Corporations Elections Licensing Securities

Frequently Asked Questions


 A license can be obtained by two ways:  examination or reciprocity.

 If you graduated from a cosmetology school or if you completed an apprenticeship program in Georgia, you will need to contact PSI using one of the following methods: 

  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267.
  • With a PSI registrar at (800) 733-9267, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

Contact PSI about the examinations, fees, dates, locations, exam content and grade notifications.

 A fee schedule may be found here.    All application fees are non-refundable.

 What happens if I fail one or both parts of the examination?

  • You may retake only the portion failed. Contact PSI for re-examination information using one of the following methods: 
  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267.
  • With a PSI registrar at (800) 733-9267, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

Once approved, is there a time frame or time limit to take the examination?  

  • There is no time frame or limit as to when and the number of times the exam may be taken.

Is there a wait period before I can retake the examination?

  • The application for examination lists possible examination dates and application deadlines.  You may determine the week you would like to retake the exam, based on the exam deadlines.
If I checked YES to a sanction question, does this have to be cleared before I am allowed to take the examination?

  • No, you may sit for examination.  However, the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology will have to review this matter before you can be licensed.

I am not satisfied with my examination results, or I believe I was graded unfairly, what can I do? 

  • Contact PSI for re-examination information using one of the following methods: 
  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267.
  • With a PSI registrar at (800) 733-9267, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.
  • The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology reciprocity requirements are in accordance with Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 43-10-9)  which states that reciprocity may be extended to licensees from other states and countries with similar training and licensing requirements and who will extend reciprocity to Georgia licensees.  Out of country applicant training will be reviewed by the Board and applicants may be required to pass the written and practical examination.
  • The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology may not reciprocate with California (unless licensed after May 2009), Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida (unless licensed prior to August 1986), Hawaii, Illinois (unless licensee prior to December 1984), Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska (unless licensed prior to 2004), New York (unless licensed prior to June 2001), Ohio, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island,  and the Virgin Islands.  The following license types may not reciprocate:  Alaska (nail technicians and estheticians), Pennsylvania (nail technicians and estheticians), Maryland (nail technicians and estheticians), Massachusetts (nail technicians and estheticians), Maine (nail technicians), South Carolina (estheticians), and Virginia (nail technicians).  For all other states, reciprocity may be granted or denied on an individual basis in accordance with the law. 
  • You must provide verification of licensure from each state or country in which you have ever held a license.  At least one license from an approved reciprocal state or country must be active when you submit your application for reciprocityOut of country applications require board review.  All documents must be translated in English by an approved translator; a list of approved translators may be found here  - under Download Forms.  Please note:  A copy of your license is NOT the same as a verification of licensure. 
  • All instructor reciprocity applications must go before the Board for approval.  The instructor must have been issued a master level license for the state of Georgia in his/her profession before he/she can apply to reciprocate an instructor’s license.

 

 After I receive my license, am I required to complete any further studies?

  • Yes, you must complete five (5) hours of continuing education every two (2) years in order to renew your license for master cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician or hair designer.

How do I obtain Continuing Education hours?

  • Three (3) hours of the required five (5) hours must be obtained in health and safety courses developed by the Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education.  The remaining two (2) hours may be completed by attending a trade/product show or by completing other courses in health and safety, industry trends, computer skills, business management or related areas of practice.  Any shows that you use for your continuing education must be registered with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology in order for you to receive continuing education credit.

A list of approved continuing education providers may be found here.   The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology does not offer continuing education classes, only a list of approved continuing education providers.

Who qualifies for a waiver of the continuing education requirements?

  • A licensee who has held a license for 25 years or longer is eligible for a waiver of the continuing education requirement; or A licensee who can prove to the Board that he or she has a hardship may request a waiver.  The waiver request form may be downloaded here  

How can I become an approved continuing education provider?

  • See Board Rule 130-2-12 for the registration information and requirements for all course providers.
If I live out of state and want to keep my Georgia license current, how can I meet the continuing education requirement?
  • Continuing education courses taken via the Internet, by home study or some other electronic method will be acceptable for completing continuing education requirements, as long as the courses are registered with the Georgia Board of Cosmetology.  These courses will also have to follow the 3-hour curriculum developed by the Department of Technical and Adult Education.

 Will I receive notification regarding license renewal?

  • Yes, you will receive a courtesy reminder approximately six (6) weeks prior to the expiration date of your license.  However, it is your responsibility to renew your license every two (2) years on or before the expiration date.  Be sure to keep your mailing address and email address current with the Board.

License expiration dates:

  • Master Cosmetologists – March 31 of even numbered years
  • Cosmetology Salons/Shops – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Cosmetology Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Cosmetology Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Estheticians – August 31 of odd numbered years
  • Esthetician Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Esthetician Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Nail Technicians – August 31 of odd numbered years
  • Nail Technician Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Nail Care Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years
  • Hair Designers – September 30 of even numbered years
  • Hair Design Instructors – September 30 of odd numbered years
  • Hair Design Schools – September 30 of even numbered years

How do I renew my license? 

  • Once the renewal period has been opened by the Professional Licensing Boards Division, you may renew your license via our website with a credit card.  The website is here.  Click on the License Renewal icon and follow the instructions.  You will be asked a series of questions including whether or not you have received a conviction or board sanction since the last renewal, whether or not you have completed your continuing education requirements, and whether or not you are a U.S. citizen.  Read the questions carefully so that you do not answer a question incorrectly by mistake.  Renewing your license via the website is the fastest way to renew your license.

Paper renewals are not automatically mailed to licensees.  A paper renewal form may be requested by the licensee either by calling the Board office at 478-207-2440, or requesting a form in writing from the Board office.

If I have mailed in my renewal with the appropriate fee, can I begin working?

  • NO!  It does not suffice to have a copy of your renewal application and proof of payment to the Board.  Your license must be current before you can work in Georgia.

What happens if I don’t renew my license? 

  • If a license is not renewed, the license is placed in lapsed-late renewal status for six months.  An individual who continues to practice with an expired license is in violation of the law and may be subject to a fine, a public disciplinary action, and/or criminal prosecution. A license that is not renewed within the six months will become lapsed and will require an application for reinstatement.
All requests for certification/verification of a license must be requested in writing. Such requests must include your name, license number, and the name and address of the state board in which you are requesting that the certification/verification be sent.  Please submit your written request along with the $25.00 fee to the Board office at the following address:

  • Georgia State Board of Cosmetology 237 Coliseum Drive Macon, Georgia 31217
  • Certifications/Verifications are mailed to the respective state(s) within 10 business days of the request.
  • To request verification of school or apprentice training hours, download the Request for Verification of Training Hours form found here.   Complete the form and submit it along with the $25.00 fee. 

 Do I need to hold a Master Cosmetologist’s license in order to own a salon? 

  1. No.

How do I apply for a salon license? 

  • Submit an application for cosmetology shop/salon license along with the application fee.  Application forms may be found here. .  Please note:  Incomplete applications will delay processing.  Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

If I have mailed in my application with the appropriate fee, can I open my salon/shop or begin working? 

  • NO!  It does not suffice to have a copy of your application and proof of payment to the Board.  You must be issued a license before you can begin work or open a salon/shop.
  • Anyone performing services must have an active license.  Verification of a license may be found here.  It is the responsibility of the salon/shop owner to ensure that each person performing services has a license to provide those services.
  • Salon/shop licenses and individual licenses must be posted in the salon/shop.

Does Georgia license mobile salons/shops? 

  • No.

Can I open a salon/shop in my home? 

  • Yes, you may open a salon/shop in your home; however, you must meet the requirements of all state laws and board rules, including Board Rule 130-4-.02.
  • A pre-license inspection is required for home salons.

Is a shop or salon license the same as a business license?

  • No.  You must obtain a business license in the county or city in which you are opening your establishment.
  • Changes in name, location, address, or ownership of a salon/shop requires a new application for licensure.

Does Georgia have an apprentice license?

  • Yes.  There are four types of apprentice licenses:
  • Cosmetology apprentice
  • Esthetician apprentice
  •  Nail Technician apprentice
  • Hair Design apprentice
How do I apply for an apprentice license?

  • To apply for an apprentice license, download the Cosmetology Apprentice Application here.  Choose the appropriate apprentice license on the application, complete the application and submit it along with the application fee.
  • Please note:  Incomplete applications will delay processing.  Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.
How long must I apprentice before I can take the exam?

  • Cosmetology Apprentice – minimum of 18 months and 3000 hours.
  • Esthetician Apprentice – minimum of 18 months and 2000 hours.
  • Nail Technician Apprentice – minimum of 8 months and 1050 hours.
  • Hair Design Apprentice – minimum of 14 months and 2650 hours.
How do I record my apprentice training hours and where do I send my reports?

  • Download the appropriate training form here , record your hours daily, and maintain the record at the salon/shop where you are working for inspectors to view upon request.  Be sure to keep a copy of your training record for your own records.
  • When you have completed your apprenticeship, mail the completed training form to:

    Georgia State Board of Cosmetology
    237 Coliseum Drive
    Macon, Georgia 31217

I have an apprentice license and I want to change Masters or the salon/shop.  What do I need to do?

  • Download a new apprentice application and complete and follow the instructions for change of master or salon.  Submit the completed application along with the application fee.  The form may be found here. 
  • Any time you change Master or salon/shop or complete your program, submit your hours to the Board office.
  • Please note:  Incomplete applications will delay processing.  Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

How many times can I renew my apprentice license? 

  • Only one time.

I have completed my apprentice hours, what do I need to do now?

  • Send all original transcripts of hours to the Board office along with a letter requesting a “Letter of Eligibility” to sit for the exams.  There is no charge for first request for the Letter of Eligibility; however, if you have to request second time, there is a $25.00 fee.
  • Once you receive your Letter of Eligibility, you must contact PSI to obtain an exam application.  You may contact PSI:
    • Via the Internet 24 hours a day at www.psiexams.com.
    • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 733-9267.
    • With a PSI registrar at (800) 733-9267, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.
  •  After you pass both parts of the examination, you may apply online by going here. If you cannot apply online, download a paper application for licensure found here.   Submit the application along with the application fee.
  • Please note:  Incomplete applications will delay processing.  Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.
How long must I have a license before I can apprentice (co-sign) someone else?

  • You must hold a Master Cosmetology license for at least 36 months before you can apprentice someone else.
How many apprentices can be in one salon/shop?

  • You may have one apprentice for each master cosmetologist in the salon/shop.

Can I train more than one apprentice at a time?

  • No.  A master may apprentice only one person at a time.

Contact

214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
404.656.2881
E-Mail
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State