Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities

Georgia Board of Librarians

The Georgia General Assembly created the Georgia State Board for the Certification of Librarians in 1937 for the purpose of ensuring that librarians who work for any public library serving a population of 5,000 or more and every library operated by the state or its authority meet certain minimum education qualifications. The Board has the authority to adopt rules which establish standards for licensure. The act also provides for public funds to be withheld from any library which fails to comply with the registration requirements of this act.

The Board is comprised of six members, five of whom are appointed by the Governor, and serve for terms of five years. Of the appointed members, three are certified librarians, one is a trustee of a public library, and one is a member from the public at large. The sixth member is the director of public library services of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Board meetings are open to the public and are generally held at the Office of Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division office located at 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia. Meeting dates, time and location are posted on this website. Persons wishing to submit complaints or other matters for Board consideration should submit the matter in writing to the office.

The Board accepts continuing education courses sponsored by Georgia Public Library Service (GPLS).  The following is the link to their website for continuing education resources:


214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State