Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Georgia Board of Geologists

The Georgia General Assembly created the Georgia State Board of Registration for Professional Geologists in 1975 for the purpose of protecting the public health, life, property, and welfare by regulating those who engage in the public practice of geology. The Board has the authority to adopt rules, set standards for licensure, adopt mandatory standards of professional conduct, and investigate and discipline unauthorized, negligent or incompetent practice.

The Board licenses registered geologists. Applicants for licensure as a registered geologist must obtain a minimum of level of education and experience, and must pass a national examination.

The Board is comprised of seven members. Six members are appointed by the Governor and serve for terms of five years. Five of the appointed members are registered geologists, and one member is appointed from the public at large. The commissioner of natural resources, or his or her designated agent, serves as a permanent ex officio member.

Board meetings are open to the public and are generally held at the Office of Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division office located at 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia. Meeting dates, time and location are posted on this website. Persons wishing to submit complaints or other matters for Board consideration should submit the matter in writing to the office.


214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State