Corporations Elections Licensing Securities

Frequently Asked Questions


Yes.  You cannot use your registration to practice in Georgia.  You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.

It is a violation of state law to practice dietetics under a registered dietitian or licensed dietitian and may subject all parties involved to disciplinary action by the Board.  You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.

Applications are typically reviewed in less than fifteen business days.  Applications are reviewed on a first in/first out basis.  To ensure the most efficient processing time, please submit a complete application using the instructions contained in the application packet. 

Yes, you can become licensed by Endorsement if the state where you are currently licensed has licensure requirements that are substantially equal to or more stringent than Georgia requirements.  You cannot use your out of state license to practice in Georgia.  You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians in order to practice dietetics in Georgia.


Verifications of Licensure from other state licensure Boards may be e-mailed to the Georgia Board of Examiners of Dietitians: verifications@sos.ga.gov

a) You must be at least 18 years of age; and

b) You must hold a “baccalaureate or higher degree from a college or university accredited by any regionally accredited Association of Schools and Colleges or any regional accreditation agency with a major course of study in dietetics, human nutrition, food and nutrition, nutrition education, or food systems management; and

c) You must complete a supervised practice experience component in dietetic practice of not less than 900 hours as accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Dietetic Education (CADE); and

d) You must have successfully completed the CDR examination (www.cdrnet.org).


 

a)  If you are currently registered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR), you must submit:

  • a completed application

  • the appropriate fee of $75.00

  • A copy of your current registration card

b)  If you are currently licensed in another state, you must submit:

  • a completed application

  • the appropriate fee of $75.00

  • verification of your current license (contact the state where you currently hold   your dietitian’s license)

c)  If you have not taken the CDR examination, you must submit:

  • a completed application

  • the appropriate fee of $75.00

  • Official transcript showing date and degree awarded submitted directly from the college or university

  • A verification statement from the official program representative verifying the completion of a supervised practice experience component.
     

 

Yes, if you meet the following requirements:

  • You have not taken the registration examination but are eligible to take the exam;

  • You have completed the application for licensure; and

  • You will be supervised by a Georgia licensed dietitian.

Upon passing the examination, please submit documentation of your passing score.  Documentation that you have passed the examination can be a letter from the Commission on Dietetic Registration or the walk-out “candidate score report” statement from the testing center.

 

All address changes must be reported to the Board within 30 days after the change (Board Rule 157-2-.05).  When making address changes please remember to update your email address.  Changes may be submitted by clicking here.

Please submit your request by email to plb-healthcare3@sos.ga.gov; by fax to 877-371-5712 or by mail to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217.  Please be sure to include your name, license number, social security number, your new name, and a copy of the legal documentation granting the name change.

  • Lost or stolen pocket cards should be reported to the Board immediately. 
  • You may print a copy of your pocket card by clicking here.
  • If you would like to order a pocket card you may submit your written request to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217.  Please include a check or money order payable to the Professional Licensing Boards in the amount of $25.00.  Be sure to include your license number with your request.

 

Yes. The Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians requires all Licensed Dietitians to complete 30 total clock hours of continuing education prior to the expiration and renewal of your license.  Licenses expire on March 31 of even years.  Please refer to Rule 156-5-.01(5)  for further information.

The timeframe and number of hours required for licensure in Georgia will remain the same and Licensed Dietitians can continue to use certain Continuing Professional Education activities for both licensure and CDR recertification.  The major change that will occur with the Professional Development Portfolio is that CDR will no longer automatically send out yearly records of continuing education to all Registered Dietitians.

Individual licensed dietitians can request a record of continuing education from CDR by completing a Verification Worksheet and submitting it to CDR approximately 8 – 10 weeks before the report is needed.  CDR will determine if the learning activity merits CPE units, print out a record of continuing education, and send it to the individual requesting the information.  Licensed dietitians can then use that record for verification of continuing education requirements if the Board audits them.  Click here   to view a comparison chart of acceptable CPE activities.

There is a form on the Board's website, "Application/Form Downloads" link you may use, or you can simply send a written request to the Board. There is a fee of $25 to process each requested verification. Please provide the name and full mailing address of the intended recipient of the verification.


Contact

214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
404.656.2881
E-Mail
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State