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Application for Licensure as a Speech Language Pathologist or Audiologist 

GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY/AUDIOLOGY 

237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217 

Phone (404) 424-9966 * Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology | Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov) 

Provided below is a checklist containing all the things you must do to receive consideration for issuance of a Georgia 

Speech Language Pathology/Audiology License. Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and 

rules governing the practice of Speech Language Pathology/Audiology in the State of Georgia. Visit the Board’s web site 

for additional information. 

NOTE: There are 3 methods by which you can obtain SLP or AUD licensure: 

(*All application fees include a $10 mail in application processing fee) 

IF APPLYING BY “APPLICATION BY CERTIFICATION” (ASHA CCC’S): 

The following documents are required: 

  Completion of Application 

  *Fee: $120 

  Background Consent Form 

  ASHA Verification of Certification sent directly to the board office 

  2.0 CEU (20 Contact hours) If effective date of certification is not within the two years prior to the date of application 

IF APPLYING BY “ENDORSEMENT”: 

The following documents are required: 
 

  Completion of Application 
  *Endorsement Fee: $120 

  Out of State License Verification 

  Background Consent Form 

IF APPLYING BY “APPLICATION/EXAMINATION” (COMPLETION OF PCE OR RPE) 

The following documents are required: 

  Completion of Application 

  *Fee: $120 

  Documentation for Completion of Paid Clinical Experience or Required Professional Experience 

  Praxis Scores 

  Out of State License Verification 

  Background Consent Form 

Please note: If you have ever held a license in another state, you will need to contact the State Board(s) and have them send license 

verification directly to our office. This is required regardless of method by which you are obtaining licensure. 

**Important** 

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing, incomplete or incorrect, your application 

cannot be reviewed by the Board. Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information 

and documentation is complete and correct. Incomplete applications result in DELAYED processing. Incomplete 

applications are withdrawn after sixty (60) days pursuant to administrative policy, applicant must submit a new 

application, fee and supporting documents. 

https://sos.ga.gov/board-speech-pathology-and-audiology
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Application for Licensure as a Speech Language Pathologist or Audiologist 

GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY/AUDIOLOGY 

237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217 

Phone (404) 424-9966 * Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology | Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov) 
 

1. All application fees are non-refundable and include a $10 mail in application processing fee. All applications and fees must 

be mailed to: 

Georgia State Board of Speech Language Pathology/Audiology 

237Coliseum Drive 

Macon, GA 31217 
 

2. The two-page application must be mailed to the Board office at the address listed above along with the required fee. Please 

mail your application in a 9X12, or larger envelope with pages unfolded and unstapled. All questions must be answered. 
 

3. Any background questions answered “yes” will require submission of further documentation. Applicant must submit copies 

of official court documents and an explanation. If applicant has had any criminal convictions, charges, or sanctions by 

another state licensing board, please submit documentation mentioned above. These applications are forwarded to the board 

for review and approval of licensure is at the Board’s discretion. 
 

4. Applicants applying by “Application by Certification” (ASHA CCC’s) must submit the form titled “Verification of 

Certification” and it must be sent directly to the board. If the effective date of certification is not within (2) two years from 

the date of application you must provide 20 contact hours of continuing education, within the past two years. Please provide 

certification along with course outline/description. 
 

5. Applicants applying by “Application/Examination” (PCE or RPE) must submit an original report of the Praxis scores. The 

scores MUST be received no later than 2 years from the beginning date of your PCE or RPE. Please be sure to select the 

appropriate code with ETS to have your PRAXIS scores sent to the Georgia Board. If you do not select the appropriate 

code, your scores will not be sent to our office. It is the licensure candidates’ responsibility to assure that his/her 

PRAXIS scores are sent to the Georgia Board. 
 

6. Applicant applying by “Endorsement” must contact each state in which they hold, or have held, a Speech Language 

Pathology/Audiology license and have them provide verification of licensure directly to the Georgia Board Office. Please 

verify your state is a state approved for endorsement in Georgia. The list can be viewed on our website by accessing the 

Frequently Asked Questions. Please review the Frequently Asked Questions available on the website: 

https://sos.ga.gov/board-speech-pathology-and-audiology. If your state is not on the list, you must obtain licensure by 

another method. 
 

Paid Clinical Experience (PCE) or Required Professional Experience (RPE) - You are not required to have obtained your ASHA 

CCC’s to obtain SLP/AUD licensure. You may obtain licensure based on completion of a PCE/RPE. 

 

*NATIONWIDE FINGERPRINT BACKGROUND CHECK RESULTS: Each applicant for licensure as a     

Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist shall register and provide fingerprints for a nationwide criminal 

background check to be conducted at the applicant’s expense. The instructions and vendor for the background check 

can be found with the documents on the Board’s website (same location you downloaded this application from) and linked to 

on the on the Board’s homepage - “Background Fingerprint Instructions.” SLP Aides and Audiology Assistants are not 

required to be fingerprinted.  

*NOTE: This is a new requirement under O.C.G.A. 43-44-6(a)(14) and O.C.G.A. 43-44-8(a)(6). Failure to comply with this 

requirement will delay the processing of this application for licensure and may result in the application being denied. 

https://sos.ga.gov/board-speech-pathology-and-audiology
https://sos.ga.gov/board-speech-pathology-and-audiology
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Georgia State Board of Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology 
237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217 • (404) 424-9966 

Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology | Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov) 
 

APPLICATION FOR: 
Speech Language Pathologist -or- Audiologist 

 

Application Fee Is Non-Refundable 
(Application fee includes a $10 mail in application processing fee) 

(Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. §16-9-20) 

Applicant is applying for above referenced license by: 

Examination $120 
Endorsement $120 
ASHA $120 

 

 

Name:    
Last First Middle Initial/Maiden Name 

Name as shown on exam records or transcripts (if different): 
 
 

Last First Middle Initial/Maiden Name 

 
Physical Address:                                                                                                                                     
(P.O. Box not acceptable) Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip 

 

Mailing Address (if different):_   
P.O Box/Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip 

 
 

Email Address:    
Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by email. Also, if further information is needed, email is the most efficient way for Board staff to contact you so that 

your application can be processed in the most efficient manner. Your email address will not be shared with any third party. PLEASE PRINT YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS 
CLEARLY 

 
 

Day Phone Number Evening Phone Number Cell Number 

 
 

*Social Security Number Date of Birth 

*(This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. §§ 19-11-1 & 20-3-295, U.S.C.A §§ 551, 20 & 1001) 

 

     Please check this box if you are a military spouse or a transitioning service member of the United 

States armed forces (including the National Guard). 

PERSONAL INFORMATION: 

https://sos.ga.gov/board-speech-pathology-and-audiology
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Check yes or no – If yes is checked, you must send copies of legal documents and a detailed explanation. 
 

1. Yes 
 

2. Yes 

No Are you unable to practice safely because of use of alcohol or other drugs? 
 

No Have you been denied professional licensure or renewal because of a license disciplinary proceeding? 

 

3. Yes No Have you ever had a professional license revoked, suspended, annulled, or otherwise sanctioned, including by 
private order, by any Board or agency in Georgia or any other state, territory, or country? 

 
4.  Yes No Have you been subject to disciplinary action or had your membership revoked by any professional 

organization? 
 

5. Yes No Have you knowingly failed to renew a license during an investigation of a disciplinary matter against you? 
 

6.  Yes No To the best of your knowledge, is there any disciplinary action or 
investigation pending against you by any licensing board, agency, or professional organization? 

 
7. Yes No Have you been convicted of any criminal offense? 

8. Yes No Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a felony, misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation), 
crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime violating federal or state law relating to controlled substances or dangerous drugs? (DWI and 
DUI are not minor traffic violations). For purposes of this question, a “conviction” includes a finding of verdict of guilty, plea of guilty, a 
plea of nolo contendere, or first offender treatment, and also includes adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered on the 
charge (s). NOTE: The answer to this question is “YES” if an arrest or conviction has been pardoned, expunged, dismissed or deferred, 
you pled & completed probation under First offender and/or your civil rights have been restored and/or you have received legal advice 
that the offense will not appear on your criminal record.  

 
If “yes,” please include a certified copy of the court records and final disposition from the court with your application. In the event the file 
no longer exists, you must submit documentation from the court stating that fact. Also include a personal letter of explanation regarding 
each incident. 

9.  Yes No Have you been the defendant in malpractice suit and either entered into a settlement agreement or 
paid court awarded expenses? 

10.  Yes No Have you previously applied for the same license for which you are currently applying? 
If "yes", name under which application was submitted: 

 

 

11 Yes No Do you now hold or have you ever held a license as a Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist in 
any state/jurisdiction? If “yes” complete the following: 

Type of license: Speech Audiology 

State/Jurisdiction  

Date issued   

License No.    

Expiration   

Type of license: Speech Audiology 

State/Jurisdiction  

Date issued   

License No.    

Expiration   

Please contact all State Boards in which you have ever been issued a license and have them send license verification directly 

to our office: GA SLPA Board, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858 

 

 

NOTE: New for 2023 and forward: Fingerprint Background Check is required. See page 1 of the 

instructions. Once you have submitted the application for licensure, register for the background check 

and wait for Board approval to complete the check 

PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND: 
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
 

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and 
belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules and regulations of the 
Georgia State Board of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology (SLPA) and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, 
as amended from time to time. 

 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and 
accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1: 

 

1)    I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current Secure 
and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on the listing of 
acceptable documents on the site  

 

2)    I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age 
or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or 
older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please 
submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 

number and, if needed, SEVIS number. See list of acceptable documents on the site  
 

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary 
action by the Georgia State Board of SLPA and/or criminal prosecution. 

 
My signature below certifies that all information on this application is complete and correct to the best of my knowledge and 
belief. I acknowledge that all statements made on this application concerning my qualifications and training are subject to 
verification by the Georgia State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. I understand that as 
a Speech-Language Pathology Aide I may only provide those services authorized by the Georgia State Board of Examiners 
for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. 

 
 
 

Date Signature of applicant 

 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this 

_    day of  , 2  .   My commission expires on:    
 
 

Notary Seal 
 

Notary Public 


