Corporations Elections Licensing Securities
Frequently Asked Questions
All correspondence and applications should be mailed to:
Georgia State Board of Landscape Architects
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
The office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EST.
Applicants for the L.A.R.E. examination must meet the education and work experience requirements as described in O.C.G.A. 43-23-7 and Chapter 310-2 of the Rules of the Board in order to qualify to take the examination. Please refer to the Law and Rules at this website for details concerning the education and work experience requirements.
Applications are available at this website or by calling the Board office at 478/207-2440.
The multiple-choice sections of the L.A.R.E. (Sections A, B and D) are given twice a year, in March and in September. The graphic sections of the L.A.R.E. (Sections C and E) are given twice a year in June and in December. After you have been approved to take the examination as a Georgia candidate, you will need to contact CLARB at www.clarb.org to schedule any section of the LARE. Please refer to Chapter 310-2(1) (a) of the Rules of the Board on prior approval to taking any portion of the exam.
In addition to the national exam, candidates are required to pass a Georgia state exam before being eligible for registration. After you have been approved to take the examination as a Georgia candidate, you will receive instructions about scheduling this examination at a testing location and date of your choice.
Applications are processed in the order they are received. Upon approval of your completed application, you will be made eligible to take the next exam that meets CLARB’s deadlines.
Applicants for a Georgia license by reciprocity must meet the following requirements as described in Chapter 310-6 of the Rules of the Board:
Applications are available at this website; or you may call the Board Office at 478/207-2440.
The official seal must bear the registrant’s name, certificate number, and the legend “Registered Landscape Architect”. It may be an embossing seal, rubber stamp, self inking stamp, or electronic version. An original signature is required on all sealed documents. (Refer to Rule 310-7-.01 for additional information) See example below:
Your license will expire on December 31 of each even-numbered year. The electronic renewal application can be completed online, beginning approximately 45 days prior to expiration date. For access to the online renewal application, go to the Board’s website by clicking here.
You may also directly update changes to your address information online at the Board’s website. Please note that failure to receive a reminder notification does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for timely renewal.
Yes, you must complete 12 hours of acceptable continuing education during the two-year period immediately preceding each biennial renewal date as a condition for registration renewal as described in Chapter 310-9 of the Rules of the Board.
You may apply for reinstatement of your expired license by completing the reinstatement application available at this website or from the Board office and submitting it to the Board along with the appropriate fee and evidence of completion of continuing education as specified in Chapter 310-4-.04 of the Rules of the Board.