Corporations Elections Licensing Securities Charities
Frequently Asked Questions
You cannot use your certification to practice in Georgia. You must hold a
valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers in order to
practice as an Athletic Trainer in Georgia.
No. It is a violation of state law to practice in Georgia as an Athletic Trainer without a Georgia license. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers in order to practice as an Athletic Trainer in Georgia.
your application is complete and all supporting documents have been received,
your application file will be reviewed within twenty-five (25) business days (excludes holidays/weekends). If you are not eligible for a license
at that time, or any supporting documents are missing, you will receive a letter (e-mail if address on file) indicating the status of your
application. You may NOT practice as an Athletic trainer in Georgia until the license has been issued.
Yes, this is termed Application by Endorsement. The state where you are currently licensed must have licensure requirements that
are substantially equal to or more stringent than the Georgia requirements. You
cannot use your out of state license to practice in Georgia. You must hold a
current valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers in order
to practice as an Athletic Trainer in Georgia.
Address changes will be accepted via USPS Mail Service, fax to 866-888-1308 or via the Online Services tab of the home page of the Board website.
You may also update your e-mail address online or submit in writing to the Board or by fax. Please be sure that your license number, physical address and signature is included on the request.
Submit a copy of a marriage license, divorce decree or court order via USPS mail service or by fax to 866-888-1308. A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable. You can print a copy of your license form the link on the website. Please do not send original documents as they cannot be returned.
If you would like a hard copy of the license pocket card, complete and submit a Duplicate License-License Verification Order Form, which can be located under the Application/Form Downloads section of the website, by USPS mail service only along with your license number and the appropriate fee of $25. You should receive your new pocket card generally within fifteen (15) business days.
If you would like a hard copy of the license pocket card, complete and submit a Duplicate License Order Form, which can be located under the Application/Form Downloads section of the website, by USPS mail service only along with your license number and the appropriate fee of $25. You should receive your new pocket card generally within fifteen (15) business days.
Otherwise, you may print a copy of your license via the Print License link on the homepage of the board website by entering your user ID and password.
Forty (40) Contact Hours of Continuing Education (CE) acceptable to the Board.
However, an Athletic Trainer who received their Georgia License within one year
of the renewal date shall not be required to meet the continuing education
requirements for that initial renewal period ONLY.
NOTE: this applies only if the licensee
renews his license. If the license lapses for failure to renew and must be
reinstated, the CE hours will be required.
Athletic Trainer licenses expire on June 30th of each even numbered year. Licenses
are renewed every two (2) years. You may renew your license during the renewal
period either online or by mail
(call the Board office at (478) 207-2440 to request a renewal application be
mailed to you).
are subject to change at the Boards discretion. Please refer to the website,
click on the “Application/Forms Download" section and open the fee schedule for the most
up to date cost for licensure. You may also call the Board office at (478)
207-2440 for information.
Applicants for Licensure by Examination will be required to pass the national
exam given by the Board of Certification (BOC) for Athletic Trainers. For exam
information, please visit their website at http://www.bocatc.org. Those
applying for licensure by Endorsement (see Question #5) may be
granted a license without examination to any qualified athletic trainer holding
a license in another state if such state recognizes licensees of this state in
the same manner (refer to Board Rule 53-4-.01).
Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217
Phone: (478) 207-2440
Fax: (866) 888-1308
O.C.G.A. § 50-13-9.1 Allows for an applicant and/or entity to petition the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers to vary (modify) or waive (not apply) all or part of a rule requirement in their particular situation. In order for a rule or portion thereof to be varied or waived, the petitioner must be able to demonstrate strict application of rule can lead to unreasonable, uneconomical, and unintended results in the petitioner’s particular instance. The statute also allows for the the Board to grant a variance or waiver when the petitioner is able to demonstrates that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based can be or has been achieved by other specific means which are agreeable to the person seeking the variance or waiver and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to such person.
If an applicant and/or entity desires to make such a petition, you must download and complete a Petition for Rule Variance or Waiver form and submit it along with any supporting documentation to the Board for consideration. You may download the instructions and form by visiting the Application/Form Downloads section on the home page of the Board website.
Please be aware that a failure to properly complete the form and submit the documentation supporting your statements within the petition may result in the denial of the request based on insufficient evidence to substantiate that the application of the rule in your circumstance will cause a hardship.
The petition will be posted for a minimum of fifteen (15 days) on the GeorgiaNet Public Registry and petitioners may conduct a search for their petition. Please note that any member of the public, including interested parties, shall have the opportunity to submit written comments in support of or against proposed variances or waivers prior to the Board decision. The Board has up to sixty (60) days from receipt of the petition to render a decision to either grant or deny the petition. The petitioner will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision and the written statement will include relevant facts and the reasons for the Board’s action.
The Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers does not issue letters of good standing. If another licensing authority or employer requires an official statement about the status of a license in this state, the licensee may submit an Online License Verification request via the Online Services section of the website. Access the option by selecting the License Renewal link and enter your unique User ID and Password. Once logged in, select the Verification of Licensure option which is located on the left of the page, then follow the instructions.
Please note that a $35 fee is required before the verification will be issued. The license verification request will be processed and forwarded to the
entity you indicated on the online form. If you have
multiple licenses and/or you need the license verification sent to multiple
locations, you will be required to submit a new order and fee each time.
If you do not have access to a credit or debit card for payment of the fee, you may submit your request by mail using a check or money order. Click here to access, download and print the order form.