Corporations Elections Licensing Securities

Frequently Asked Questions


The items listed below are required of individuals who apply by mail and online.  See Board Rule  700-2-.02.


APPLICATION - Found on the board’s web-site under the link for Download Forms.

NOTARIZED APPLICATION, $100. FEE and PHOTOGRAPH taken
within last year. Any question answered “yes”, requires further documentation to be submitted. Attach an explanation if you have had any criminal convictions or charges, or sanctions by another state licensing board. The Board, at their next scheduled meeting, will review the application with required documentation. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.

NAVLE SCORES: All applicants are required to pass the NAVLE. Please contact the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners at 701-224-0332 or www.nbvme.org to register for the examination. If you have previously taken the NAVLE, NBE &/or CCT, you must have the scores transferred to the Georgia Board by contacting AAVSB at http://www.aavsb.org/VIVA.

DEGREE TRANSCRIPT: All applicants for licensure must have graduated from an AVMA approved school or college. If you graduated from an non-AVMA accredited school or college – also please reference FAQ #11.An official college transcript certifying the grades, degree conferred and the date awarded must be received in this office directly from the Registrar of the college/school.

OTHER STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION/VERIFICATIONS: If you are or have ever been licensed in another State(s), please have that/those State(s) officially certify that license directly to the Board’s office.

The Board’s law/jurisprudence exam is an open-book exam that is part of the application process.

If your name has changed since you attended school, please make a note on the application advising of your former name(s) so we can match-up the documents with your application.

SECURE AND VERIFIABLE DOCUMENT (SVD) AND AFFIDAVIT OF CITIZENSHIP (AFF):  Georgia Law requires all applicants for a license to submit these documents with their application.  For a list of approved SVDs and to obtain a copy of the AFF form download the application from the Board website. 

BACKGROUND CONSENT FORM:  This form authorizes the Georgia Board of Veterinary Medicine to receive any Georgia criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state or local justice agency in Georgia.

Georgia law does not provide for such. 

It may take up to 25 business days to process an application to completion and a license to be issued.  Processing time begins from the time the application and fee is received to the time that all supporting documents have been received, reviewed and processed.  An application is not deemed as complete until all documentation has been received, reviewed and processed.  If the application requires Board review, the process is extended until a determination can be made by the Board. Once your license is issued, you may go to our website under "License Verification" to confirm such. You may also print a copy from our website or order a hard copy for $25.00.  

See Board Rule 700-2-.02(c) and (e)


(c) An original official transcript sent directly to the Board by an accredited college or school of veterinary medicine certifying completion of a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program and the award of the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree;

(e) If an applicant is a graduate of a foreign college or school of veterinary medicine, they must provide the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certificate from the American Veterinary Medical Association or an equivalent document acceptable to the Board;

Board Rule 700-2-.03

National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners - 701-224-0332 or www.nbvme.org .

Yes, an open book exam is part of the application process.

The exam, laws and rules can be found on our website. 

You must submit an application to the Georgia Board for Georgia licensure.

You then must contact AVMA at www.avma.org to be scheduled to complete parts 1, 2 & 3 of the ECFVG. Once the Georgia Board receives notification of completion of these parts of the ECFVG, you will then be considered for eligibility to sit for the NAVLE www.nbvme.org.

Upon receipt of a passing NAVLE score, all ECFVG requirements and approval of all other required documents, your application will be considered for licensure.  

Georgia laws or rules do not address how long scores are valid.  It is the policy of the Board that incomplete applications are voided after one year and fees are non-refundable.  A failure to submit necessary documentation to include but not limited to scores, proof of graduation and a certified copy of official school transcripts within one year of the date of application will result in the withdrawal of the application.

See O.C.G.A. § 43-50-32(b) and Board Rule 700-2-.03

An applicant cannot take the exam more than three times without review and approval by the board.  Approval may be provided under such circumstances as the board deems appropriate.

As of November/December 2013, the Board no longer approve eligibility for candidates to take the examination. Candidates for the exam are to contact National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners - 701-224-0332 or www.nbvme.org. 

The Board does not grant temporary licenses. 

See Board Rule 700-7-.01

Renewal is required by December 31 of the even number years.

Late renewal allowed from January 1 of the odd year following the renewal year through March 31 of the odd year following renewal.

See Board Rule 700-7-.03 for the specific CE requirements

Thirty (30) hours are required for the renewal period

YOU ARE LIMITED TO 2O HOURS FOR ANY ONE CE PROGRAM.

Your license will expire and be placed on Lapsed/Late Renewal status on December 31 of even-numbered years. You should not practice until your license has been renewed and returned to Active status.

If you fail to renew your license by March 31st of following year (odd-numbered year), your license will be lapsed and you will be required to reinstate your license.

Practicing with a lapsed license may result in disciplinary action. 

See Board Rule 700-7-.02


REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION - Found on the board’s web-site under the link for Download Forms.

NOTARIZED APPLICATION, $600. FEE and PHOTOGRAPH taken within last year. Any question answered “yes”, requires further documentation to be submitted. Attach an explanation if you have had any criminal convictions or charges, or sanctions by another state licensing board. The Board, at their next scheduled meeting, will review the application with required documentation. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.

OTHER STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION: If you are or have ever been licensed in another State(s), please have that/those State(s) officially certify that license directly to the Board’s office.

CONTINUING EDUCATION: Submit documentation of CE totaling 30 hours obtained within the last 2 years. Hours used for reinstatement cannot be used for renewal during the next biennium. 

Yes, Inactive status is allowed.

See Board Rule 700-7-.02


REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION - Found on the board’s web-site under the link for Download Forms.

NOTARIZED APPLICATION, $600. FEE and PHOTOGRAPH taken within last year. Any question answered “yes”, requires further documentation to be submitted. Attach an explanation if you have had any criminal convictions or charges, or sanctions by another state licensing board. The Board, at their next scheduled meeting, will review the application with required documentation. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.

OTHER STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION: If you are or have ever been licensed in another State(s), please have that/those State(s) officially certify that license directly to the Board’s office.

CONTINUING EDUCATION: Submit documentation of CE totaling 30 hours obtained within the last 2 years. Hours used for reinstatement cannot be used for renewal during the next biennium. 

See Georgia law, O.C.G.A. § 43-50-3(11)

NBVME – National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

ECFVG – Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduate

AVMA – American Veterinary Medical Association

GVMA – Georgia Veterinary Medical Association

See Board Rule 700-6-.01

  • APPLICATION - Found on the board’s web-site under the link for Download Forms.
  • NOTARIZED APPLICATION, $50. FEE and PHOTOGRAPH taken within last year. Any question answered “yes”, requires further documentation to be submitted. Attach an explanation if you have had any criminal convictions or charges, or sanctions by another state licensing board. The Board, at their next scheduled meeting, will review the application with required documentation. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.
  • VTNE SCORES: All applicants are required to pass the VTNE. Please contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards at 877-698-8482 or www.aavsb.org to register & pay the exam fee for the examination. If you have previously taken and passed the VTNE, please have the scores sent to the Georgia Board
  • DEGREE/TRANSCRIPT: All applicants for licensure by Application/Examination must have graduated from an AVMA approved school or college. An official college transcript certifying the grades, degree conferred and the date awarded must be received in this office directly from the Registrar of the college/school.
  • EXPERIENCE: All applicants for licensure by Experience/Examination must submit the Affidavit of Experience and Employment with a minimum of five years of experience assisting a licensed veterinarian.
  • OTHER STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION: If you are or have ever been licensed in another State(s), please have that/those State(s) officially certify that license directly to the Board’s office. 

See Board Rule 700-6-.01


The applicant must be a graduate of a Veterinary Technician program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association; however, the Board will review all other programs on an individual basis.

Please see Board Rule 700-6-.01(3)(a)


Five years.

See Board Rule 700-6-.01


Renewal is required by March 31 of the even number years.
Late renewal allowed from January 1 of the odd year following the renewal year through March 31 of the odd year following renewal. 

Your license will expire and be placed on Lapsed/Late Renewal status on March 31 of even-numbered years. You should not practice until your license has been renewed and returned to Active status.  If you fail to renew your license by March 31st of following year (odd-numbered year), your license will be lapsed and you will be required to reinstate your license which will require the full application process. If you practice with a lapsed license, the Board may sanction/discpline your license. 

  • APPLICATION - Found on the board’s web-site under the link for Download Forms.
  • NOTARIZED APPLICATION, $50. FEE and PHOTOGRAPH taken within last year. Any question answered “yes”, requires further documentation to be submitted. Attach an explanation if you have had any criminal convictions or charges, or sanctions by another state licensing board. The Board, at their next scheduled meeting, will review the application with required documentation. Approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion.
  • VTNE SCORES: All applicants are required to pass the VTNE. Please contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards at 877-698-8482 or www.aavsb.org to register & pay the exam fee for the examination. If you have previously taken and passed the VTNE, please have the scores sent to the Georgia Board
  • DEGREE/TRANSCRIPT: All applicants for licensure by Application/Examination must have graduated from an AVMA approved school or college. An official college transcript certifying the grades, degree conferred and the date awarded must be received in this office directly from the Registrar of the college/school.
  • OTHER STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION: If you are or have ever been licensed in another State(s), please have that/those State(s) officially certify that license directly to the Board’s office. 

All C.E. providers seeking approval of a C.E. Program by the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine must comply with Board Rule 700-7-.03 and submit a Continuing Education Program Application & Approval Form for each program presented. These forms should be submitted 60 days in advance.  Applicants will receive written correspondence from the Board regarding any decision to grant or deny approval.

The Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine does not issue letters of good standing.  If another licensing authority or employer requires an official statement about the status of a license in this state, the licensee must complete the license verification request form and submit it along with the applicable fee to the board office.  The license verification request will be processed and forwarded to the entity indicated on the form.

Application processing may take up to twenty-five (25) business days from the receipt of the application in the Board Office. Should there be any information associated with the application which causes it to fall outside of the administrative guidelines established by the Board (i.e. criminal history, disciplinary history, incomplete application, etc.), processing times may be extended and/or Board review may be required. 

Applicants may check the status of their application via the "Online Services" section on the Board website or by calling the Board office @ (478) 207-2440 for information.

O.C.G.A. § 50-13-9.1 Allows for an applicant and/or entity to petition the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine to vary (modify) or waive (not apply) all or part of a rule requirement in their particular situation. In order for a rule or portion thereof to be varied or waived, the petitioner must be able to demonstrate strict application of rule can lead to unreasonable, uneconomical, and unintended results in the petitioner’s particular instance. The statute also allows for the the Board to grant a variance or waiver when the petitioner is able to demonstrates that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based can be or has been achieved by other specific means which are agreeable to the person seeking the variance or waiver and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to such person.

If an applicant and/or entity desires to make such a petition, you must download and complete a Petition for Rule Variance or Waiver form and submit it along with any supporting documentation to the Board for consideration. You may download the instructions and form by visiting the Application/Form Downloads section on the home page of the Board website.

Please be aware that a failure to properly complete the form and submit the documentation supporting your statements within the petition may result in the denial of the request based on insufficient evidence to substantiate that the application of the rule in your circumstance will cause a hardship.  

The petition will be posted for a minimum of fifteen (15 days) on the GeorgiaNet Public Registry and petitioners may conduct a search for their petition on http://services.georgia.gov/sos/sosrw/searchHome.do . Please note that any member of the public, including interested parties, shall have the opportunity to submit written comments in support of or against proposed variances or waivers prior to the Board decision. The Board has up to sixty (60) days from receipt of the petition to render a decision to either grant or deny the petition. The petitioner will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision and the written statement will include relevant facts and the reasons for the Board’s action.


Contact

214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
404.656.2881
E-Mail
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State