be 

true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1: 

 

1) _______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current 

Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 22 & 

23 of this application. 

 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 

years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality 

Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other 

federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes 

either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number. 

  

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in 

disciplinary action by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and/or criminal prosecution.  

 

 

_____________________________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant     Date 

 

_____________________________________________________ 

Print Applicant’s Name 

 

Personally appeared before me, the undersigned official authorized to administer oaths, comes 

 

_______________________________who deposes and swears that he/she is the person who executed this  

 (Applicant’s Name) 

application for a license by examination for Cosmetology  in the State of Georgia; and that all of the statements  

 

herein contained are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief. 

 

 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this ______ day of ___________________, 2________ 

 

 

 

Notary Public Signature ________________________________       ________________________________ 

             County                                           State 

 

My Commission Expires  ______________________ 

 

 

 

(seal) 
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Section 2 
 

 
Name of SALON/SHOP where Apprentice will receive training (ATTACH COPY OF CURRENT LICENSE): 
 
 

COSMETOLOGY SALON/SHOP NAME - MUST BE EXACTLY AS IT APPEARS ON THE LICENSE 
 
 

SALON/SHOP PHYSICAL AND MAILING ADDRESS - MUST BE EXACTLY AS IT APPEARS ON THE LICENSE 
 
Salon/Shop License Number        
 
Salon/Shop Telephone Number:   -  -   
 
 
Have you ever previously registered as an apprentice?   Yes   No   If YES, When?  
 
     What type of apprenticeship?      
 
License Number    Did you complete the apprenticeship? [  ] Yes    [  ] No. 
 
Are you currently working under an apprentice license? [   ] Yes   [   ] No.  If YES, give date of license expiration    
 
I UNDERSTAND THAT IN ORDER FOR ME TO QUALIFY FOR THE EXAMINATIONS OFFERED BY THE 
COSMETOLOGY BOARD, I MUST PROVIDE PROOF OF A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA, OR GED DIPLOMA, OR A 
POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION, OR COLLEGE DEGREE.    
 
 
 
 
                         

            Signature of Apprentice Applicant 
 
             
     Printed Name of Applicant 
 
 
 
 
Sworn to and Subscribed before me on this   day of    20 . 
 
 
      
Notary Signature 
         NOTARY SEAL 
My commission expires on  / /  
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Section 3. Questions for the Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician or Nail Technician 

Supervising the Apprentice: 
 

Apprentice Name:  _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Supervisor Name:  _____________________________  License No.  ______________________ 
(for this application) 

 
Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than minor traffic violation) or entered a plea of 
guilty, nolo contendere or under the “First Offender Act,” or been sanctioned by another board or agency?  DUI 
and DWI are not minor traffic violations.   Yes     No    
If you answered “Yes” to the question regarding court convictions, you must submit to the Board the following: a) a copy of 
conviction/sentencing document(s) from the Court before which you were convicted and sentenced, signed by the 
presiding judge, and showing said conviction and sentence; AND, if applicable, b) a statement (on official letterhead) from 
your probation / parole officer regarding your current status/completion of any probation / parole. Your application will not 
be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the Board.  
 
Have you ever had a license revoked, suspended, or otherwise sanctioned by any professional licensing board or 
agency, or have you ever been denied issuance of, or pursuant to disciplinary proceedings refused renewal of a 
license by any professional licensing board or agency in Georgia or any other state?   Yes    No           
If you answered “Yes” regarding sanctions from another board, you must request that the licensing board or agency send 
a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to the Board’s office.  Your 
application will not be processed until this information is received and reviewed by the Board. 
 
_____ Please check here if you answered yes to the question above and have already submitted the documentation to the Board within 
the past two years. If you have, it is not necessary to resubmit this information, but new convictions must be submitted. 

 
 Yes  No  Salon/Shop owner or manager or master trainer, are responsible for keeping daily record  
         of  apprentice hours.  
          
 Yes  No  Salon/Shop owner or manager and master trainer are responsible for apprentice having a 
         thorough understanding of sanitization. Refer to sanitation tip sheet. 
 
 Yes  No   Master trainer always monitors apprentice’s sanitation procedure. 
 
 Yes  No  Do you have cosmetology books/workbook for apprentice to study? 
 
 Yes  No  Do you have the sanitary regulations for apprentice to study?   
 
 Yes  No  Do you have the rules of the Georgia Board of Cosmetology for apprentice to study? 
 
 Yes  No  Does apprentice have related kit, and all the tools they will need to learn the specific  
                   profession in cosmetology? 
 
 Yes  No  I understand the following regarding apprentices:  Hours can only be obtained during the 
period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an apprentice changes master supervisor or salon 
where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  If the salon changes 
ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new apprentice 
application must be submitted.  Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the 
apprentice, master and salon license are active.  Only one apprentice renewal is allowed. 
 
 Yes  No  I understand that failure to have apprentice reports and/or records current shall result in a fine of 

$200.00 (Rules 130-2-.06(2)(a)(b)(c) and 130-7-.04(a)(5).) 
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 Yes  No   I understand that failure of apprentice to be under direct supervision of their registered master 

license holder or temporarily designated master license holder shall result in a fine of $500.00 (Rules 130-2-

.06(a)(c), 130-2-.09, 130-4-.06, and 130-7-.04(a)(6).) 

 

APPRENTICE HOURS ARE SUBTOTALED 1ST OF JANUARY, 1ST OF APRIL, AND 1ST OF 
SEPTEMBER.    HOURS REPORTED WILL BE KEPT ON FILE BY SALON/SHOP OWNER OR 
MANAGER FOR INSPECTOR TO REVIEW. 
 

Apprentice hours are accumulated according to the actual number of hours of performance and training.  It is 

the responsibility of the salon/shop owner and the master to see that an accurate record is kept of the apprentice 

hours.  IT IS NOT THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPRENTICE.   It is your responsibility to submit these 

hours at the end of the apprenticeship or once the apprentice is no longer training with you. 

 
I agree to act as supervising master cosmetologist, nail technician, esthetician or hair designer for the 
apprentice whose name appears above.  I agree to provide direct supervision when the apprentice 
whose name appears above is working in the salon/shop. 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF THE MASTER SUPERVISING THE 
APPRENTICE 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 

PRINT NAME 

_______________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 

DATE 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
237 COLISEUM DRIVE 

                        MACON, GA 31217 

 
TRANSCRIPT OF COSMETOLOGY APPRENTICE TRAINING 

 

It is hereby certified that___________________________________________________ 
                                                  Apprentice Last Name               First Name                      Middle   Name 

Apprentice License. #__________________________    
 

Salon Name _________________________________ Salon License No.__________________ 

 

Completed the following hours from ____________________to___________________  
               MM/DD/YYYY        MM/DD/YYYY 

Master Signature  __________________________ Master License No. ___________________ 
 

Apprentice Signature                                                                                                                                                     
       

Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an apprentice changes master 

supervisor or salon where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  If the salon changes 

ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  

Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice, master and salon license are active.  Only one 

apprentice renewal is allowed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sworn to and subscribed before me  

This   day of    20                                                                                        

   

         
Notary Signature         NOTARY SEAL 

My commission expires on  / /  

 

 

 

Courses Hours Completed 

700 hrs. THEORY in any category one clock hour equals one credit hour  
250 hrs. HAIRCUTTING AND SHAPING 1 haircut =.75 HRS           

 1 shampoo =.25 hrs 1 temp rinse =.75 hrs   
 

660 hrs. SHAMPOOING HAIRDRESSING & STYLING 1 shampoo & 

style or 1 pressing, curling & comb-out 1.5 hrs     
 

250 hrs. HAIR-COLOR OR BLEACHING  1 color including style=2 hrs 

or 1 bleach including style=2.5 hrs 
 

360 hrs. PERMANENT 1 cold or heat wave including style = 3 hrs 

SCALP TREATMENT # 1 scalp treatment = 1 hrs 
 

250 hrs. FACIALS  1 facial = 1 hrs   

MAKEUP ARCHING ESTHETICS 1 brow & lash 

 tint=.5hrs 

 

100 hrs. CHARM, RECEPTION, ART & ETHICS, STATE LAWS AND 

BOARD RULES 

 

 

70 hrs. MANICURE   1 manicure = 1 hrs                                                 

1 sculptured nails application = 3 hrs 

 PEDICURE # 1 pedicure = 1 hrs 

 

200 hrs. CHEMICAL & RELAXING  

 1 chemical relaxer = 2 hrs 
 

100 hrs. LABORATORY Training in all chemicals including sanitation one clock hour 

= one credit hour. 
 

60 hrs. Additional Instruction  
3000 

Hrs. 

TOTAL HOURS  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
237 COLISEUM DRIVE 

MACON, GA 31217-3858 
 

HOW TO CHANGE FROM CLOCK HOURS TO CREDIT HOURS 
 

THEORY 
An apprentice can study theory in any category for one clock hour and get 1 credit hour. 
 

HAIRCUTTING AND SHAPING 
One haircut = .75 of a credit hour. 
One shampoo = .25 of a credit hour. 
A temp rinse = .75 of a credit hour. 
 

SHAMPOOING HAIRDRESSING AND STYLING 
One shampoo and style or one pressing, curling and comb-out= 1.5 credit hours. 
 

HAIR-COLOR OR BLEACHING 
One color including style = 2 credit hours.  
A bleach including style = 2.5 credit hours 
 

PERMANENT 
One cold or heat wave including style = 3 credit hours.  
 

SCALP TREATMENT 
One scalp treatment = 1 credit hour. 
 

FACIALS AND MAKE-UP, ARCHING AND ESTHETICS 
One facial = 1credit hour. 
One brow and lash tint = .5 of a credit hour. 
 

CHARM RECEPTION ART AND ETHICS 
One hour learning how to work the desk and how to deal properly with clients for one clock hour = 1 
credit hour. 
 
MANICURE AND PEDICURE 
One manicure = 1 credit hour. 
One pedicure = 1 credit hour. 
One sculptured nail application (full set) = 3 credit hours. 
 

CHEMICAL AND RELAXING 
One chemical relaxer = 2 credit hours. 
 

LABORATORY 
An apprentice will get training in preparing germicidal solutions, shampoos, tint and bleaches, 
practical training in washing and sanitizing all equipment in the beauty salon each. Each clock hour of 
this training will be equal to 1 credit hour.  
 
 
PLEASE NOTE: CREDIT/CLOCK HOURS ARE THE SAME. 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
237 COLISEUM DRIVE 

MACON, GA 31217-3858 

 
TRANSCRIPT OF HAIR DESIGNER APPRENTICE TRAINING 

 
 

It is hereby certified that___________________________________________________ 
                                                  Apprentice Last Name               First Name                      Middle   Name 

Apprentice License. #__________________________    
 

Salon Name _________________________________ Salon Lic#__________________ 

 

Completed the following hours from ____________________to___________________  
               MM/DD/YYYY        MM/DD/YYYY 

Master Signature  ____________________________________ Master License No. ___________________ 

 

Apprentice Signature           
 
Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an apprentice changes master 

supervisor or salon where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  If the salon changes 

ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  

Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice, master and salon license are active.  Only one 

apprentice renewal is allowed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me             
 
This   Day of    20            
                                                                                                                 
                   
       
Notary Signature 

         NOTARY SEAL 
 

Hours 
Required 

Courses Hours 
Completed 

 
700hrs. THEORY in any category one clock hour equals one credit hour  

320 hrs. HAIRCUTTING AND SHAPING 1 haircut =.75 HRS           
 1 shampoo =.25 hrs 1 temp rinse =.75 hrs   

 

280 hrs. SHAMPOOING HAIRDRESSING & STYLING 1 shampoo 
& style or 1 pressing, curling & comb-out 1.5 hrs     

 

350 hrs. HAIR-COLOR OR BLEACHING  1 color including style=2 
hrs or 1 bleach including style=2.5 hrs 

 

430 hrs. PERMANENT 1 cold or heat wave including style = 3 hrs   

100 hrs. SCALP TREATMENT # 1 scalp treatment = 1 hrs  

100 hrs. CHARM,RECEPTION, ART & ETHICS, STATE LAW AND 
BOARD RULES  

 

270 hrs. CHEMICAL & RELAXING  
 1 chemical relaxer = 2 hrs 

 

100 hrs. LABORATORY Training in all chemicals including sanitation one clock 

hour = one credit hour. 
 

2650 
Hrs. 

TOTAL HOURS  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 
237 COLISEUM DRIVE 

MACON, GA 31217-3858 
 

HOW TO CHANGE FROM CLOCK HOURS TO CREDIT HOURS 
 

THEORY 
An apprentice can study theory in any category for one clock hour and get 1 credit hour. 
 

HAIRCUTTING AND SHAPING 
One haircut = .75 of a credit hour. 
One shampoo = .25 of a credit hour. 
One temp rinse = .75 of a credit hour. 
 

SHAMPOOING HAIRDRESSING AND STYLING 
One shampoo and style or one pressing, curling and comb-out it = 1.5 credit hours. 
 

HAIR-COLOR OR BLEACHING 
One color including style = 2 credit hours.  
One = bleach including style for 2.5 credit hours 
 

PERMANENT 
One cold or heat wave including style = 3 credit hours.  
 

SCALP TREATMENT 
One scalp treatment = 1 credit hour. 
 
 

CHARM RECEPTION ART AND ETHICS 
One hour learning how to work the desk and how to deal properly with clients for one clock hour = 1 
credit hour. 
 

CHEMICAL AND RELAXING 
One chemical relaxer = 2 credit hours. 
 

LABORATORY 
An apprentice will get training in preparing germicidal solutions, shampoos, tint and bleaches, 
practical training in washing and sanitizing all equipment in the beauty salon each. Each clock hour of 
this training will be equal to 1 credit hour.  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA 31217-3858 

 
TRANSCRIPT OF NAIL CARE APPRENTICE TRAINING 

 

It is hereby certified that___________________________________________________ 
                                                  Apprentice Last Name               First Name                      Middle   Name 

Apprentice License. #__________________________    
 

Salon Name _________________________________ Salon License No.__________________ 

 

Completed the following hours from ____________________to___________________  
               MM/DD/YYYY        MM/DD/YYYY 

Master Signature  __________________________ Master License No. ___________________ 
 

Apprentice Signature           
 
 Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an apprentice changes master 

supervisor or salon where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  If the salon changes 

ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  

Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice, master and salon license are active.  Only one 

apprentice renewal is allowed. 
                                     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me        
This   Day of    20                                                                                                         
                   
       
Notary Signature 
         NOTARY SEAL 
My commission expires on  / /  

 

Hours 
Required 

Courses Hours 
Completed 

 
280  hrs. THEORY in any category one clock hour equals one credit hour  
140 hrs. MANICURE W/ HAND & FOREARM MASSAGE  
20 hrs. ARTIFICIAL NAIL REMOVAL & NAIL REPAIR  
60 hrs. NAIL FILL IN APPLICATIONS  
120 hrs. ARTIFICIAL TIP APPLICATION W/OVERLAY  
40 hrs. NAIL WRAPPING  
180 hrs. NAIL SCULPTURING  
120 hrs. PEDICURE W/FOOT AND LEG MASSAGE  
20 hrs. NAIL ARTS TECHNINQUES  
10 hrs. PROFESSIONAL DRILL USAGE W/DRILL DESIGNS  
10 hrs. AIR BRUSH NAIL ART  
10 hrs. PARAFFIN TREATMENTS (HAND & FEET)  
40 hrs. RELATED SUBJECTS AND ADVANCED TECHNIQUES  
1050 
Hrs. 

TOTAL HOURS  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA 31217-3858 

 
HOW TO CHANGE FROM CLOCK HOURS TO CREDIT HOURS FOR  

NAIL CARE APPRENTICES. 
 
THEORY 
 
An apprentice can study theory in any category for one clock hour and get 1 credit hour. 
 
MANICURING 
 
One manicure with hand and a forearm massage = 1 credit hour. 
 
ARTIFICIAL NAILS  
 
Artificial tip application with overlay (gel or acrylic) = 3 credit hours.  
One fill in application = 1.5 credit hours. 
One set sculptured nails = 3 hours. 
Natural nail overlay = 1 credit hour. 
One repair and artificial removal = .50 credit hours. 
One natural nail wrap (silk or linen) =1 credit hour. 
 
PEDICURE 
One pedicure and foot massage = 1 credit hour. 
 
NAIL ARTS AND ETHICS 
One clock hour = one credit hour. 
 
RELATED SUBJECTS 
 
Professional nail drill usage = .50 credit hours. 
Nail art & airbrush techniques, full set = 1 credit hour. 
Hot oil treatment = .50 credit hour. 
Paraffin treatment = .50 credit hour. 
 
ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTION 
 
Additional instruction in any category for one clock hour = 1 credit/clock hour.  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA 31217-3858 

 
TRANSCRIPT OF ESTHETICIAN APPRENTICE TRAINING 

 

It is hereby certified that           
                                              Apprentice Last name               First name                      Middle    

Apprentice License #        

 

Salon Name        Salon License No.    

 

Completed the following hours from ____________________to___________________  
         MM/DD/YYYY   MM/DD/YYYY 

Master Signature___________________________ Master License No. ___________________ 

 

Apprentice Signature                               

 
                                                              
Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice is licensed.  If an apprentice changes master 

supervisor or salon where he/she is apprenticing, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  If the salon changes 

ownership, name or location causing a new license number to be issued, a new apprentice application must be submitted.  

Hours can only be obtained during the period of time that the apprentice, master and salon license are active.  Only one 

apprentice renewal is allowed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me   
 
This   Day of    20   
                                                                               
       
Notary Signature         NOTARY SEAL 
My commission expires on  / /  
 
               
 
 

 

Hours 
Required 

Courses Hours 
Completed 

 
300 hrs. PROFESSONAL PRACTICES  
40 hrs. PROFESSIONAL ETHICS  
160 hrs. BUSINESS PRACTICES  
640 hrs. SCIENCES  
150 hrs. BODY TREATMENT  
230 hrs. FACIALS  
180 hrs. MAKE-UP  
150 hrs. HAIR REMOVAL  
150 hrs. SPA/SALON MANAGEMENT  
2000 
Hrs. 

TOTAL HOURS  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA 31217-3858 

 
HOW TO CHANGE FROM CLOCK HOURS TO CREDIT HOURS FOR ESTHETICANS. 

 
 
THEORY; Professional Practices, Professional Ethics, Business Practices 
 
An apprentice can study theory in any category for one clock hour and get 1 credit hour. 
 
SCIENCES  
 
Sciences, in any category, one clock hour = 1 credit hour.  
 
BODY TREATMENT 
 
One body treatment = 1credit hour. 
 
FACIALS 
 
One facial = 1 credit hour. 
 
MAKE-UP 
 
One make-up = 1 credit hour. 
 
HAIR REMOVAL 
 
One hair removal or waxing (lip, chin, face) = 1 credit hour. 
One leg hair removal = 2 credit hours. 
One bikini hair removal = .50 credit hours. 
One arching = .50 credit hours. 
 
ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTION  
 
One brow and lash tinting = 1 credit hour.  
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Georgia Board of Cosmetology - Cosmetology Apprentice Daily Log - Month/Year______________                 
                                                                                                                                                                  
Apprentice license number ____________ Print apprentice name _________________________ Signature of apprentice _________________________ 

                                                                                        
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me                                    SEAL                       Printed Name of Master _____________________________          
This _______Day of ____________, 20 _____                      

                                                                                                                             Signature of Master ________________________________ 
Signature of Notary _________________________                                                                                                               
My commission expires:                                                                               Master License # ____________________________   
Printed name of salon/shop owner or manager:               Signature of Salon/Shop Owner/Mgr: 
 
________________________________________  ______________________________________________________________

Day Theory Hair & 
Cutting 
Shaping 

Shampooing 
Hairdressing 
Styling 

 

Hair  
Coloring 
Bleaching 

Perm. & 
Scalp 

Treatments 

Facials 
Make-
up 
Esthetics 

Charm 
Reception 

Art & 
Ethics,  

Manicure 

& 
Pedicure 

Chemical 
& 
Relaxing 

Lab. I Additional 
Instruction  

Total 
Hours 

1             

2             

3             

4             

5             

6             

7             

8             

9             

 10             

11             

12             

13             

14             

15             

16             

17             

18             

19             

20             

21             

22             

23             

24             

25             

26             

27             

28             

29             

  30             

31             
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Georgia Board of Cosmetology Hair Designer Apprentice Daily Log - Month/Year______________                 
                                                                                                                                                                  
Apprentice license number ____________ Print apprentice name _________________________ Signature of apprentice _________________________ 

                                                                                        
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me                                    SEAL                       Printed Name of Master _____________________________          
This _______Day of ____________, 20 _____                      

                                                                                                                             Signature of Master ________________________________ 
Signature of Notary _________________________                                                                                                               
My commission expires:                                                                               Master License # ____________________________   
Printed name of salon/shop owner or manager:               Signature of Salon/Shop Owner/Mgr: 
________________________________________  ____________________________________________________________

 
 

Day 

 
 

Theory 

 
Hair & 
Cutting 
Shaping 

 
Shampooing 
Hairdressing 
Styling 

 

 
Hair  

Coloring 
Bleaching 

 
Perm.  
Treat-
ments 

 
Scalp 
Treat-
ment 

Charm, 
Reception 

Art & 
ethics,  

 
Chemical 
& 
Relaxing 

 
Lab. I 

 
Total 
Hours 

1           

2           

3           

4           

5           

6           

7           

8           

9           

 10           

11           

12           

13           

14           

15           

16           

17           

18           

19           

20           

21           

22           

23           

24           

25           

26           

27           

28           

29           

     
30 

          

31           
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      Georgia Board of Cosmetology Nail Technician Apprentice Daily Log- Month/Year______________   
      
    Apprentice license number ____________  Print apprentice name _________________________  Signature of apprentice _________________________ 

 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me                                    SEAL                       Printed Name of Master _____________________________          
This _______Day of ____________, 20 _____                      
                                                                                                                             Signature of Master ________________________________ 
Signature of Notary _________________________                                                                                                               
My commission expires:                                                                               Master License # ____________________________   
 
Printed name of salon/shop owner/mgr : __________________         Signature of Salon/Shop Owner/Mgr:__________________________ 

 
 
 

 
 

Day 

 
 

Theory 

 
Manicure 

w/ hand / 
forearm 
massage 

 
Artificial 

Nail 
Removal 
& Nail 
Repair 

 

 
Nail Fill In 

Applications 

 
Artificial 

Tip App. 
w/Overlay 

 
Nail 

Wrap-
ping 

 
Nail 

Sculp-
turing 

 
Pedicure 

w/foot 
and leg 
massage 

 
Nail 

arts 
tech-
nique 

 
Professional 

Drill Usage 
w/ drill 

designs 

 
Air 

Brush 
Nail 
Art 

 
Paraffin 

Treat-
ment 
(Hand 
& feet 

 
Related 

Subjects / 
Advanced 

Tech. 

 
Total 

Hours 

1               

2               

3               

4               

5               

6               

7               

8               

9               

 10               

11               

12               

13               

14               

15               

16               

17               

18               

19               

20               

21               

22               

23               

24               

25               

26               

27               

28               

29               

30               

31               
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Georgia Board of Cosmetology Esthetician Apprentice Daily Log - Month/Year______________   
      
    Apprentice license number ____________  Print apprentice name _________________________  Signature of apprentice _________________________ 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me                                    SEAL                       Printed Name of Master _____________________________          
This _______Day of ____________, 20 _____                      
                                                                                                                             Signature of Master ________________________________ 
Signature of Notary _________________________                                                                                                               
My commission expires:                                                                               Master License # ____________________________   
Printed name of salon/shop owner or manager  :               Signature of Salon/Shop Owner/Mgr: 
________________________________________  ____________________________________________________________ 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Day 

 
Prof. 

Practices 

 
Prof. 
Ethics 

 
Business 
Practices 

 

 
Sciences 

 
Body 

Treatment 

 
Facials 

 
Make-up 

 
Hair 

Removal 

 
Spa/Salon 

Manag-
ment 

 
Total 
Hours 

1           

2           

3           

4           

5           

6           

7           

8           

9           

 10           

11           

12           

13           

14           

15           

16           

17           

18           

19           

20           

21           

22           

23           

24           

25           

26           

27           

28           

29           

30           

31           
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APPLICANT:  PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW THAT 

YOU POSSESS.  RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF YOUR 

APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION. 

 

________________________________________  

Name 

 

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 

Issued August 1, 2011 by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia 

 

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”) provides that “[n]ot 

later than August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the 

Department of Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall 

be reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(f). The 

Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary. 

 

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on 

this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status. 

 
_____ A United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____A United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____A driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the 

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas 

Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided 

that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information 

regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to 

enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 
_____An identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the 

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, the 

United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a 

photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as 

name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the 

bearer  [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____A tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe, provided that  it 

contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, 

such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of 

the bearer. A listing of federally recognized Native American tribes may be found at: 

http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OIS/TribalGovernmentServices/TribalDirectory/ind

ex.htm   [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 
_____A United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card [O.C.G.A. §  50-36-

2(b)(3);  8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____An Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the bearer  [O.C.G.A. § 50-

36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____A passport issued by a foreign government [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OIS/TribalGovernmentServices/TribalDirector
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_____A Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the United States Coast 

 Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

_____A Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

_____A NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

_____A Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card [O.C.G.A. §50-36-

2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

_____A driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 

 274a.2] 

 

_____A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and Immigration 

 Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

_____A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and 

Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 

§ 37.11] 

 

_____In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or program, an 

agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of identification for proof of 

or documentation of identity, that document or other form of identification will be deemed a 

secure and verifiable document solely for that particular program or administration of that 

particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(c)] 
 


