Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Kemp Announces Official List of SEC Primary Presidential Candidates

Atlanta, Georgia – The list of Georgia's March 1, 2016 SEC Primary candidates is official.  Last week the Democratic Party of Georgia and the Georgia Republican Party submitted their lists of candidates to the Secretary of State's office. 

"I am excited to announce these candidates for the upcoming SEC Primary," said Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp. "Nearly all of them have already visited Georgia this election cycle to hear from our voters, and I expect we will see much more of them in the coming weeks."

The Democratic Party of Georgia selected four candidates: Hillary Clinton, Martin O’Malley, Bernie Sanders, and Michael Steinberg. 

The Georgia Republican Party selected thirteen candidates: Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Lindsey Graham, Mike Huckabee, John Kasich, George Pataki, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum, and Donald Trump. 

On March 1, voters from seven states – Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia – will cast their ballots in the SEC Primary. This primary will be the largest collaboration of southern states in a presidential primary since the 1992 Super Tuesday. 

“Because of the SEC Primary, candidates are drawn here much earlier to learn about issues important to our state and Georgia citizens, such as our agricultural industry, ports, military installations, and thriving technology and manufacturing industries,”said Kemp.“It’s important we make sure every Georgian knows about the SEC Primary on March 1, 2016. The larger the voter turnout, the greater the impact Georgia will have in future presidential primaries.”

Under Georgia law, political parties approve which candidates will be placed on their presidential preference primary ballots. Independent candidates and certified write-in candidates still have several months before they are required to register with the office. 

Georgians must register to vote by February 1, 2016 to be eligible to vote in the March 1 contest. Georgians can register to vote 24 hours a day on the Secretary of State's website at or by downloading the "GA Votes" app on their smartphone. Voters can check their registration status, early voting location, and view a sample ballot on the app or on the office's My Voter Page at

Brian Kemp has been Secretary of State since January 2010. Among the office’s wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting secure, accessible, and fair elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities, charities, and professional license holders.


214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State