GEORGIA BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS **Conference Call/ZOOM Board Meeting Minutes** January 12, 2022 1:00 P.M.

The Georgia Board of Dispensing Opticians met via teleconference/ZOOM on Wednesday, January 12, 2022. Due to the lack of a quorum, the meeting convened as a committee meeting. The Board's Executive Director hosted the meeting from the Professional Licensing Division, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217.

Board Members Present (1-12-2022):

Gloria Ethridge, Chair Dave Meldrum Glenn Morris

Administrative Staff Present:

Brig Zimmerman, Executive Director HC-1 Amanda Allen, Licensing Supervisor Sarah Collett, Licensure Analyst

Guest:

James Whittington, President Opticians Association of Georgia

Board Members Absent (1-12-2022):

Mary Ramsey Angelic Moore, Consumer Member Amy Stowers, Vice-Chair

Attorney General's Office Representative:

Melissa Tracy, AAG

Ms. Ethridge, Chair, established that no quorum was present and called the committee meeting to order at 8:39 a.m.

The Committee heard from Mr. Whittington regarding the request by OAG and its membership for the Board to consider acceptance of live, online webinars in their rules on continuing education hours. Following a brief discussion, the Board agreed to review their rules during the upcoming rescheduled meeting date.

Mr. Morris motioned, Ms. Ethridge seconded and the Committee of the Board voted to enter into Executive Session in accordance with O.C.G.A. 43-1-2(k) (1) (2), 43-1-2(k) (3) (4), 43-1-2(k) (4) and 50-14-4(b) to hear from legal counsel, Ms. Tracy, Esq. Voting in favor of the motion was Board member Meldrum.

At the conclusion of Executive Session on Wednesday, January 12, 2021, Ms. Ethridge declared the Committee meeting back into "open" session pursuant to the Open and Public Meeting Act O.C.G.A. § 50-14-1 et seq. No votes were obtained during Executive Session.

The committee scheduled a follow up meeting for Wednesday, January 26, 2022 in order to obtain votes for agenda items discussed during todays committee meeting.

Ms. Ethridge adjourned the Committee meeting at 9:13 a.m.

Minute recorded reviewed and edited by: Brig Zimmerman, Executive Director

GLORIA ETHRIDGE

BRIG ZIMMERMAN Chair Executive Director, HC1

Meeting minutes were approved January 26, 2022