Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities


ATLANTA – Today Secretary of State Brian Kemp honored Clayton County, Cobb County, and College Park law enforcement personnel for the swift apprehension of a suspect after the theft of voting equipment from Cobb County on April 15, 2017. Kemp recognized each officer with an “Outstanding Georgia Citizen” award alongside State Representatives Debra Bazemore, Derrick Jackson, and Sandra Scott; Cobb Commission Chairman Mike Boyce; Cobb Commissioners JoAnn Birrell, Bob Ott, and Bob Weatherford; and College Park Mayor Jack Longino.

“One of my enduring goals as Secretary of State is to make it easy to vote and hard to cheat in Georgia,” stated Secretary Kemp. “Thanks to the men and women standing with me today; those we are honoring; and the thousands of elections officials and poll workers around the state, we are accomplishing this goal.”

Days before the April 18, 2017 federal and state special election, four ExpressPoll units – voting equipment used to check in voters at a polling place – were stolen from a Cobb County precinct manager’s vehicle. After learning of the theft, Cobb law enforcement officers jumped into action. Working with the College Park Police Department and Clayton County Targeted Interdiction and General Enforcement Response (TIGER) Unit, officers swiftly apprehended a suspect, Kareem Riley, on April 19.

Officers were able to determine that no voter information had been taken from the stolen voting equipment and the equipment was destroyed before being placed in a landfill.

“Their swift actions ensured that our election remained secure,” said Kemp. “We cannot forget that, on a daily basis, these individuals put themselves on the front lines to protect Georgia’s citizens from harm; ensure peace in our communities; and serve others on behalf of our Great Nation.”

“We simply do not thank our law enforcement community enough for their tireless pursuit of justice and unwavering commitment to keeping our loved ones out of harm’s way,” said Kemp.

The following Cobb County law enforcement officers and support personnel received awards: Captain James Bullock, Lieutenant Don Zell, Sergeant Raymond Lang, Sergeant Jason Mobley, Sergeant C.J. Wagner, Detective Paul Barnhill, Detective Justin Carr, Detective Michael Justice, Detective Richard McElwain, Detective Jeremy Melton, Detective Ronson Smith, Detective Daniel Waldron, Officer Sarah O’Hara, Officer Jackie Piper, Crime Scene Investigator Eric Rich, and Analyst Susan Harrah.

The following Clayton County TIGER Unit officers received awards: Sergeant Chuck Hutchens, Officer Julia Isaac, Officer John Norrod, Officer Charles Thornton, and Officer Austin Wade.

The following City of College Park officers also received awards at today’s ceremony: Investigator Harvey Dorsey, Investigator David Tealer, Investigator Dustin Tracy, and Investigator Shakeya Walker.

Brian Kemp has been Secretary of State since January 2010. Among the office’s wide-ranging responsibilities, the Secretary of State is charged with conducting secure, accessible, and fair elections, the registration of corporations, and the regulation of securities, charities, and professional license holders.  For more information about the office, go to or follow Secretary Kemp on FacebookInstagramTwitter, or YouTube.


214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State