Georgia Board of Long-Term Care Facility Administrators **Teleconference Board Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2023** Professional Licensing Boards Division of the Secretary of State 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217

Members Present:

- Barbara Mitchell, Chair
- Barbara Baxter, Vice Chair
- Shanna Dupree
- Beth Cayce
- Staci Kennedy
- Tim Bush
- Norma Jean Morgan
- Chap Nelson

Members Absent:

- Kim Pitsenbarger
- Danny Rampey

Others Present:

- Brad Coman, Executive Director
- Melanie Foster, Licensing Supervisor
- Kristin Mitchell, Board Support Specialist
- Mary Brannen, Senior Assistant Attorney General

Note: Visitors are excused during Executive Session unless scheduled for a personal appearance.

Barbara Mitchell, Chair, noted that a quorum was present, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m., and declared the meeting to be "open" pursuant to the Open and Public Meeting Act, O.C.G.A. §§50-14-1 et seq.

OPEN SESSION

Agenda

Barbara Baxter moved, Tim Bush seconded, and the Board voted to approve the May 15, 2023, agenda.

Minutes

Shanna Dupree moved, Barbara Baxter seconded, and the Board voted to approve the April 13, 2023 Open Meeting minutes and Executive Session minutes.

Petition for Rule Waiver

Joy Powers, The Oaks Carrollton – Waiver of Board Rule 393-4-.02(3)(a), which requires a nursing home to have a minimum of sixty (60) licensed beds in order to be the site of an AIT program. Chap Nelson moved, Tim Bush seconded, and the Board unanimously voted to grant the petition for rule wavier because the Board feels that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based has been achieved, and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to the applicant.

There being no further business, Barbara Mitchell, Chair, declared the meeting adjourned at 9:09 a.m.

The next meeting of the Georgia State Board of Long-Term Care Facility Administrators will be held Wednesday, July 13, 2023 at 9:00 a.m.

Minutes recorded by: Kristin Mitchell, Board Support Specialist Minutes reviewed and edited by: Brad Coman, Executive Director Minutes approved on July 13, 2023.

Sarbara Amitchell Barbara Mitchell, Chair

Brad Coman, Executive Director