Corporations Elections Licensing Securities
Frequently Asked Questions
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217-3858
Web Address: sos.ga.gov/plb/ot
Yes, if you meet the licensure requirements. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy in order to practice in Georgia
You must submit a completed application with the required nonrefundable application fee and meet the current licensure requirements. Please visit the Board’s website at www.sos.ga.gov/plb/ot and review the rules and Georgia law regulating the profession, and, the Fee Schedule for all fee requirements.
No. You cannot use your out of state license to practice in Georgia. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy in order to practice in Georgia.
To be able to use physical agent modalities, or any occupational therapy techniques involving physical agent modalities, you must first have an additional board approved certification. Practicing and/or instruction of modalities is prohibited on a client even under supervision of a PAMS certified therapist until a “Certification in all Modalities” has been awarded. NO licensed OT/OTA may use modalities until “Certification in all Modalities” is awarded to a licensed individual by the Board.
You must currently hold a Georgia OT or OTA license (not a limited permit) and have completed the Physical Agent Modalities Board Application (which can be downloaded from the website) showing the following:
Once your application is complete, and all the supporting documents have been received, your application file will be reviewed within twenty-five (25) business days. If you meet the requirements and there are no grounds to delay processing, the license will be issued. DO NOT accept employment in Georgia prior to the issuance of a license to practice in the state is issued.
The Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy may issue a limited permit license to a person who has completed the educational and experience requirements and are waiting to sit for the NBCOT examination. Please refer to Board rule 671-3-6 Limited Permit, and, the Georgia Occupational Therapy Licensing Act § 43-28-12 (B). Both are available on the Board’s website, www.sos.ga.gov/plb/ot.
Address changes can be completed on the Board’s website www.sos.ga.gov/plb/ot, or you may also mail or fax in your request to the Board office. You must include your Occupational Therapy license number and a telephone number in case there are any questions. The Occupational Therapy Board’s fax number is 866-888-7127.
In order for the Board to change a name in the system you must submit to the Board a copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order. A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable.
If you would like a new pocket card printed, please submit your written
request and the $25.00 required fee to
the Board. The mailing address is 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858.
Once your payment has been processed, you should receive a new license pocket
card within fifteen (15) business days.You may also print a copy of your license from the website www.sos.ga.gov/plb
You may print a copy of your license from the website www.sos.ga.gov/plb. Or, submit a written request to the Board asking that a duplicate card be mailed to you. Include your name, address, license number and the appropriate $25.00 fee.
The Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy requires each licensed OT and OTA to complete continuing education. A minimum 24 contact clock hours of continuing education is required for every renewal. Fourteen of the hours must relate to direct “hands on” patient care. Up to 12 hours may be obtained using on-line or home-study courses. The remaining hours can be in any contact area related to occupational therapy practice including but not limited to supervision, education, documentation, quality assurance, and administration. The Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy requires each licensed OT and OTA to complete up to 2 hours in Ethics, every two years or per each renewal period. Please refer to Rule 671-3-.08- Renewal of License/Penalties/Continuing Education Requirements for additional information.
All OT and OTA licenses expire on March 31st of all even numbered years. You are responsible for renewing your license during the renewal period prior to the expiration date. You will be notified by e-mail (with a valid e-mail address on file) when the renewal goes 'live".
Yes, an OTA can work while the OT is not physically present in the building. Please refer to Rules 671-2-.02 – Supervision Defined and 671-2-.03- Direct Supervision Defined for additional information.
This is determined by the facilities policy and the reimbursing agent’s policy. Please review both policies for further information.
The Board no longer pre-approves any continuing education courses or continuing education providers. If you are interested in offering a CE course, please contact the Georgia Occupational Therapy Association (GOTA) at 1-770-435-5910 or view their website www.gaota.com .
Please review the American Occupational Therapy Association’s website (www.aota.org) for their guidelines and procedures. In addition, review your school’s policy and procedures on providing occupational therapy services to students within the school systems.