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Employee Registration Information  

 
• The licensee (employer) must submit the application on behalf of every employee hired to work as a private detective or 

armed security guard, even if the employee has an active registration with another employer or company.  

• Unarmed security guards are not required to be registered with the Georgia Board of Private Detective & Security Agencies; 
however, unarmed security guards must be trained according to the Board standards and are governed by the Board as 
mandated in OCGA 43-38-7.1.   

• Employee Registrations are not transferrable. Employees shall not use an existing registration to work for a company 
other than the company that is indicated on their Registration.   

• Registrations are only valid when employees are performing investigative or armed security duties for the employer listed on the 
Registration. 

• Company owners or designated license holders for corporations, LLC’s, or partnerships must also have an Employee 
Registration. The registration fee for owners/designees is the same as for all other employees.   

• When applying for both PRIVATE DETECTIVE EMPLOYEE and SECURITY GUARD EMPLOYEE registrations, you may 
make application for a “Dual” license. 

• The employee must physically carry proof of Registration at all times while on duty, at the place of employment, or any time that 
the employee is in uniform.  

• If armed, proof of Registration must be carried by the employee while a weapon is carried on duty, while in uniform, or in route 
directly to and from the post or place of employment (Board Rule 509-4-.01). 
 

• The “Reinstatement of Registration Number” section on the application is only to be used if the employee is reinstating a 
Registration that has lapsed for the same employer. 

 
APPLICATION PROCESSING  

 

• The licensee (employer) is responsible for ensuring that the application is complete and correctly prepared.  

• Incomplete/deficient applications may be returned to the licensee (employer) for completion, and failure to submit a complete 
application will result in processing delays. Incomplete applications will be withdrawn from the system 12 months from the initial 
submission date. 

• A valid email address is required for communication between the Licensing Board and applicants. 

• Allow a minimum of 15 business days for processing of the application, fingerprints, and other required documentation.     

• Criminal History / Disciplinary Actions:  Applicants who answer “Yes” to the application questions concerning criminal history 
or disciplinary actions taken against them must submit certified documentation of court dispositions, agency orders, or any other 
documentation to provide a complete answer to such questions.  Failure to provide this information will result in processing delays 
and may be grounds for disapproval of the application by the Board.  

• If you currently possess or previously possessed a Georgia peace officer certification issued pursuant to Chapter 8 of Title 35, the 
"Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Act", you must provide a copy of your P.O.S.T. transcript. 
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Instructions for Georgia Resident Applicants Obtain Fingerprints for a Background Check 
 
The Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies requires a fingerprint background check on all applicants. Fingerprints 
are processed through Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS). The Federal/State criminal history results will be available to 
the Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies within 48 hours after the applicant has been fingerprinted and the prints 
are received by GBI, Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC). Please use the following instructions to register for your 
background check. If additional assistance is required you may contact GAPS at 1-888-439-2512. 
 
Have a credit card, debit card, or money order information available when logging into the Gemalto website, as payment will 
be required at the time of registering. 
 
GAPS REGISTRATION PROCESS 
 

Applicants must complete a LiveScan fingerprinting process from an approved Georgia Applicant Processing Services (GAPS) site. 
Register at https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm.   

• Select “Secretary of State (SOS)” 

• Select” Private Detective/Security Business”   

 
Read and accept the Terms of Use and follow the prompts to complete the registration process. A valid personal email address must 
be included. A third party/agency email address is not permitted. 
 
After your application for licensure has been received and processed by the Board, you will receive an email from GAPS directing you 
to proceed to the fingerprinting site. You must proceed to a GAPS fingerprint site to have your fingerprints scanned within 90 days. If 
you fail to submit prints within 90 days of your notification from GAPS, your registration will be canceled, a refund will be made to the 
method of payment you provided and you will need to register again. 
 
Identification Needed for Fingerprinting 
 

In addition to the Registration ID number the applicant will also be asked to present a valid photo ID prior to being fingerprinted. 
Forms of valid photo ID include: 
 

- State Issued Driver's License - US Passport 
- State Issued Identification Card - Government Issued Employee Identification Card 
- US Active Duty/Retiree/Reservist Military ID Card - Tribal Identification Card 

 
In the absence of one of the above forms of identification, please visit the FAQ page on the GAPS website at 
https://wwwqa.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm for information on acceptable secondary forms of identification. For a complete list of 
GAPS fingerprinting sites in Georgia, please visit https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/GA_regions_html/GA_Regions_Main.htm.  
 

https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm
https://wwwqa.aps.gemalto.com/ga/index.htm
https://www.aps.gemalto.com/ga/GA_regions_html/GA_Regions_Main.htm
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Fee Schedule 
(Application Fees are Non-refundable)  
 

Initial Licensure Fees - COMPANY APPLICATION LICENSE TOTAL 

Private Detective Company (only) $100.00 $300.00 $400.00 

In-House or Private Security Company (only) $100.00 $500.00 $600.00 

Private Detective & Security Company (dual license) $100.00 $700.00 $800.00 

 
Initial Registration Fees – EMPLOYEE 

Initial Registration - Detective - Unarmed Employee $ 45.00 

Initial Registration - Detective - Armed Employee $ 70.00 

Initial Registration - Security Guard - Armed Employee $ 70.00 

Initial Registration - Detective & Security Guard(dual license) - Armed Employee $ 70.00 

(unarmed security guards are not required to register with the State) 

 
Renewal & Reinstatement Fees - COMPANY 

On-time Renewal Fee - Detective Company (only) $ 300.00 

On-time Renewal Fee - Security Company (only) $ 500.00 

On-time Renewal Fee - Detective and Security Company (dual license) $ 700.00 

 
Late Renewal Fee – Detective Company (only) $ 400.00 

Late Renewal Fee – Security Company (only) $ 600.00 

Late Renewal Fee – Detective and Security Company (dual license) $ 800.00 

 
Reinstatement Fee – Detective Company (only) $ 550.00 

Reinstatement Fee – Security Company (only) $ 750.00 

Reinstatement Fee – Detective and Security Company (dual license) $ 1050.00 

 
Renewal & Reinstatement Fees - EMPLOYEE 

On-time Renewal Fee – All Employee Registrations $ 65.00 

Late Renewal Fee – All Employee Registration Types $ 80.00 

Reinstatement Fee – same as initial registration fee -- 

 

TRAINING INSTRUCTORS 

Initial Registration Fee - Certification of Training Instructor $ 100.00 

On-time Renewal Fee - Certification of Training Instructor $ 100.00 

Late Renewal Fee - Certification of Training Instructor $ 150.00 

Reinstatement Fee – Certification of Training Instructor $ 100.00 

 

Lost or Destroyed License Replacement Fee $ 25.00 

Additional Weapon / Change of Weapon Type Application Fee $ 25.00 

Verification of Licensure (order online) $ 35.00 

Decorative Wall Certificate $ 50.00 
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Application for Employee Registration 
 

 

 

         Please check this box if you are a military spouse or a transitioning service member of the United States armed forces,  
         including the National Guard. 

 

Employee Name (first, middle, last, suffix): __________________________________________________________________ 
 

I am applying for the following Registration: 

         Private Detective Employee 
                no weapon (unarmed) - $45 
                with weapon (armed) - $70          

___  Private Security Guard Employee           
               with weapon (armed) - $70 
 

          Dual Employee (PD&SG) - $70 
 
          Reinstatement of  
          Registration #    ________________  
(only for lapsed license with the same company – 
fee is the same amount as initial license fee) 

          In-House Detective Employee 
               with weapon (armed) - $70            

         In-House Security Guard 
               with weapon (armed) - $70 

 

I am applying for the following Weapons Permit: 
 

            None* (for Private Detectives only)           Exposed             Shotgun**              Concealed** 
 

*unarmed Security Guards are not required to be registered 
**requires written request from Employer, including details of duties – forms are included in this application packet. 

 
 

____________________________________________________________________________   ____________________________ 
Residence Address – ( PO Box not acceptable) Street, City, County, State, Zip        Telephone  

 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 
Email Address: (required) 
 

______________________________________________________________  ____________________  ______________________ 
Company Name (will appear on license & online)    License No.                    Phone 
 
______________________________________________________________     _________________________________________ 
Street or PO Box, City, County, State, Zip     Company email address 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION 
RECEIPT # _____________________ 
AMOUNT  ______________________ 
APPLICANT # __________________ 
INITIAL  _____ DATE ___________ 
 

 
GEORGIA BOARD OF PRIVATE DETECTIVES & SECURITY AGENCIES 
237 Coliseum Dr., Macon, GA 31217 
404-424-9966 - www.sos.ga.gov/plb/detective 

Social Security No.***: ______-____-_________                
***This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to State and 

Federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 & O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295, 42 
U.S.C.A.  § 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. § 1001. 
 

Gender:   _____ Male       _____ Female 

Place of Birth:    
 
______________________________________________ 
City                                              State or Country 
 

Date of Birth:   _______/_________/____________ 
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BACKGROUND CHECK QUESTIONNAIRE 

 
Applicant’s Name: ____________________________ 
 
You are required to answer the following questions as part of a background check to determine your suitability for the 
issuance of a registration by the Georgia Board of Private Detective & Security Agencies. 
 

    Please note that failure to disclose information requested in this application or giving any false statements / 
information can result in a disciplinary order and fine, and potentially denial of licensure. 

 
 

1.  

Have you ever been arrested?  
 
Note: The answer to this question is “Yes” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, 
dismissed or deferred, you pled and completed probation under First Offender and/or your civil rights 
have been restored and/or you have received legal advice that the offense will not appear on your 
criminal record. 

__YES __NO 

2.  
Have you been arrested for a crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a dangerous 
weapon?  
 
Note: The answer to this question is “Yes” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, 
dismissed or deferred, you pled and completed probation under First Offender and/or your civil rights 
have been restored and/or you have received legal advice that the offense will not appear on your 
criminal record. 

 
___YES 
 
 

  
 __NO 
 
 

3.  
Are you currently on probation which prohibits you from possessing, carrying, or owning a weapon or 
firearm, or have you been convicted of any crime for which your right to possess, carry, or own a 
firearm has been restricted? 

__YES 
 
 
 

__NO 
 
 
 

4.  
Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or 
an intimate partner or child of such partner? 

__YES __NO 

5.  
Within the past five (5) years have you been addicted to and/or treated for the use of alcohol or any 
illegal drug, prescription drug, or any other mood altering substance? 

__YES __NO 

6.  
Do you currently possess any mental illness or condition which may in any way impair your ability to 
practice or otherwise alter your behavior as it relates to the practice of this profession? 

__YES __NO 

7.  Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions? __YES __NO 

8.  

Has any licensing authority in Georgia or any other jurisdiction, or any certifying body (e.g. P.O.S.T.), 
ever refused to issue you a license or ever revoked, annulled, cancelled, accepted surrender of, 
suspended, placed on probation, refused to renew a professional license or certificate held by you, 
now or previously, or ever fined, censured, reprimanded or otherwise disciplined you or any company 
in which you are or were a principal? 
 

__YES __NO 
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9.  

Are you, or any company in which you are or were a principal, currently under investigation or is a 
disciplinary action pending against your license or any other license or certification you hold in any 
state or territory of the United States?  
 

__YES __NO 

10.  

Have you ever been registered with a licensed company as a private detective or security guard 
employee in this state? If so, list registration number, company, and approximate date of registration:  
_________________________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________ 

__YES __NO 

11.  
Do you now or have you ever held a certification with the Georgia Peace Office Standards Training 
Council? If so, list your P.O.S.T. # and provide a current copy of your P.O.S.T. transcript: __________ 

__YES __NO 

12.  
Have you completed the required Basic Training for this registration? If so, submit a copy of the 
completion certificate. If you cannot provide a copy, submit a letter to the Board detailing when you 
completed the training. 

__YES __NO 

     

      The Board requires applicants to disclose all previous arrests and discipline by other regulatory boards. If you answer 
“Yes” to any of the following questions you are required to provide a certified copy of the official documents showing the 
final disposition of the incident as well as a personal, detailed letter of explanation regarding each incident. To avoid 
processing delays please submit all documentation as part of your application packet. Failure to provide final dispositions 
will delay consideration of your application. 
 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF EMPLOYER 

 
I certify and declare that the employee for whom this application is made has been given the minimum training required under the rules 
and regulations of the Board, and that the training certificate will be maintained in the employee’s f ile with the company. 
 
I further certify and declare that a name character background check has been made by my company on the employee, which indicates 
that the employee has had no felony convictions and has not displayed a disregard for the law.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
___________________________________________ 
                       Printed Name of Applicant 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 
________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 
_______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 

__________________________________________ 
Signature of Employer 

 
__________________________________________ 

Printed Name of Employer 

Date: _______________________________ 
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EMPLOYMENT HISTORY 
Beginning with your current employer, list your employment for the past FIVE (5) years. All time must be accounted for, including 
periods of unemployment. Information must be provided for each header section. Attach additional pages if needed.  

 
DATES 

 
 

 
POSITION  

 
 

 
 

FROM TO EMPLOYER HELD SUPERVISOR 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 
ADDITIONAL EXPERIENCE 

 

List any additional experience you have which has not been addressed and which you feel qualifies you for registration under the 
Private Detective and Security Agencies Act.  Attach any documentation necessary as proof of training and/or experience. 
 

 

 

 

 
ADDRESS HISTORY 

 
Beginning with your Current Address, list your addresses for the past FIVE (5) years. Dates must be provided with no gaps in the 
timeline. Attach additional pages if needed.  

     
FROM TO STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 
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Employee Registration 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF EMPLOYEE 

 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
 
I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules and regulations of the Georgia Board of 
Private Detective & Security Agencies, and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to time.  
 
I also understand that if I have made a false statement on the application, or if I am found to have been convicted of a felony and have 
not had all of my civil rights restored pursuant to the law, the Board may suspend my registration without a prior hearing.  Should 
this occur, I shall be entitled to a hearing after the suspension of my registration.   
 
By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate pursuant 
to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1: 
 
1) _______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older.  Submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable 
Document(s) with your application. A list of approved documents can be viewed at http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf. 
 
2) _______        I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I 
am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number 
issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency.  Submit a copy of your current immigration 
document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 
________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 
_______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 

 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 

________________________________________________ 
SIGNATURE OF THE APPLICANT 

 
________________________________________________ 

DATE 

http://sos.ga.gov/admin/files/svd2013.pdf
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 Employee Registration 

 

Weapon Permit Registration 
***Do not submit this information if you are not requesting a weapon permit.*** 

 
TRAINING INFORMATION 

 
Where was your required Basic Training held? _______________________________________________________________ 
         Name of Company/Facility and Location 

Date of Basic Training Course completion:  __________________________________________________________ 
                                 

Basic Training instructor’s name and license number: _____________________________________________________ 
                          Name / License Number 

 
Where was your Weapon Training held?  ____________________________________________________________________ 
     Name of Company/Facility and/or Location 

Date of Weapon Training completion: __________________________________________________________ 
 
Weapon Training instructor’s name and license number: _________________________________________________ 

   Name / License Number 

 

BOARD RULE 509-4-.01(1) & (2) WEAPONS. AMENDED. 

(1) No person licensed by the board to carry a firearm shall carry any firearm which is not in operable condition and capable of firing 
live ammunition, and when carrying such a weapon, the licensee shall have on his person live ammunition capable of being fired in the 
weapon which he carries. 

(2) No person licensed or registered by the board to provide security services shall carry a firearm while performing services for a 
private security agency or in-house security agency except while providing actual security services or while going directly to and from 
work (no stopovers allowed en route to or from work). Under no condition will a licensee, registrant or any other employee or agent of a 
licensee carry any sort of firearm or have anyone accompanying them who is carrying a firearm while soliciting new or prospective 
clients. 

TRAINING AFFIDAVITS 

I have read Board Rule 509-4-.01(1) & (2) and understand my 
responsibility to abide by the mandates of the rule.  If granted a 
permit, I shall wear the firearm in the manner prescribed by law. 
 
 
 
___________________________________           ____________ 
Applicant’s Signature                                                Date 

I declare that the above employee is qualified to carry a firearm by 
reason of having received classroom instruction in the use of 
firearms by a board-approved instructor, having received firearm 
range instruction, and having passed the Firearm Training 
Curriculum for Handguns as required in Rule 509-3-.10. 
 
 ___________________________________           ___________ 
Employer’s Signature                                                Date 

 
STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 

________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 

________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 

_______________________________________________ _______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 
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Employee Registration 

 

This form must be completed by the employer and accompanied by Concealed Weapon and/or Shotgun Permit Application 
for the referenced employee.  A detailed description of the duties of the employee and the need for the employee to carry a 
concealed weapon and/or shotgun must be made, with complete justification in support of the request. 
 

 
EMPLOYER REQUEST FOR CONCEALED WEAPON AND/OR SHOTGUN PERMIT 

 

 

I certify and declare that the information presented in this request for a concealed weapon and/or shotgun permit is a true 
description of the actual job duties that are or will be assigned to the above-named employee and a true representation of 
the facts in support of the necessity for carrying a concealed weapon and/or shotgun in the performance of these duties.  I 
understand that any intentional misrepresentation of the facts in support of this application for concealed weapon and/or 
shotgun permit will be grounds for disciplinary action by the Board up to and including revocation of my license. 
 

  

 

 

  

I hereby make request for the following to be issued to ________________________________________________: 
                                                                                                       Employee Name 
 
                       _____concealed weapon            ____shotgun permit  
 
I have detailed below the specific duties that the employee will be assigned, along with complete justification of the 
necessity of carrying a shotgun and/or of carrying a weapon in a concealed manner: 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF ___________________________________ 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS 
 
________ DAY OF _____________________, _________ 
 
_______________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: _____________________ 

 
_______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF THE LICENSE HOLDER 
 

 _______________________________ 
DATE 


