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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION 

 
Embalmer and Funeral Director licenses expire on March 31 of even years; therefore, while the 
licenses are valid for two years, your initial license granted from this application may be valid 
for a shorter period of time due to the relation between the date the initial license is issued 
and the expiration date for all licenses.   
 
Application fees are non-refundable. 

 
The application is divided into three sections:  
  
Section A is to be prepared by all applicants. 
 
Section B is to be prepared by applicants for initial licensure as embalmer &/or funeral 
director. 
 
Section C is to be prepared by applicants for reinstatement of lapsed license(s). 
 
The Certificate of Embalming Education is to be mailed to the school where education was 
received by applicants for initial licensure only.  The school will mail the completed certificate 
to the applicant in a sealed envelope.  The sealed envelope must be submitted by the 
applicant with this application.   
 
The Application for Georgia Laws & Rules Examination is included in this application package 
for applicants for initial licensure who have not taken the exam previously, and for applicants 
for reinstatement of license(s) that have expired for two licensing cycles, which is four (4) 
years or longer.  The $35.00 fee for the examination is not included in the application fee for 
the license(s). 
 
If the applicant desires a decorative wall certificate for the license(s), an application for a 
decorative wall certificate is available on the Board website.  The application may be 
submitted after the issuance of the license(s).  Please see Fee Schedule for the appropriate 
fee. 
 
 
 
All required sections of the application must be completed, signed and notarized in the 
appropriate places.   
Applicants for initial licensure should not submit page 6 (Section C). 
Applicants for reinstatement of licensure(s) should not submit page 5 (Section B). 
 
Applicants for reinstatement of license(s) must submit a copy of their certificate of continuing 
education attendance within the previous two years, in order to be considered for 
reinstatement by the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service. 
 
If any questions on page 4 of the application are answered “Yes,” certified documentation 
must be included with the application.  Failure to provide the certified documentation will 
result in delays in the processing of the application, and may result in denial of the application 
by the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service. 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

 
FEE SCHEDULE 

 
FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT AND CREMATORY 

INITIAL APPLICATION FEE - FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT   $150.00 
INITIAL APPLICATION FEE - CREMATORY  $150.00 
RENEWAL -  IF RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30 OF THE RENEWAL YEAR   $140.00 
LATE RENEWAL - RECEIVED BETWEEN JULY 1 AND JULY 31 OF THE RENEWAL YEAR  $390.00 
CHANGE ESTABLISHMENT NAME   $150.00 
CHANGE OF ESTABLISHMENT LOCATION/ADDRESS   $150.00 
CHANGE OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR IN FULL AND CONTINUOUS CHARGE   $  50.00 
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP   NO FEE 

RE INSPECTION, IF INITIAL INSPECTION IS FAILED  $100.00 
 

APPRENTICESHIP REGISTRATION 
INITIAL APPLICATION FEE   $  40.00 
RENEWAL - IF RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE MARCH 31 OF THE RENEWAL YEAR   $  70.00 
LATE RENEWAL - RECEIVED BETWEEN APRIL 1 AND APRIL 30 OF THE RENEWAL YEAR   $140.00 
REINSTATEMENT OF APPRENTICESHIP REGISTRATION (AT THE BOARD’S DISRETION)  $180.00 
CHANGE OF LOCATION   $  20.00 
CHANGE OF SUPERVISING EMBALMER &/ OR FUNERAL DIRECTOR   $  20.00 
CERTIFICATION OF APPRENTICESHIP HOURS   $  25.00 

 
EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR 

EMBALMER APPLICATION FEE   $  50.00 
FUNERAL DIRECTOR APPLICATION FEE   $  50.00 
APPLICATION FEE – LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY – FUNERAL DIRECTOR & 
EMBALMER (INCLUDES GA LAW & RULES EXAM FEE)    

  $385.00 

RENEWAL FEE – FUNERAL DIRECTOR - IF RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE MARCH 31 OF RENEWAL YEAR   $100.00 
LATE RENEWAL FEE – FUNERAL DIRECTOR - RECEIVED BETWEEN APRIL 1 AND APRIL 30 OF 
RENEWAL YEAR 

 $200.00 

REINSTATEMENT FEE - FUNERAL DIRECTOR – AT BOARD’S DISCRETION AFTER APRIL 30 OF 
RENEWAL YEAR 

 $300.00 

RENEWAL FEE – EMBALMER - IF RECEIVED ON OR BEFORE MARCH 31 OF RENEWAL YEAR    $100.00 
LATE RENEWAL FEE –EMBALMER -  RECEIVED BETWEEN APRIL 1 AND APRIL 30 OF RENEWAL 
YEAR 

 $200.00 

REINSTATEMENT FEE – EMBALMER - AT BOARD’S DISCRETION AFTER APRIL 30 OF RENEWAL 
YEAR   

 $300.00 

CHANGE OF NAME/ADDRESS FEE   $  25.00 
INACTIVE STATUS APPLICATION FEE FOR EACH LICENSE   $  35.00 
APPLICATION FEE FOR REACTIVATION OF EACH LICENSE   $100.00 
RETAKE GEORGIA LAWS & RULES EXAMINATION & FEE   $  35.00 
NATIONAL EXAMINATION & FEE: CONTACT THE CONFERENCE 1885 SHELBY LANE 

FAYETTEVILLE, AR 72704 TELEP HONE: 479.442.7076; FAX: 479.442.7090 

APPLICATION FOR DUPLICATE LICENSE IDENTIFICATION CARD & WALL CERTIFICATE   $  25.00 
APPLICATION FOR DECORATIVE WALL CERTIFICATE, EACH LICENSE   $  50.00 
APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL AS A CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER   $250.00 
NOTE: FEES PAYABLE BY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER TO GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE.  FEES MAY BE CHANGED AT 
THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD WITHOUT NOTICE.  REQUESTS FOR REFUND MUST BE IN WRITING. APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-
REFUNDABLE.  RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE DEALT WITH IN ACCORDANCE WITH CODE SECTION 16-9-20 OF THE CRIMINAL CODE OF 
GEORGIA. 
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APPLICATION FOR EMBALMER AND FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSES 
  REASON FOR APPLICATION:        Make checks payable to:  The GA State Board of Funeral Service 

 (     ) Initial Embalmer & Funeral Director Licenses 
$100.00  
Non-refundable 

( ) Initial Embalmer License Only 
$  50.00 
Non-refundable  

( ) Initial Funeral Director License Only (Embalmer license # ___________) 
$  50.00 
Non-refundable  

( ) 
Reinstatement of Embalmer 
& Funeral Director Licenses 

Embalmer License # __________ 
Funeral Director License # __________ 

$600.00 
Non-refundable  

( ) Reinstatement of Embalmer License Only – License # _____________ 
$300.00 
Non-refundable  

( ) Reinstatement of Funeral Director License Only – License # ________________ 
(Embalmer license # ____________) 

$300.00 
Non-refundable  

 
SECTION A – ALL APPLICANTS 

 
GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA  31217 

478.207.1460     FAX  478.207.1468 
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral 

 

DO NOT WRIT E IN THIS SECTION 
 
RECEIPT # _____________________ 
 
AMOUNT  ______________________ 
 
APPLICANT # __________________ 
 
INITIAL  _____ DATE ___________ 

 
   

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME 
 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS (Your physical address is required.  A P.O. Box is no acceptable.) 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
STREET(INCLUDE APT/LOT #)                CITY                   COUNTY        STATE     ZIP CODE    TELEPHONE NUMBER 
 
 
MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM RESIDENCE ADDRESS):  
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
STREET (OR POST OFFICE BOX)                       CITY                           COUNTY                  STATE              ZIP CODE     

PLACE OF BIRTH:   
 
______________________________________________ 
CITY                                         STATE OR COUNTRY 
 
AGE:  ________ 
 
DATE OF BIRTH  :  _______/_________/_____________ 
 
GENDER                :  _____ MALE       _____ FEMALE 
 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NO.*: ______-____-_________               
 
*THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED & 
DISCLOSED TO STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT 
TO O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A.  § 551 & 
20 U.S.C.A. § 101. 
 
U.S. CITIZEN         :  _____ YES       _____ NO* 
 
*LIST CITIZENSHIP:_______________________________________ 
& SUBMIT A COPY OF REGISTRATION CARD __________ 

HEIGHT 
__________ 

WEIGHT 
__________ 

EYES 
__________ 

HAIR 
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SECTION A – ALL APPLICANTS (CONTINUED) 

 
 

PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
The Applicant must answer the following questions.  If your answer is “Yes” to any of the following questions, provide 
explanation, including certified documentation. Such documentation includes, but is not limited to, court dispositions and 
disciplinary action by a licensing board.  Attach additional sheets, if necessary.  
( ) Yes ( ) No Do you now hold, or have you in the past held, a funeral director or embalmer 

license in any state?  If “Yes,” submit an original notarized letter from the state of 
licensure. 

( ) Yes ( ) No Have you had revoked, suspended, or otherwise sanctioned any license issued to 
you by any board, agency, or licensing authority in Georgia or any other state?  

( ) Yes ( ) No Were you denied issuance of or, pursuant to any disciplinary proceedings, refused 
renewal of a license by any board, agency, or licensing authority in Georgia or 
any other state? 

( ) Yes ( ) No Have you knowingly failed to renew a license during an investigation or 
disciplinary action? 

( ) Yes ( ) No Have you been subject to disciplinary action or had your membership revoked by 
a professional organization governing the practice of that profession? 

( ) Yes ( ) No To the best of your knowledge, is there any disciplinary action pending against 
you by any licensing board or professional organization? 

( ) Yes ( ) No Have you been arrested, charged or sentenced for the commission of a felony or 
any crime involving moral turpitude? 

( ) Yes ( ) No Are you unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety due to illness or use of 
alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other types of material, or as a result of 
any mental or physical condition? If so, attach notarized physician statement. 

( ) Yes ( ) No Have you had any suit filed against you related to the practice of a profession? 
( ) Yes ( ) No Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor 

traffic violation), entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, or entered a plea 
under first offender provision?  If “Yes,” attach a certified copy of the court disposition 
and a notarized statement on agency letterhead from the probation officer giving current 
status of probation.  DWI and DUI are not minor tra ffic violations. 

AFFIDAVIT 
I hereby swear or affirm that the answers and information contained in this section of the application are 
true, complete, and correct.  I understand that making a false or misleading statement on this form is a 
crime and may result in criminal prosecution and in my being denied a license from the Georgia State 
Board of Funeral Service.  (See O.C.G.A. § 43-1-19.) 

 
STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF THE APPLICANT 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 

PRINT NAME 

_______________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 
 

DATE 
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AUTHORIZATION FOR BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

I authorize the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service to conduct a background 
investigation of me to determine my suitability for a licensure.  I give my consent for full 
and complete disclosure of all records and information concerning myself to the Board or 
authorized representatives, whether such records and information are of a public, 
private, or confidential nature, to include criminal history records. 

 
_____________________________________ 

Full Name Printed 

 

 
______________ 

Sex 

 

 
____________________________ 

Race 

 
_____________________________________ 

Social Security Number 

 

  
____________________________ 

Date of Birth 

 
 
_____________________________________ 

Street Address 

 

  
____________________________ 

Home Phone Number 

 
 
_____________________________________ 

City, State, Zip Code  

  
____________________________ 

Work Phone Number 

 
 
_____________________________________ 

Signature  

  
____________________________ 

Date 
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SECTION B – NEW APPLICANTS 
EDUCATION  

 

MORTUARY SCHOOL/COLLEGE ATTENDED    GRADUATION DATE 
 
____________________________________ 
          NATIONAL EXAM DATE 

APPRENTICESHIP 
 
DATE OF REGISTRATION: ___________________          APPRENTICE REGISTRATION # ____________ 
 
LIST THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CONCERNING YOUR APPRENTICESHIP: 

DATES OF 
SERVICE 

FROM TO  

 
NAME AND ADDRESS OF 

ESTABLISHMENT 

 
SUPERVISING EMBALMER & 
DIRECTOR 

  NAME EMBALMER 
 
 

M/D/Y M/D/Y ADDRESS DIRECTOR 
 
 

  NAME EMBALMER 
 
 

M/D/Y M/D/Y ADDRESS DIRECTOR 
 
 

  NAME EMBALMER 
 
 

M/D/Y M/D/Y ADDRESS DIRECTOR 
 
 

  NAME EMBALMER 
 
 

M/D/Y M/D/Y ADDRESS DIRECTOR 
 
 

  NAME EMBALMER 
 
 

M/D/Y M/D/Y ADDRESS DIRECTOR 
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SECTION C –APPLICANTS FOR REINSTATEMENT 
 

Embalmer License # __________          Expiration Date of Embalmer License: ___________ 
Funeral  
Director License # __________              Expiration Date of Director License: ___________ 

 
ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION CERTIFICATE 

 
EMPLOYMENT BACKGROUND 

APPLICANT MUST PROVIDE PLACES AND DATES OF EMPLOYMENT, BEGINNING WITH THE 
DATE OF THE EXPIRATION OF THE LICENSE(S), AND ENDING WITH THE DATE THAT THIS 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT IS SIGNED AND NOTARIZED.  ALL TIME MUST BE 
ACCOUNTED FOR, INCLUDING PERIODS OF UNEMPLOYMENT. 

 
DATES 

 
 

 
POSITION  

FROM TO EMPLOYER HELD 
    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

AFFIDAVIT 
I hereby swear or affirm that the answers and information contained in this section of the application are 
true, complete, and correct.  I understand that making a false or misleading statement on this form is a 
crime and may result in criminal prosecution and in my being denied a license from the Georgia State 
Board of Funeral Service.  (See O.C.G.A. § 43-1-19.) 
STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF THE APPLICANT 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 

 
______________________________________________ 

________ DAY OF ____________________, _________ 
 

PRINT NAME 

_______________________________________________ ______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 
DATE 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

237 COLISEUM DRIVE 
MACON, GA  31217 

TELEPHONE:  478.207.1460   FAX:  478.207.1468 
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral 

 
CERTIFICATE OF EMBALMING EDUCATION     

 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION: 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                Name of Mortuary School/College 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
      Street Address                                             City                          State                  Zip 
 
 
APPLICANT 
 
_________________________________________________________ 
 
DATES OF ATTENDANCE 
 
Beginning Date: 
 

____________________________________ 
Month                        Day              Year 

 
Ending Date: 
 

____________________________________ 
Month                        Day              Year 

 
Diploma  
Received Date: 
 

 
____________________________________ 

Month                        Day              Year 
 
 
I hereby certify that the information concerning the applicant for funeral director &/or embalmer license with the Georgia State Board 
of Funeral Service referenced in this Certificate of Embalming Education is true and accurate. 
 
 
_________________________________________ 
President, Dean, or Registrar 
 
_________________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this ____ day of __________________, _______ 
 
________________________________________                                   NOTARY SEAL  
Notary Public 
My Commis sion Expires ____________________                            
 
 
Please forward the completed Certificate of Embalming Education directly to the applicant in a sealed 
envelope. 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

APPLICATION FOR GEORGIA FUNERAL SERVICE LAW AND RULES EXAMINATION 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: 
Please ensure that the following examination application materials are sent to Georgia State Board of Funeral 
Service at 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217-3858.  Applications must be received by the application 
deadline.  
 
APPLICATION MATERIALS: 
Examination Application Form 
 
Certified check, money order, personal or company check for $35.00 (non-refundable).  Payable to GA State Board 
of Funeral Service. 
 
Copy of Veterans Preference Documentation – Form DD214 (if applicable) 
 
APPLICATION DEADLINES AND EXAMINATION DATES: 
 
Application deadlines and examination dates may be verified online from the Board website, 
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral, by accessing the Examination Information link. 
 
Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant with instructions for applying for a future examination.  
Applications received after the application deadline will be held for the next scheduled examination. 
 
INSTRUCTION FOR APPLICANTS: 
See Attached. 
 
DISABILITY ACCOMMODATION: 
If you have a disability and may require reasonable accommodations, you must refer to the “Request for Disability 
Guidelines.”  The Board office must receive all examination application materials, including the information 
requested in the “Guidelines,” by the application deadline. 
 
VETERANS: 
If you have served on active duty in the Armed Forces, the Reserves or the National Guard during wartime or 
during any conflict when military personnel were committed by the President, you may be eligible for Veterans’ 
Preference Points to be added to your examination scores.  Submit a copy of your DD214 form with your 
application.   
 
 

MAIL THIS FORM AND $35.00 FEE TO: 
 

Georgia State Board of Funeral Service 
237 Coliseum Drive 

Macon, GA 31217-3858 
(478) 207-1460, Fax (478) 207-1468 

www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral/ 
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Mail Application to:      
GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE  
237 Coliseum Drive      
Macon, Georgia 31217-3858  
(478) 207-1460 
www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral 

 
APPLICATION FOR GEORGIA FUNERAL SERVICE LAW AND RULES EXAMINATION 

Application Fee $35.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE) 
Make checks payable to:  The GA State Board of Funeral Service 

Instructions for examination candidates are enclosed. They are also available on the Board’s web site 
under Download Forms. Documentation showing you have met these requirements must accompany this 
application, together with the application fee, in accordance with the instructions contained herein.  
 

(____) Yes (____) No Are you currently a licensed embalmer in GA? 
If “Yes,” please provide your Embalmer License No.  

 
 

(____) Yes (____) No Are you currently registered as an Apprentice in GA? 
If “Yes,” please provide your Apprentice Registration No.  

 
 

(____) Yes (____) No Are you applying by reciprocity? Application for License by Reciprocity must 
be received prior to acceptance of this application for exam. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION:    (Please print or type) 

 
NAME: __________________________     _______________________________   _________________________ 
                   FIRST      MIDDLE                            LAST 
ADDRESS: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Number and Street 
CITY/STATE/ZIP:  ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
DAY TIME TELEPHONE : (_____) ________  -________________ SS#   -- --    
 
DATE OF BIRTH: ________________________ 
 
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT: 
I, THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY SWEAR OR AFFIRM UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT ALL STATEMENTS 
MADE AND INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY 
KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF. I CONSENT TO A THOROUGH INVESTIGATION OF MY EMPLOYMENT RECORD AND 
ANY OTHER ACTIVITIES THAT MAY BE NECESSARY TO VERIFY MY QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE CERTIFICATE 
REQUESTED. 
 

_____________________________________________________             ________/________/________ 
Signature of Applicant                              Date 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this _______day of ___________, ________      

        NOTARY SEAL 
____________________________________       
Signature of Notary Public         
My Commission Expires _______________ 

 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION 
 
RECEIPT # _____________________ 
 
AMOUNT  ______________________ 
 
APPLICANT # __________________ 
 
INITIAL  _____ DATE ___________ 

LICENSE/ REGISTRATION INFORMATION: 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
237 Coliseum Drive   Macon, GA 31217-3858 

Phone (478) 207-1460   Fax (478) 207-1468    www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral 
 

GEORGIA FUNERAL SERVICE LAWS AND RULES EXAMINATION 
Instructions for Applicants 

 
1. Georgia licensure requires passing the National Conference Examination and Georgia Laws and Rules 
Examination.  Every candidate for licensure in Georgia must pass the National Conference Examination.  In addition, 
every candidate for licensure as a Funeral Director and candidates from outside of Georgia for licensure by 
endorsement as an Embalmer/Funeral Director must pass a written examination on the Georgia laws and rules that 
govern funeral service. 

2. Application Required.  All candidates for licensure must complete and submit to the Board office an Application 
for the Georgia Funeral Service Laws and Rules Examination. 

3. Examination Fee Required.   All applications must be accompanied with $35.00 exam fee. 

4. Application Deadline.  Applications and all fees must be submitted to the Board office no later than 45 days 
prior to the date of the examination. 

5. Apprentices.  Apprentices may take the Georgia Laws and Rules Examination after registration with the Board 
office as an apprentice. 

6. Examination Contents.  The Georgia Laws and Rules Examination consist of 50 multiple choice questions that 
are based upon the laws and rules that govern the practice of funeral service in Georgia.  Questions also come from 
the Rules of the Department of Human Resources (including Vital Records, Dead Bodies and others), Motor Vehicle 
and Traffic Laws, Banking and Finance Regulations, and several other departments and agencies. 

The Examination Development and Testing Section of the Professional Licensing Boards Division of the Office of the 
Secretary of State developed the test with expert help from a panel of Georgia licensed funeral service embalmers and 
funeral directors and experts in other fields. 

7. Passing Score.  To pass the Georgia Laws and Rules Examination, a candidate must make a scaled score of 75.  
Once the examination has been scored, candidates eligible for Veterans’ Preference Points may have additional points 
added which may make up a scaled score of 75.  Candidates may request information on an Application for Veterans’ 
Preference Points from the Board office. 

8. Approval to Sit for the Examination.  Candidates for licensure must satisfy all the requirements for licensure 
before they can sit for the Georgia Laws and Rules Examination.  However, candidates may sit for both the Georgia 
Laws and Rules Examination and National Conference Examination on the same examination administration date. 

9. Breakdown of Subjects and Questions.  See Attached. 

     10. Complete Set of Laws and Regulations.  You may obtain a copy of each law and regulation from the relevant state 
  agency or you may obtain a complete set of the laws and regulations for a nominal fee from KINKOS,  
  4805-A Briarcliff Road, Atlanta, Georgia at (770) 270-1544. 
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GEORGIA FUNERAL SERVICE LAWS AND RULES EXAMINATION 

Breakdown of Subject Areas 
 

Below is an outline of the content areas that will be covered on the examination and the approximate 
number of questions that will come from each area.  The actual number of questions may vary by one or 

two questions per area on any examination, but there will always be 50 questions. 
 
 

I – Funeral Service Board Law and Rules (15 – 20 Questions) 
 

A.   Law 
1. Board Composition and Powers 
2. Funeral Director in Full and Continuous Charge 
3. Preneed 

a. Handling of Funds 
b. Reports to Insurance Commissioner 
c. Revocability 
d. Replacement of Merchandise 
e. Keeping of Records 
f. Owner of Contract 
g. Taxes on Preneed Trusts 

B. Rules 
1. Apprenticeship 

a. Registration 
b. Service 

2. Embalmer Licensure 
3. Establishment License and Regulations 
4. Crematory Licensure and Regulations 
5. Disciplinary Procedures 

 
II – Vital Records (7 – 10 Questions) 

 
A.   Filing Death Certificates 

1. Ordinary Filing 
2. Fetal Death 
3. Infant Less than One Year Old 
4. Coroner Cases 

B. Amending Death Certificates 
C. Funeral Director’s Records 

1. Keeping Records 
2. Disclosing Records 
3. Obtaining Copies of Records 

D. Permits for Disinternment/Reinternment 
F. Permits for Transporting Remains 

1. Transporting Across State Lines 
2. Transporting to Offsite Crematorium 
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III – Dead Bodies (7 – 10 Questions) 
 

A. Pronouncement of Death 
B. Coroner Cases 
C. Hospice Cases 
D. Military 
E. Unclaimed Bodies 
F. Liability for Personal Effects 
G. Permission to Embalm 
H. Trafficking in Bodies Illegal 
I. HIV Tests 
J. Communicable Diseases 

 
IV – Insurance (4 – 5 Questions) 

 
A.  Assignment of Benefits 

1. Beneficiaries May Assign Benefits 
2. Minor Beneficiaries 

B.  Who May Be Beneficiaries 
1. Insurable Interest 
2. Funeral Homes Prohibited 

C.  Legality of Insurance Contracts with Funeral Directors 
 

V – Other (7 – 10 Questions) 
 

A.  Funeral Processions 
1. Requirements 
2. Right of Way 

        B.  Next of Kin’s Right to Make Arrangements 
        C.  (Reserved for Future Development) 
        D.  Cemeteries May Have Requirements 
        E.   Private Plots 
        F.   Social Security Burial Benefits 
        G.  Veteran’s Administration Burial Benefits 

 H.  Claiming Burial Funds from Depositories 
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
237 Coliseum Drive   Macon, GA 31217-3858 

Phone (478) 207-1460   Fax (478) 207-1468    www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/funeral 
 

REQUEST FOR DISABILITY ACCOMMODATION GUIDELINES 
 
You have indicated that you may require an accommodation, under the American with Disabilities Act of 1990 as 
amended (Public Law 101-336), to take the examination and/or meet licensure requirements.  In order for the Board to 
consider your request for accommodation, you must submit acceptable documentation of your disability and proposal for 
accommodation to the Board.  The application and all requested disability accommodation material must be mailed to the 
above address and received by the Board by the application deadline 45 days prior to the date of the examination. 
 
Complete this form, provide a current statement of disability and a specific proposal for accommodation as it relates to 
your disability, and have the professional who documents your disability return this form to the Board office. 
 
Please note that: 

- Your documentation must be from a physician, mental health professional, or other professional with expertise 
directly related to your disability. 

 
- The professional must have proper credentials to properly diagnose your disability. 

 
- The professional’s statement must be on the professional’s letterhead, including the address and phone number of 

the professional. 
 

- The specific proposal for accommodation must relate directly to your disability. 
 
Please include any information regarding accommodation(s) for your disability that you may have received in the past. 
 
Note:  If you are reapplying to take the examination, have previously submitted the documentation and proposal for 
accommodation, and are requesting the same accommodations as on your previous application you will only need to 
complete and submit this form. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION:    (Please print or type) 

 
NAME:  ,      
 LAST FIRST MIDDLE 
 
ADDRESS:   
 Number and Street City, State, Zip Code 
 
DAY TIME TELEPHONE:  (_____) ________  -________________ SS#   -- --    
 
LICENSE APPLIED FOR:  

PROFESSIONAL SUBMITTING DOCUMENTATION OF DISABILITY  INFORMATION:     
 
 
NAME:  ,      
 LAST FIRST MIDDLE 
 
ADDRESS:   
 Number and Street City, State, Zip Code 
 
DAY TIME TELEPHONE:  (_____) _______  -________________ 


