Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Secretary of State Kemp Declares September 2013 National Voter Registration Month

Atlanta – Secretary of State Kemp joins fellow members of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) in reminding citizens that September 2013 is National Voter Registration Month. Secretary Kemp is working with government and election officials to make eligible voters aware of registration deadlines and requirements for the Nov. 5th general election, as well as promoting state resources to help with the registration process.

“There is no greater privilege than casting a vote to elect our public officials, and it should never be taken for granted,” said Kemp. “As Georgia’s chief election official, I want to ensure every Georgian has the opportunity to register to vote and allow their voice to be heard at the poll.”

Georgians have until Oct. 7th to register to vote in order to take part in the Nov. 5th general election.

Georgia citizens have access to several convenient methods of registering to vote:

-  Download, complete, and mail a voter registration application from

-  Contact your local county board of registrar’s office or election office, public library, public assistance office, recruitment office, schools and other government offices for a mail-in registration form. A list can be found at

-  Registration is offered when you renew or apply for your driver’s license at the Department of Driver Services.

-  College students can obtain Georgia voter registration forms or the necessary forms to register in any state in the U.S. from their school’s registrar’s office or from the office of the Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Brian Kemp has been Secretary of State since January 2010. Among the offices wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting efficient and secure elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities and professional license holders.



214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State