Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Qualifying Closes for Special Elections in State House Districts 100, 104, 127 and Senate District 14

Atlanta – As of noon today qualifying closed for the special elections: State House District 100 (held in portions of Gwinnett County), State House District 104 (held in portions of Gwinnett County), State House District 127 (held in portions of Jefferson and Richmond Counties) and Senate District 14 (held in portions of Bartow, Cherokee and Cobb Counties). Candidates were required to submit a fee of $400 and their paperwork in order to qualify for the State House District 100, 104, 127 and Senate District 14 special elections to be held on Nov. 5, 2013.

Full details of qualified candidates may be accessed at the Secretary of State’s website at and selecting the Qualified Candidates link under the Election Dates, Deadlines, and Qualifying Information section.

Below is a list of candidates, part affiliation, city of residence and district:

State House District 100

State House District 104

State House District 127

State Senate District 14

Dewey McClain (D) - Lawrenceville

Teresa Cantrell (R) - Dacula

Diane Evans (D) - Avera

Nicole Ebbeskotte (R) - Woodstock

Chuck Efstration (R) - Auburn

Dianne Murphy (D) - Augusta

Matt Laughridge (R) - Cartersville

Tim Puckett (R) – Buford

Brian Prince (D) - Augusta

Christopher G. Nesmith (D) - Adairsville

Todd Tyson (R) – Dacula

Dwight Pullen (R) - Canton

Dean Sheridan (R) - Acworth

Bruce Thompson (R) - White

All persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to vote in the Nov. 5 special election must register to vote before the close of business on Monday, Oct. 7, 2013. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2013.

Brian Kemp has been Secretary of State since January 2010. Among the offices wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting efficient and secure elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities and professional license holders.



214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State