Corporations Elections Licensing Securities
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, you must hold an active license issued by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy in order to practice as a massage therapist in Georgia.
No, you must hold an active license issued by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy in order to practice as a massage therapist in Georgia.
Yes, you may be come licensed in Georgia if you meet all of the requirements for licensure by Endorsement which include having a massage therapy license in good standing from another jurisdiction, state, or territory of the United States or foreign country that has requirements equal to or greater than the requirements within the State of Georgia.
Please refer to the Laws, Policies, & Rules drop down menu for links to the board rules and Georgia Law. Forms and applications can be found via the "Application/Form Downloads" link on the right hand side, above the quick links.
You must meet the requirements for licensure as a massage therapist in Georgia to practice the profession in this state.
You may check on the status of your application or verify your license once issued via the Application Status and Licensure Search links under the Online Services section of the Board website (http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/33).
Once the license has been issued, you may print a copy of the license via the Print License link of the home page or by visiting http://sos.ga.gov//?section=licensing. You will be required to enter a user ID and password to print the license.
Address changes will be accepted via USPS Mail Service to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858, fax to 866-888-1308 or via the Online Services tab of the home page of the Board website at http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/33.
You may also update your e-mail address online or submit in writing to the Board or by fax. Please be sure that your license number, physical address and signature is included on the request.
O.C.G.A. § 43-24A-14(c) requires licensees notify the Board of any address change within thirty (30) days.
Submit a copy of a marriage license, divorce decree or court order via USPS mail service to 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217 or by fax to 866-888-1308. A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable. You can print a copy of your license form the link on the website: http://sos.ga.gov//?section=licensing. Please do not send original documents as they cannot be returned.
If you would like a hard copy
of the license pocket card, complete and submit a Duplicate License - License Verification Order Form, which can be located under the Application/Form
Downloads section of the website, by USPS
mail service only along with your license number and the appropriate fee of $25.
You should receive your new pocket card generally within fifteen (15) business
If you would like a hard copy of the license
pocket card, complete and submit a Duplicate License - License Verification
Order Form, which can be located under the Application/Form
Downloads section of the website, by USPS mail service only along with your
license number and the appropriate fee of $25. You should receive your new
pocket card generally within fifteen (15) business days.
You can print a copy of your license form the link on the website: http://sos.ga.gov//?section=licensing. You will be required to enter a user ID and password to print the
Yes. Twenty-four (24) Contact Hours of Continuing Education (CE) acceptable to the Board are required to be obtained by the expiration date of October 31st of every even numbered year.
Of the twenty-four (24) hours, twelve (12) must be obtained from direct, hands on supervised instruction. The remaining twelve (12) may include direct hands on supervised instruction or other massage therapy related hours.
NOTE: A massage therapist who received their initial Georgia Massage Therapy License within one year of the expiration date shall only be required to complete twelve (12) Contact Hours of Continuing Education acceptable to the Board.
Of the twelve (12) hours, six (6) must be obtained from direct, hands on supervised instruction. The remaining six (6) may include direct hands on supervised instruction or other massage therapy related hours.
An applicant who is licensed during the second year of the biennium renewal period shall only be required to provide 12 hours of continuing education (CE) hours through an approved provider for that renewal period. Of the twelve (12) hours, six (6) of the total 12 CE Hours must include direct hands-on supervised instruction. The remaining six (6) CE Hours may include direct hands on supervised instruction or other massage therapy related CE hours.
An applicant having graduated from a Board recognized approved massage therapy education program within one year of their application date shall be exempt from continuing education requirements for their initial biennium renewal period only.
*Board Rule 345-4-.02 CE Hours – Effective 03-29-2009NOTE: "Hands on" means direct hands on placement or movement on the physical body.
Fees are subject to change at the Boards discretion. Please refer to the website http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/33, click on the link entitled "Fee Schedule" on the home page to view the current fees.
Application processing may take up to twenty-five (25) business days from the receipt of the application in the Board Office. Should there be any information associated with the application which causes it to fall outside of the administrative guidelines established by the Board (i.e. criminal history, disciplinary history, incomplete application, etc.), processing times may be extended and/or Board review may be required.
Applicants may check the status of their application via the "Online Services" section on the Board website or by calling the Board office @ (478) 207-2440 for information.
Yes, “the licensee shall display the license certificate or a photocopy thereof in an appropriate and public manner at each location at which he or she practices” - O.C.G.A. § 43-24A-14(a).
An "Official School Transcript" is an ORIGINAL, CERTIFIED OR NOTARIZED school transcript submitted from your massage therapy educational program registrar or other school official to the Board. The transcript must be on school or program letterhead, contain the name and contact information of the school or program official certifying the document, the curriculum (courses) taken and clock hours obtained, the start and completion or graduation dates and the applicant's name and date of birth. The applicant may include the original transcript with their application provided it is in the original sealed envelope from the school or you must request the school or program to mail the document directly to: Georgia Board of Massage Therapy, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217-3858.
In addition, the transcript must reflect ALL of the hours earned and credited, the associated subject areas or curriculum courses, and if applicable identify the hours transferred in from another program or school. Multiple, incomplete transcripts will not be accepted.
Applicants educated outside of the United States must provide an ORIGINAL credential evaluation report, in English, completed by International Consultants of Delaware, Inc. (ICD). The evaluation must include a certified copy of the school transcript which has been translated into English. For instructions on the credentialing process and fees you may contact ICD. Their contact information is as follows: International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., P.O. Box 8629, Philadelphia, PA 19101-8629, Contact Number: (215) 222-8454 x 603; Web Address: www.icdeval.com.
NO COPIES WILL BE ACCEPTED; ORIGINALS ONLY
An applicant residing within the state of Georgia must have graduated from a board recognized massage therapy educational program in order to be licensed in this state. Refer to the Board Rules under Chapter 345-8 on the website for the
curriculum and faculty requirements
and documentation required for a massage therapy education program to be considered for recognition by the
Georgia Board of Massage
Therapy. Links to Board rules may be found at www.sos.ga.gov/plb/massage.
Programs located outside of the state of Georgia must have requirements substantially equal to or greater than those required of a Georgia based program pursuant to Board Rule under Chapter 345-8. It is the responsibility of the applicant to request and cause the submission of their massage therapy program's certification, regulatory Board or other entity recognition and/or any other criteria requested by the Georgia Board. Not all massage therapy educational programs will be acceptable to the Georgia Board.
In addition, you must complete a program with one transcript stating all the hours earned and in what subject areas or curriculum, even hours transferred in from another program or school. Multiple, incomplete transcripts will not be accepted.
No, there is no requirement at this time to offer a Georgia Law Exam as a requirement for licensure in this state. Licensees are required, and expected, to be familiar with the laws and rules regulating the practice on massage therapy in the state of Georgia.
Yes. The Board will accept a passing score on any one of the following exams as having met one of the requirements for licensure to practice massage therapy in this state:
Yes, but ONLY for NON-RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA. See the Board Rule 345-3-.01 and Georgia law( O.C.G.A. § 43-24A) for details regarding eligibility and requirements.
Criminal background checks are required by the law (O.C.G.A. § 43-24A-8, 13) for each application submitted. Refer to "Application/Form Download" section of the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy website at http://sos.ga.gov/cgi-bin/plbforms.asp?board=50 to obtain the Fingerprint COGENT-GAPS Instructions. Applicants must register with Cogent Systems and follow the guidelines found on their website at www.ga.cogentid.com.
*DISCLAIMER: The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy is not responsible for unacceptable or rejected fingerprints submitted; it is the vendor’s responsibility to provide acceptable fingerprints.
For those applicants NOT located/living in the state of GA, the fingerprints and processing must be completed at a Georgia COGENTS/GAPS location.
DO NOT MAIL FINGERPRINT CARDS TO THE BOARD OFFICES - THE BOARD DOES NOT PROCESS FINGERPRINT CARDS. THEY WILL NOT BE RETURNED TO YOU AND THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE DELAYED.
Georgia Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217-3858
(478) 207-2440 (Customer Service) * (866) 888-1308 (Fax)
In the state of Georgia, applicants may contact the Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission in order to obtain a copy of your official student record and/or transcript. The contact information for that entity is: 2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220, Tucker, Georgia 30084-5305; Phone number (770) 414-3300.
Applicants not educated within the state of Georgia are encouraged to contact the massage therapy licensing board in the state where your massage therapy education was received in order to identify the entity which has been the designated authority to maintain student records for private or public post secondary schools that have discontinued operations in that state.
O.C.G.A. § 50-13-9.1 Allows for an applicant and/or entity to petition the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy to vary (modify) or waive (not apply) all or part of a rule requirement in their particular situation. In order for a rule or portion thereof to be varied or waived, the petitioner must be able to demonstrate strict application of rule can lead to unreasonable, uneconomical, and unintended results in the petitioner’s particular instance. The statute also allows for the the Board to grant a variance or waiver when the petitioner is able to demonstrates that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based can be or has been achieved by other specific means which are agreeable to the person seeking the variance or waiver and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to such person.
If an applicant and/or entity desires to make such a petition, you must download and complete a Petition for Rule Variance or Waiver form and submit it along with any supporting documentation to the Board for consideration. You may download the instructions and form by visiting the Application/Form Downloads section on the home page of the Board website.
Please be aware that a failure to properly complete the form and submit the documentation supporting your statements within the petition may result in the denial of the request based on insufficient evidence to substantiate that the application of the rule in your circumstance will cause a hardship.
The petition will be posted for a minimum of fifteen (15 days) on the GeorgiaNet Public Registry and petitioners may conduct a search for their petition on http://services.georgia.gov/sos/sosrw/searchHome.do . Please note that any member of the public, including interested parties, shall have the opportunity to submit written comments in support of or against proposed variances or waivers prior to the Board decision. The Board has up to sixty (60) days from receipt of the petition to render a decision to either grant or deny the petition. The petitioner will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision and the written statement will include relevant facts and the reasons for the Board’s action.