
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

Attention Cosmetologists, Nail Technicians & Estheticians:   
  The Georgia General Assembly has responded to concerns raised by licensees about continuing education (CE) requirements 
for professionals licensed by the State Board of Cosmetology.  As of September 15, 2001, the law has been changed. 
    
  The previous law requiring 10 hours of CE has been repealed and the continuing education requirements for renewal will not 
be enforced until  January 1, 2003.  All previous CE requirements are suspended until that date.  Many regulations and details of 
the new law will be developed by the Cosmetology Board between now and 2003.  Following are the most important features of 
the new law: 
 
• CE Hours Reduced: The number of CE hours has been reduced by half -- to five (5) hours. 
• Waiver Changed: All licensees who have been licensed for 25 years or longer may receive a waiver of the required CE. Also, 
licensees who can prove to the Board that they have a hardship may request a waiver. 
• Health & Safety Required: Three (3) of the 5 required hours must be satisfied with a health and safety course, to be 
specially developed by the Department of Technical and Adult Education (DTAE) for your profession.  Once the curriculum is 
developed, DTAE and private providers will offer the same course to satisfy the health and safety CE requirement. 
• 2 Hours Open: The 2 remaining hours required may be satisfied by attending a trade/product show or completing other 
courses in health and safety issues, industry trends, computer skills, business management or related areas of practice, if the 
shows or courses are properly registered with the Board and provide written proof to you of attendance or course completion. 
• Rollover Provision: If you have already taken approved CE courses or will have completed approved CE courses prior to the 
end of this year (before January 1, 2002), the hours may be used to satisfy up to 5 hours of the new requirements. This is a 
one-time “rollover” provision.  For example, an esthetician who has already completed 10 hours of approved CE can use those 
course hours to provide proof of completing the CE requirement during the next renewal period (ending August 31, 2003). 
• Electronic Courses Allowed: CE courses given over the Internet, by home study or some other electronic method will be 
allowed as a means of getting CE, after the courses are properly registered with the Board. 
• No Tests: A test cannot be required to show that a CE course has been successfully completed. 
 

Please see the other side of this card for additional ways to get more information about the new law. 
 

  

 

   

 
Professional Licensing Boards Division 
237 Coliseum Drive 
Macon, Georgia 31217 
 
 

Other information regarding 
continuing education may be 

accessed by visiting the Secretary 
of State’s website at the following 

address: 
 

www.sos.state.ga.us/plb/barber_cosmet 
 
 

You may also email the 
Cosmetology Board Office at  
cosmetology@sos.state.ga.us 

 

Continuing Education Law Changed 



1. How many hours of continuing education are required under the new law? 
 

Master Cosmetologists, Estheticians and Nail Technicians will need a total 
of 5 hours of continuing education in order to renew their license. Of the 
5 required hours, 3  hours must be earned in health and safety courses. 
The curriculum for these courses will be developed by the Georgia 
Department of Technical and Adult Education.  
 

2. When does this requirement go into effect?  
 
 The new law will go into effect after January 2003, provided that the 

Board has adopted the required rules regarding continuing education.  
 
3. If the Board adopts new rules, when will I have to complete my 

continuing education?  
 
 Master Cosmetologists   March 31, 2004 
 Estheticians and Nail Technicians  August 31, 2003 
 
4. What if I already took 10 hours of continuing education?   
 
 If you have already completed your continuing education, then you will be 

allowed to “rollover” up to 5 hours for the first renewal cycle.  For 
example, a nail technician who has taken 10 hours of approved CE prior to 
January 1, 2002, may “rollover” 5 of those hours to meet the August 31, 
2003 deadline for this requirement.  

 
5. If the 10 hours of CE I took prior to January 1, 2002, did not pertain to 

health and safety, will I still be allowed to “rollover” those hours?  
 
 Yes, you will still be able to use up to 5 hours for the first renewal period.  
 
6.  If I complete the 3 hours of the health and safety courses developed by 

the Department of Technical and Adult Education, where can I get the 
required, remaining 2 hours?  

 
 You may complete this requirement by attending a trade/product show or 

completing other courses in health and safety, industry trends, computer 
skills, business management or related areas of practice, provided the 
shows or courses are registered with the Board.  You will have to provide 
written proof of your attendance or course completion.  

 
7. If I become licensed as a Master Cosmetologist in November of 2003, will 

I have to get 5 hours of continuing education in March of 2004?  



 
 For new licensees, the continuing education requirement will become 

effective during your second renewal cycle.   
 
8. Who qualifies for a waiver of the new CE requirements?  
 
 Any licensee who has held a license for 25 years or longer is eligible for a 

waiver of the continuing education requirement.   Also, licensees who can 
prove to the Board that he or she has a hardship, may request a waiver.  

 Once rules are adopted, our office will have waiver request forms 
available for licensees to complete and submit to the Board.  

 
9. If I’m eligible for a waiver for continuing education, does this mean I am 

also eligible for a renewal fee waiver?   
 
 The law does not provide for a waiver of the renewal fee.  
 
10. If I live out of state and want to keep my Georgia license current, how 

can I meet the continuing education requirement?  
 
 Continuing education courses taken via the Internet, by home study or 

some other electronic method will be acceptable for completing CE 
requirements, as long as the courses are properly registered with the 
Board. These courses will also have to follow the 3-hour curriculum 
developed by the Department of Technical and Adult Education.  

 
11. Will courses that have been previously approved by the Board meet the 

new requirements?  
 
 If CE courses are taken prior to January 1, 2002, 5 of these hours may be 

“rolled over” for the next renewal cycle.  
 
12.   What do I need to do if I’ve already taken 10 hours of CE and have a 

certificate of completion?  
 
 Please retain these certificates for your records.  Do not mail them in to 

the Board at this time. We will request copies of these documents at the 
time of your next renewal. 

 
13. Was there any change to the continuing education requirement for 

instructors?  
 
 No, instructor CE requirements remain at 15 hours, half of which must be 

obtained with courses dedicated to teaching principles.   


