
Georgia Composite Board of Professional Counselors, Social 
Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists 

 

Board Policies  

(Effective Date: February 21, 2018) 

I. Guidelines for an acceptable contract affidavit for postgraduate experience and   

supervision as it relates to an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (AMFT) license: 
 

The purpose of the Contract for Post Graduate Experience and Supervision is to provide structure 

and accountability for obtaining experience and supervision which qualifies an applicant to apply 

for full licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist. (Rule 135-5-.05 further defines and 

describes the contract.) 
 

➢ For applicants who have already secured a work site and supervision contract 
 

1.  Demographic and basic information re: the applicant and the graduate education experience 
must be completed as directed. (Part I) 
2.  The sections entitled Plan For Direction and Plan For Supervision are to be completed 
in full as directed. (Parts II, III, IV, and V) 

 
➢ For applicants who have not yet secured a work site and supervision contract: 

 

1. Demographic and basic information re: the applicant and the graduate education 
experience must be completed as directed in Part I. (Parts II and III can be completed only 
after a job has been secured.) 

2. The sections entitled Plan for Direction and Plan for Supervision must include a description of 
the applicant’s plans for seeking postgraduate experience and supervision. This might include 
job search activities that are already underway and/or might include consultation with 
qualifying supervisor to mentor the process of seeking a job. (Parts IV and V) 

3. Once a job has been obtained and the supervision plan is in place, Parts II, III, IV and V must 
be completed in detail and the contract must be resubmitted to the Board within fourteen (14) 
business days. 
 

Once a completed contract is registered, any proposed changes or updates to the contract must 

be submitted to the Board for approval. The Board, at its discretion, may ask for additional 

information at any time. 
 
Postgraduate experience or supervision not submitted in the contract affidavit may be declined by 

the Board as meeting the requirements for licensure as an LMFT. 

05-07-2010 Adopted 
 

 

II. Sanctions and Fine Scale for Unlicensed Practice: Composite Board: 

 

Practicing without a valid active Georgia license may constitute grounds, in the Boards 

discretion, for disciplinary sanctions including but not limited to the sanctions provided 

below. 
 

Possible fines to be considered (mitigating circumstances may be taken into account in 

varying the fine amount and/or sanctions and is within the Boards discretion): 



 

1. Practice over one month but not exceeding three months: fine of $100.00 per month; 

2. Practice over three months but not exceeding one year: fine of $500.00; 

3. Practice over one year but not exceeding two years: fine of $750.00; 

4. Practice over two years but not exceeding three years: fine of $1,000.00; 

5. Practice over three years: fine of $1,000.00 plus an additional fine of $100.00 for each 

month worked, or portion thereof, over three years not to exceed $5,000.00. 
 

04-13-2012 Adopted 

 

III. ASWB Advanced Generalist Exam: 

 
The Board will accept for licensure applicants whose passing exam score for the ASWB Advanced 

Generalist Exam (AGE) was obtained on or before January 1, 2012. For Georgia licensure 

applicants who took the Advanced Generalist Exam (AGE) after January 1, 2012, the test score 

will not be accepted. 

 

04-05-2013 Adopted  
 
IV. Associate Professional Counselor (APC) licensure applicants – RE: Contract Affidavits: 
 

If an application for APC is complete except for the Contract Affidavit, and approved by two of 

the three members of the LPC Professional Standards Committee, then the applicant can be 

approved to sit for the exam and the approval letter sent out. The applicant will NOT receive a 

license until the Contract Affidavit is received and approved by the Board, even if the exam has 

been passed. 
 

After one year, pursuant to rule 135-3-.01(3) (b), an incomplete application will be withdrawn and 

the individual will need to submit a new application and fee (transcripts, exam scores etc……from 

first application will be retained, used for new application). 

          09-06-2013 Adopted 
 

 

V. Reinstatement of Lapsed APC/AMFT Licenses: 
 

APC/AMFT licenses are only valid for a five year period. An associate license that lapses for 

failure to renew may be reinstated once with the remaining time period of the initial five (5) 

years. Example: Issued APC/AMFT 1-1-11; Lapses 9-30-2012 = 21 months or 1 year and 9 

months. The one-time reinstatement would be granted giving the associate license a balance of 

39 months (or 3 years and 3 months) left before expiration. 
 

An associate level license that lapses a second time shall not be reinstated. 
 

 

09-06-2013 Adopted 

 

VI. Degree Requirements: 

 

Board rule 135-5-.01(a) 8 and 135-5-.02(a) (11) were amended effective March 17, 2015, and the 

following language (italics/underlined) was removed:  

 

8. “Program Primarily Counseling in Content” and “Program in Applied Psychology” 

means a course of study at an accredited educational institution consisting of a master’s 

degree which includes either as part of the degree program or as additional course work 



completed prior to, during or after the degree program, the following graduate level 

courses.  
 

The Board proposes to add this language back into the sections of these two rules within the next 

few months. In the meantime, by this policy, any application submitted and reviewed by the Board 

from March 17, 2015 until these two rules can be amended, whom the Board deems to have been, 

or would be, adversely affected by the removal of the above referenced language may report 

additional course work completed prior to, during or after the degree program as part of their 

application materials without the filing of a Petition for Variance of a Board rule [O.C.G.A. § 50-13-

9.1(b)(2)]  

Adopted: 08-07-2015 

*Rule amendment to insert this language back into this rule to become effective on or about 02-29-

2016 (Adopted 02-05-2016 Meeting) 

 

VII. Directed Work Experience and Supervision Hours - Counselors: 

 

It is the intention of the Professional Standards Committee, Licensed Professional Counselor 

members, that the Board rules referencing the Directed Work Experience and Supervision for 

licensure as a professional counselor, 135-5-.02, that the required post-master’s hours of 

supervision and work experience be obtained consecutively each and every month for the duration 

of the required months/years of the post-master’s experience. Therefore, a minimum number of 

hours for each month are expected to be accrued.  

 

The maximum time frame for obtainment of the required hours of supervision and work experience 

is within 60 months from start date.  

 

Also, the expectation is these hours are equally spread out over each month of the full 12 

month/yearly periods. Individuals must document a full 12, 24, 36 or 48 months of supervision and 

work experience – whichever their degree/educational credentials dictate.  

 

Contemporaneous logs MUST be kept and shall be subject to Board review 

upon request. 
• NOTE: After September 30, 2018 the post-master’s supervision hours change to 35 per 12 

months/a year and the post-masters work experience hours change to 1000 per 12 months/a 

year.  

Adopted 04-08-2016 

 

VII. Endorsement – Professional Counselors: 

 

Pending amendments adopted pursuant to Board rule 135-3-.04 Licensure by Endorsement, the 

Professional Standards Committee of licensed Professional Counselor Board members hereby 

implement this policy, upon approval by a full Board vote, with regard to licensure by endorsement 

into Georgia as a Professional Counselor: 

 

• Verification of a minimum of two years of unrestricted licensure at the level of a Georgia 

licensed professional counselor, in good standing, from every state licensure Board of every 

state in which the applicant is currently, or has ever been, licensed. In addition, the 

applicant must verify active, unrestricted practice at the level of a Georgia licensed 

professional counselor for a minimum of two (2) years immediately preceding the date of 

application for licensure by Endorsement to the Georgia Board, and 



 

• Verification of passing score on the NBCC NCE or NCMHCE exams; and, 

 

• The Board may request further verification of any credential submitted if deemed necessary 

to evaluate the application. 

 

Adopted 04-08-2016 

 

 

VIII.  Georgia Law Effective July 1, 2022 – Counselors 

 

A. Applications and Licensure received, and date stamped on or before June 30, 

2022: 

 

Individuals who submitted an application for initial licensure as an Associate 

Professional Counselor or Licensed Professional Counselor (APC/LPC) which was 

received and date stamped by the Professional Licensing Board division staff on or 

before June 30, 2022, shall be required to meet the prior statutory licensure 

requirements and Board rules for education and directed work experience in effect prior 

to July 1, 2022.  Specifically, in addition to other requirements, to include those 

previously outlined in O.C.G.A. § 43-10A-11(a), the following shall be required: 

 

For licensure as an Associate Professional Counselor: 

 

• A master’s degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

primarily counseling in content or in a program of applied psychology, which 

degree includes a supervised internship or practicum as part of the degree program 

and registration with the board of an acceptable contract for obtaining the post-

master’s experience under direction and supervision required for licensure as a 

professional counselor.   

 

For licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (not previously licensed as an 

APC): 

 

• A doctoral degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

 primarily counseling in content and requires at least one-year of a supervised 

 internship in a work setting acceptable to the Board; or 

 

• A specialist degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

primarily counseling in content with supervised internship or practicum and two-

years of post-master’s directed experience under supervision in a setting acceptable 

to the Board; or 

 

• A master’s degree in rehabilitation counseling or in a program that is primarily 

counseling in content from a recognized educational institution with supervised 

internship or practicum and three years of post-masters directed experience 

providing rehabilitation services in a rehabilitation setting under supervision. Up to 



one year of such experience may have been in an approved practicum or internship 

placement as part of the degree program; or 

 

• A master’s degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

primarily counseling in content with supervised internship or practicum and four 

years of post-masters directed experience under supervision in a setting acceptable 

to the Board.  Up to one year of such experience may have been in an approved 

practicum placement as part of the degree program: or   

 

• A master’s degree from a recognized educational institution in a program of applied 

psychology with supervised internship or practicum and four years of post-masters 

directed experience under supervision in a setting acceptable to the Board.  Up to 

one year of such experience may have been in an approved practicum placement as 

part of the degree program.          

 

  For licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (previously licensed as an  

 APC) 

Certain individuals submitting an application for a Licensed Professional Counselor 

license who were previously licensed by the Board as an Associate Professional 

Counselor based on an application for APC licensure received and date stamped 

on or before June 30, 2022, and their educational and directed work experience 

requirements having already been approved by the Board, shall not be subject to the 

new statutory provisions for the educational degree or number of years of directed work 

experience under supervision. Their application for a Licensed Professional Counselor 

(LPC) license shall be reviewed and processed pursuant to the statutory requirements 

and Board rules in place on and before June 30, 2022, regardless of their date of 

application. Specifically, the statutory requirements to become licensed as a Licensed 

Professional Counselor, for these referenced individuals, shall include the following: 

 

• A master’s degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

primarily counseling in content or in a program of applied psychology, with 

supervised internship or practicum and four years of post-masters directed experience 

under supervision in a setting acceptable to the Board.  Up to one year of such 

experience may have been in an approved practicum placement as part of the degree 

program.    

 

• However, APCs licensed before July 1, 2022, who meet the educational 

requirements in the current law, specifically, completion of a program that 

consists of 60 semester hours or 80 quarter hours, shall be allowed to move 

forward with the LPC licensing process by completing the required two (2) 

years of Directed Work Experience with appropriate Supervision.  

 

 

B. Applications and Licensure received, and date stamped on or after July 1, 2022: 

 

Individuals submitting an application for an initial license as an Associate Professional 

Counselor or Licensed Professional Counselor (APC/LPC) received and date 

stamped by the Professional Licensing Board Division on or after July 1, 2022 shall 



be required to meet the new statutory provisions for licensure (and any Board rules 

promulgated after July 1, 2022). Specifically, these applicants, in addition to other 

requirements outlined in O.C.G.A. § 43-10A-11(a), must demonstrate the following:  

  

For licensure as an Associate Professional Counselor: 

 

• A minimum of an earned master’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited 

program in clinical counseling or counseling psychology that consists of at least 60 

semester hours or 80 quarter hours with an approved supervised internship or 

practicum that is primarily counseling in content as part of the degree program; and 

 

• Registration with the Board of an acceptable contract for obtaining the post-degree 

experience under direction and supervision that is required for licensure as a 

professional counselor.   

 

For licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor: 

 

• A minimum of an earned master’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited 

program in clinical counseling or counseling psychology that consists of at least 60 

semester hours or 80 quarter hours with an approved supervised internship or 

practicum that is primarily counseling in content as part of the degree program; and  

 

• Two years of post-degree experience under direction and supervision in a work 

setting acceptable to the Board; or  

 

• A doctoral degree from a recognized educational institution in a program that is 

primarily counseling in content and requires at least one-year of a supervised 

internship in a work setting acceptable to the Board.    

 

Approved by Governor Kemp: November 17, 2022 
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