Corporations Elections Licensing Securities
Frequently Asked Questions
Submit a completed application, non-refundable application fee, photo taken within one year, official transcripts from the College of Optometry (showing completion of degree and graduation date) mailed separately by school and certified scores of Parts I, II, III, and the TMOD of the National Boards Examination. Applicants must also take and pass the Georgia Optometry Laws & Rules Exam providing scores to the Georgia Board of Optometry.
According to Rule 430-2-.01 candidates for licensure in Georgia will be required to pass Parts 1, 2 and 3 if applicable of the National Board examinations; and Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease (TMOD) examination, and the Georgia State Jurisprudence examination administered by Professional Services, Inc., (PSI) or the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.
Once all official results from the examination section, Board office review and submitted documentation are received please allow up to 25 days to receive a license number. Once your license has been issued, it will be available on the website under "license verification."
You may print your license from our website or order a hard copy of it for a fee of $25.
If a licensee has reached their sixty-fifth (65th) birthday, demonstrates an inability to practice Optometry or can provide certification of disability to practice Optometry, has a current active license in good standing and isn’t under administrative disciplinary action, court action or probation he/she may request that their license be placed on Inactive status under the provisions set forth in Board Rule 430-2-.05.
Applicant must complete the reactivation application with the required $175 non-refundable reactivation fee (an adminstrative fee of $50 and $125 applicable renewal fee for the period which the license is reactivated must be paid). The doctor of Optometry must submit evidence of attendance at 10 hours of Board-approved continuing education for each year or portion of year in which his/her licensee has been inactive. These hours must be completed during a six-month period preceeding reactivation of the license.
All address changes must be reported to the Board within 10 days after the move. The most efficient way to change an address is through our website. You may also submit address changes in writing. The license number, name as it appears on the license, the old address and the new address is required. Address changes may be submitted by mail or fax (866)888-1308.
To request a name change, submit the legal document causing the name change (divorce decree, marriage certificate) and a written request providing the name as you wish it to appear on the license, by fax to 866-888-7127, or via e-mail to ExamBoards-Healthcare@sos.state.ga.us.
No. However, an applicant may become licensed by Endorsement if her/she holds a license that was obtained by examination from another state or territory of the United States.
The Georgia State Board of Optometry has adopted Rule 430-2-.04. ARBO’s OE Tracker Program is designed to archive into a centralized data base CE attendance data from any format. Continuing Education shall be verified on all licensees through the Association of Regulatory Board of Optometry OE Tracker Program.
All licensees must register with the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO). www.arbo.org. After the licensee registers at the website he/she must login and it will give them his/her card number.
ONLY those randomly selected for Continuing Education audit must submit proof of their continuing education credits along with their renewal application. You will receive specific instructions if you are chosen for an audit.
There is a form on the Board's website, "Application/Form Downloads" link you may use, or you can simply send a written request to the Board. There is a fee of $25 to process each requested verification. Please provide the name and full mailing address of the intended recipient of the verification.