Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Qualifying Closes for Special Elections in State House Districts 2 and 22


Atlanta – As of noon today qualifying closed for the special elections in State House District 2 (held in portions of Catoosa, Walker and Whitfield Counties) and State House District 22(held in portions of Cherokee, Forsyth and Fulton Counties). Candidates were required to submit a fee of $400 and their paperwork in order to qualify for the State House Districts 2 and 22 special elections to be held on Jan. 7, 2014.

Full details of qualified candidates may be accessed at the Secretary of State’s website at by selecting the Qualified Candidates links under the Election Dates, Deadlines, and Qualifying Information section.

Below is a list of candidates, party affiliation, city of residence and district:

State House District 2

State House District 22

Neal Florence (R) – La Fayette

Meagan Biello (R) – Ball Ground

Steve Tarvin (R) – Chickamauga         

Nate Cochran (R) - Alpharetta

Doug Woodruff (R) – Ringgold 

Jeff Duncan (R) – Ball Ground

Sam Moore (R) – Ball Ground

All persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to vote in the Jan. 7 special election must register to vote before the close of business on Monday, Dec. 9, 2013. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2014.

Brian Kemp has been Secretary of State since January 2010. Among the offices wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting efficient and secure elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities and professional license holders.



214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State