Corporations Elections Licensing Securities

Frequently Asked Questions


a) Submit completed application along with appropriate non-refundable fee. Applications may be found on our website. Applicants must be graduates of a Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) accredited school;

b) Applicants must provide an official transcript indicating the date of graduation from the institution granting the entry level physical therapy or physical therapy assistant degree;

c) Pass the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE); and 

d) Pass the Georgia Jurisprudence (Georgia Law) exam.

*NOTE:  If an applicant fails the examination twice, the applicant must submit and show proof of completion of a remediation plan in order to be made eligible to test for a third (3rd) time.  If said applicant fails the examination a third time, a new remediation plan must be submitted for Board review.  

The remediation plan must NOT be initiated until Board Approval has been granted. Once the applicant has been granted approval to begin the remediation plan, the applicant may be made eligible to test for a fourth (4th) time after submitting proof of satisfactory completion of the Board approved remediation plan.

NO APPLICANT WILL BE APPROVED TO TAKE THE EXAMINATION A FIFTH (5TH) TIME IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA WITHOUT EXTENSIVE FURTHER STUDY, WHICH MAY INCLUDE RETURNING TO SCHOOL TO COMPLETE ANOTHER PHYSICAL THERAPY EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM APPROVED BY CAPTE.

  • Applicants must take and pass the computer-based national and GA Jurisprudence Examinations to obtain licensure in the state of Georgia.  A minimum score of 600 is required for both the NPTE and jurisprudence exams.
  • Applicants are encouraged to register for the examinations and apply for licensure simultaneously. A failure to do so will create delays in the application and eligibility process.
  • The application for licensure is sent to the Board office and registration for the national and Georgia Law examinations is done through the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FBSPT).  
  • Once the candidate's application has been received and processed, the Board office will contact the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to make candidates for licensure eligible for the examination(s). 
  • A candidate will not be allowed to test until the Board office contacts FSBPT to make the candidate eligible. Please note that eligibility cannot be determined without having an application on file
  • A candidate must take the Georgia Law Exam within 180 days of our receipt of his or her application or registration with FSBPT.
  • A candidate has to sit for the national examination within 6 months of registering for the exam with FSBPT.
  • Exam results are usually forwarded to candidates within 5-10 days of our receipt of the scores from FSBPT.
  • To register for the exams, contact FSBPT at:

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
509 Wythe Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
phone: 703-299-3100
fax: 703-299-3110
http://www.fsbpt.org/

  • NPTE provides a candidate handbook which answers questions about the exam, including some sample questions. The candidate handbook may be found at:

http://www.fsbpt.org/ForCandidatesAndLicensees/NPTE/CandidateHandbook/index.asp

  • In addition to knowing the retake policy in the state of Georgia, it is important for all candidates to review the NPTE Candidate Handbook and know the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy Retake Policy limits for the NPTE.
  • Board staff cannot provide specific information about the contents of the national exam or the Georgia Law exam; however, in order to prepare for the Georgia Law exam please review the Georgia General Provisions, the Physical Therapy Practice Act, Board Rules and Board Policies.  In general, candidates should review Georgia Rules 490-1 through 490-11, Georgia Laws 43-33, and Georgia General Provisions 43-1-19 through 43-1-27. It is also recommended that candidates review any recent proposed Law and Rule changes.  All of the aforementioned review materials may be accessed on the Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy website.

Please be aware that the Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy does not currently have a reciprocal relationship with any other state.  However, an individual who holds a current license in another state is eligible for licensure in Georgia if:

  • the state where the individual is currently licensed as PT/PTA has licensure requirements that are substantially equal to or greater than Georgia requirements; and,
  • the individual's application for licensure and supporting documents do not reveal information that would otherwise deem them ineligible for licensure in the state of Georgia.  

Unless otherwise stated in O.C.G.A. § 43-33-11, an individual must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy in order to practice as a PT/PTA in this state.  


Submit a completed application, along with the appropriate fee and place a check in the box next to the "endorsement" option if you have a license in another state and have practiced for the past two years or more. If you have a license in another state but have not practiced for the past two years, you would select the "examination" option. Applications may be found on our website.

Applicants must be graduates of a Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) accredited school; 

Applicants must provide an official transcript indicating the date of graduation from the institution granting the entry level physical therapy or physical therapy assistant degree;

Applicants must submit verification of licensure from all states in which they have ever been issued a license, regardless of current status;  

Applicants must submit passing scores from the NPTE;

Regardless of the state requirements in the state you are transferring from, applicants will be required to obtain the minimum number of continuing competence hours required by Georgia (30 per biennium). (See Rule 490-4 and Board Policy). 

Verification of having met the continuing education requirements must be done via www.fsbpt.org/aPTitude upon receiving your assigned Georgia applicant number. You will enter "GA" followed by the applicant number (i.e. GA1234567) into the license number field for Georgia. Once a Georgia license number has been issued, this field will need to be updated to reflect the license number;  and,

Applicants must submit passing scores from the Georgia law exam.

An applicant who has taken the NPTE four or more times before receiving a passing score on the exam will be required to submit further evidence of competency or stipulations as determined by the Board.   

Applicants must submit a completed application along with the appropriate non-refundable fees. Applications may be found on our website.

Foreign trained applicants must take and pass the NPTE and the Georgia Law exam and ensure those scores are submitted to the Board. Upon successful completion of the NPTE and submission of transcripts and fees, a period of practice under a traineeship permit is required prior to the issuance of a Georgia license.

Applicants must submit an official evaluation and transcript from a credential evaluation organization approved by the Georgia Board of Physical Therapy. Currently, the Board recognizes the following credentialing evaluation agencies:

Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy (FCCPT)
511 Wythe Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-1917
Phone: (703) 684-8406
Fax: (703) 684-8715
www.fccpt.org

International Education Research Foundation, Inc. (IERF)
P.O. Box 3665
Culver City, CA 90231
Phone: (310) 258-9451
Fax: (310) 342-7086
www.ierf.org

International Credentialing Associates, Inc. (ICA)
7245 Bryan Dairy Road
Bryan Dairy Business Park
Largo, FL 33777
Phone: (727) 549-8555
Fax: (727) 549-8554
www.icaworld.com


Applicants must submit official transcript from college or university.

Applicants must submit an Application for Reinstatement along with the appropriate non-refundable fees. Applications may be found on our website. 

Applicants must submit proof of Continuing Competency including course outlines/objectives pursuant to Rule Chapter 490-4 and Board Policy.

Applicants must submit an employment verification and/or Curriculum Vitae or Resume which details their work history for at least the past two years.

If an applicant has not been actively practicing physical therapy for the past two or more years, he/she will be required to complete the required hours of supervised practice under a training permit as set forth under Board Rule 490-2-.04 and the applicable Board Policy.

Applicants must submit verification of licensure from all states in which the applicant has ever been licensed, regardless of current status. 

Applications will remain active for one (1) year. After that time, an applicant must reapply if he/she has not completed all of the application requirements.    

Application processing may take up to twenty-five (25) business days from the receipt of complete application in the Board Office. Should there be any information associated with the application which causes it to fall outside of the administrative guidelines established by the Board (i.e. criminal history, disciplinary history, incomplete application, etc.), processing times may be extended and/or Board review may be required. 

Applicants may check the status of their application via the "Online Services" section on the Board website or by calling the Board office @ (478) 207-2440 for information..

Once your license has been issued you may view your license verification online.  Additionally, you may print your license from our website or order a hard copy.  The fee for the latter is $25.

No. Georgia does not issue temporary licenses. The Board does issue Training Permits as set forth under Board Rule 490-2-.04 and the applicable Board Policy. 

The Professional Licensing Boards Division is pleased to offer licensees the opportunity to update license address information and renew their professional licensure via our secure website.

You need only to visit the Online Services section of the Board website, select the Address & Email Update link and follow instructions.

Please download the Name and Address Change form that is located in the Application/Forms Downloads section of the website.  Complete the form and submit it along with a copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order, as well as your license number. A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable.

You may fax the information to 866-888-1308 or mail it to the address indicated on the form.

Yes. The board requires 30 clock hours between January 1, 2006 and December 31, 2007 and 30 clock hours during each biennium thereafter. A minimum of four (4) hours per biennium must be in ethics and jurisprudence. Continuing Competency hours submitted must be beyond the licensee’s current level of competence to practice Physical Therapy.

The rolling over of unused hours will not be allowed from one biennium to the next biennium.

In addition, effective on February 5, 2015, the Georgia Board of Physical Therapy (“Board”) required all licensees to report compliance with the continuing competence requirements by using the free online system aPTitude.  For assistance with your aPTitude account, email aPTitudeHelp@fsbpt.org. Help can also be found in the aPTitude FAQs.

For detailed information concerning Continuing Competence, please review the Board rules and policies that address continuing competence (Rule 490-4 and Board Policy).  

Please note that those applying for a license by endorsement must also verify that the continuing education requirements have been met via www.fsbpt.org/aPTitude upon receiving an assigned Georgia applicant number. You will enter "GA" followed by the applicant number (i.e. GA1234567) into the license number field for Georgia. Once a Georgia license number has been issued, this field will need to be updated to reflect the license number.

Please note that aPTitude will require applicants and licensees to load a certificate of completion or acceptable documentation to verify one's participation in a continuing competence activity.  Acceptable documentation may include:

(a) An official program or outline of the course attended or taught or a copy of the publication which clearly shows that the objectives and content were related to patient care in physical therapy and shows the number of contact hours, as appropriate. The information also should clearly identify the licensee's responsibility in teaching or authorship; and

(b) A certificate or verification of completion of home study which identifies the sponsoring entity or maintain a copy of the final grade report in the case of a University credit course(s), or specialization certificate, or proof of attendance with a copy of the program for the other acceptable activities, or documentation of self-instruction or reading professional literature; or

(c) Verification of a peer review of practice with verification of acceptable practice by a recognized entity. An example of a recognized entity is the American Physical Therapy Association Board Policy (See APTA Policy G03-05-15-40).

If an applicant or licensee does not have immediate access to scanner in order to upload a copy of the certificate(s), the individual may take a picture of the certificate(s) using a smartphone or digital camera and load a copy onto the aPTitude site in that manner.  In the event that it is not an option to use a smartphone or digital camera, the applicant or licensee must find some other means to load a copy of the certificate of completion, i.e. use of scanner at a local library or local shipping/mailing/printing companies with scanning capabilities.  A failure to load certificates as required will be a violation of the Board Rules and may subject a licensee to disciplinary action by the Board.

Yes, all licenses expire December 31 of odd years. You may renew your license online during the renewal period.

If an exam candidate fails the exam after the first attempt, he/she may resubmit an application for reexamination to the Board to be made eligible for a second time.

b) An applicant who fails the examination on the second attempt must submit the following before being made eligible for a third attempt:

1) A copy of his/her “Examination Performance Feedback Report” obtained from FSBPT, and pay all costs associated with obtaining the report.
2) A remediation plan addressing each area of weakness/failure (See Board rule 490-3-.02 and Board Policy).
3) Proof of satisfactory completion of such remediation plan.
4) An applicant must be administratively approved to take the exam a third time after the above procedure has been completed and approved.

c) NO APPLICANT WILL BE APPROVED TO TAKE THE EXAMINATION A FIFTH (5TH) TIME IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA WITHOUT EXTENSIVE FURTHER STUDY, WHICH MAY INCLUDE RETURNING TO SCHOOL TO COMPLETE ANOTHER PHYSICAL THERAPY EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM APPROVED BY CAPTE. Please refer to Board rule 490-3-.02 and Board Policy #2 give further information for candidates who fail the exam more than three (3) times. 

An acceptable 4-hour continuing competency course must include a review of the Georgia General Provisions and the Laws, Rules and Policies governing Physical Therapy in the State of Georgia. Specifically these are Georgia Rules 490-1 through 490-11, Georgia Laws 43-33, Georgia General Provisions 43-1-19 through 43-1-27 and all policy statements.

If a licensee opts to take the Georgia Law Examination in lieu of taking a continuing competency course, the aforementioned will be your study materials. It is also recommended that licensees or candidates for licensure review any recent proposed Law or Rule changes. Current versions of these materials may be accessed on the Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy website. 

For the purposes of aPTitude, those who take the Georgia Law Examination in lieu of taking a continuing competency course on the same subject matter will be required to load a copy of their score report for that exam.  A copy of the score report must be obtained from FSBPT (aPTitudeHelp@fsbpt.org).

***PLEASE NOTE*** Those who opt to submit the jurisprudence examination in lieu of taken a jurisprudence course are not able to submit the same test that was taken to obtain licensure for continuing education credit.  A new test result will need to be submitted.  The rationale behind the Board's position is that laws and rules do change and to use the same test for CE credit during the same cycle one was licensed does not ensure that the licensee has remained abreast of the current laws and rules.

1. See Board Rule 490-3-.02 and Policy #2 for the required remediation plan information.
2. Obtain an Exam Performance Feedback from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy to determine your areas of weakness.
3. Establish your plan addressing your weak areas as determined on the Exam Performance Feedback form.
4. Find a mentor, i.e. A PT or PTA teacher or an experienced clinician, to help formulate and carry out a plan of study. This mentor must be named and sign the remediation plan. We strongly recommend consulting with the faculty at your PT/PTA program.

Suggested Methods of Study

Note: You must provide details (time, date, place, subject, chapter, etc.) of the method(s) you choose:


1. Review physical therapy texts appropriate to your weak areas and list which texts and chapters you will study.
2. Audit classes at an established physical therapy program.
3. Participate in a physical therapy study group.
4. Volunteer and observe in a physical therapy clinic by shadowing a PT or PTA (Note: you may not perform hands-on patient care until you are licensed.)
5. Attend a physical therapy course that addresses your area of weakness.
6. Meet with a professor/instructor from your PT program to discuss ideas to address your areas of weakness.
7. Take an exam review course. 

Pursuant to O.C.G.A.§43-33-1, the Board will consider for approval educational institutions for the purposes of offering programs to develop advanced physical therapy skills. All educational institutions that are providing such advanced training must petition the Board prior to allowing practice of residents/fellows unlicensed in Georgia and enrolled in said program.  

The Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy does not provide legal advice regarding specific scope of practice questions.  Please review the Georgia statutes and Board Rules carefully as most individuals are able to answer their questions with relative ease.

It is important to remember that physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must practice within their scope and in accordance with the law and rules.

The Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy does not issue letters of good standing.  If another licensing authority or employer requires an official statement about the status of a license in this state, the licensee must complete the license verification request form and submit it along with the applicable fee to the board office.  The license verification request will be processed and forwarded to the entity indicated on the form.

O.C.G.A. § 50-13-9.1 Allows for an applicant and/or entity to petition the Georgia State Board of Physical Therapy to vary (modify) or waive (not apply) all or part of a rule requirement in their particular situation. In order for a rule or portion thereof to be varied or waived, the petitioner must be able to demonstrate strict application of rule can lead to unreasonable, uneconomical, and unintended results in the petitioner’s particular instance. The statute also allows for the the Board to grant a variance or waiver when the petitioner is able to demonstrates that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based can be or has been achieved by other specific means which are agreeable to the person seeking the variance or waiver and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to such person.

If an applicant and/or entity desires to make such a petition, you must download and complete a Petition for Rule Variance or Waiver form and submit it along with any supporting documentation to the Board for consideration. You may download the instructions and form by visiting the Application/Form Downloads section on the home page of the Board website.

Please be aware that a failure to properly complete the form and submit the documentation supporting your statements within the petition may result in the denial of the request based on insufficient evidence to substantiate that the application of the rule in your circumstance will cause a hardship.  

The petition will be posted for a minimum of fifteen (15 days) on the GeorgiaNet Public Registry and petitioners may conduct a search for their petition on http://services.georgia.gov/sos/sosrw/searchHome.do . Please note that any member of the public, including interested parties, shall have the opportunity to submit written comments in support of or against proposed variances or waivers prior to the Board decision. The Board has up to sixty (60) days from receipt of the petition to render a decision to either grant or deny the petition. The petitioner will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision and the written statement will include relevant facts and the reasons for the Board’s action.


Contact

214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
404.656.2881
E-Mail
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State