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STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR RESIDENTIAL AND GENERAL CONTRACTORS 
Residential Contractor Division
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217 
404-424-9966 
www.sos.ga.gov 

RESIDENTIAL LIGHT COMMERCIAL INDIVIDUAL REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
••• INSTRUCTIONS AND GENERAL INFORMATION ••• 

Incomplete applications may be administratively withdrawn if any deficiency items are not 
submitted within 60 days of the date of the deficiency notice.

LICENSES REQUIRED 
Licenses are required for persons who contract for any residential (residential-basic or residential-light commercial) or 
general contracting business. See O.C.G.A § 43-41-2 in the Board Law, as well as the Board’s rules for definitions. 

SECTION 1: PERSONAL INFORMATION 
Complete all information including your preferred email address for communication with Board staff. 

A license can only be reinstated in the same way it was originally issued. An individual license (RLCI) can only
be reinstated as an individual license. 

SECTION 3: PERSONAL HISTORY
Answer all questions. Submit additional documentation as requested in the application.

Continuing Education (CE) hours are required for reinstatement - 6 hours for each year since the last time your 
license was renewed. If you have never renewed your initial license, you must have completed 6 hours of continuing
education for each year since the initial issuance of the license. A continuing education hours calculation chart is 
available on the Board website. 

Note: Online and correspondence courses may not exceed 50% of the continuing education hours required pursuant
to Board Rule 553-12-.03(4). 

SECTION 2: FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY and INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 
Answer all of the questions. Submit additional documentation as requested in the application. 

-- Affirm your NET WORTH. If you cannot affirm the minimum net worth, a blank Bank Credit Reference form is     
available online at our website, along with a sample Surety Bond, and Line of Credit sample letter.

-- LIABILITY INSURANCE - You must obtain general liability insurance of not less than $500,000 per occurrence
 and submit a signed, current certificate of insurance on an ACORD FORM with your application. 
Binders,   information pages, policies, and declaration pages are not acceptable.
You, individually, will be listed as the INSURED on the certificate (not a company name).

 CERTIFICATE HOLDER INFO: The certificate must list the State Licensing Board for Residential and 
General Contractors, 237 Coliseum Drive,  Macon, GA 31217 as the 
CERTIFICATE HOLDER.

-- WORKERS COMP - If you are required by Georgia law to have Workers Compensation Insurance, submit proof
 of such to the board. As of this application version date, Georgia requires Workers Comp if you have 3 or
 more employees.

https://sos.ga.gov/state-licensing-board-residential-and-general-contractors
https://sos.ga.gov/page/residential-and-general-contractors-rules-and-regulations
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SECTION 4: APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT
Georgia law requires that the Board verify lawful presence in the U.S. of any natural person 18 years or older who has 
applied for a state benefit, such as a license, certificate, or registration. See O.C.G.A. §50-36-1. 

You are required to submit a copy of a Secure and Verifiable Document (SVD) with this application such as a Driver’s 
License, Passport, or other document, OR a copy of current immigration document(s) which includes either an Alien 
number or I-94 number and SEVIS number if needed. See O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2. 

VETERANS’ PREFERENCE POINTS 
Veterans may be eligible for Veteran's Preference Points to be applied to their examination scores. To be eligible, you 
must have served on active duty in the Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard for at least 90 days during wartime 
or during any conflict when military personnel were committed by the President and either served on active duty for at 
least one year or was discharged for injury or illness incurred in the line of duty. To apply for veterans’ preference 
points, submit a copy of your DD-214 form along with the application. 

KEEP A COPY OF YOUR APPLICATION and DOCUMENTS YOU SEND TO THE BOARD
What you send in stays with the board, so don't send originals unless required, and keep copies for your records. We 
will not return documents to you.

https://sos.ga.gov/sites/default/files/forms/PLBVeteransInfo.pdf
https://sos.ga.gov/sites/default/files/forms/99 Reference - Secure Verifiable Document List 2018.pdf
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RESIDENTIAL LIGHT COMMERCIAL INDIVIDUAL REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
••• APPLICATION CHECKLIST••• 

Incomplete applications may be administratively withdrawn if any deficiency items are not submitted within 
60 days of the date of the deficiency notice.

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that 
all information and documentation are complete, correct, and included.

 Submit Certificates of completion for required continuing education

 Submit non-refundable paymet of $310 ($300 application fee + $10 processing fee) by check or money order 
payable to the State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors. 
Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20. 

 Mail the completed application and supporting documents in a 9 X 12 envelope, unstapled and unfolded. 

KEEP A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS FOR YOUR RECORDS - All original 
materials will be retained by our office and will not be returned to you. 

NOTE: After reading the Board law, rules, and all other information listed above, if you have further questions, please
contact the Board office at 404-424-9966. 

Use this checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. Do not submit this checklist or instruction pages
with your application. 

 Review the Board laws and rules before completing the application. They are available online at
Laws and Rules. You are responsible for knowing the Board laws and rules for your profession.

 Complete each question and each section of the application. Where indicated, sign the application in the 
presence of a  Notary Public. Please write legibly, or type your answers and responses on the form. 

 Submit a Certificate of insurance which must include the following: 
▪ your name (not a company name) listed as the insured.
▪ dates of coverage, and the COI must be signed by the insurance agent/representative.
▪ General liability insurance in a minimum amount of $300,000 per occurrence.
▪ the Certificate Holder listed as the State Licensing Board for Residential and General

Contractors, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217.

 Submit your Secure and Verifiable Document (SVD) such as a Driver’s License, Passport, or another 
acceptable document,  or submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either an Alien 
number or I-94 number and SEVIS number if needed, such as a Permanent Resident Card (front and back).

https://sos.ga.gov/page/residential-and-general-contractors-rules-and-regulations
https://sos.ga.gov/sites/default/files/forms/99 Reference - Secure Verifiable Document List 2018.pdf
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STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR 
RESIDENTIAL AND GENERAL CONTRACTORS 
Residential Contractors Division 
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858 
404-424-9966 
www.sos.ga.gov 

RESIDENTIAL LIGHT COMMERCIAL INDIVIDUAL
 REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 

Application/Reinstatement Fee $310 - ($300 application fee + $10 processing fee) 
Fees are non-refundable
Incomplete applications may be administratively withdrawn if any deficiency items are not submitted 
within 60 days of the date of the deficiency notice.

I am applying to reinstate License # RLCI __________________  which expired on: ___________.

SECTION 1: PERSONAL INFORMATION 

1. Legal Name to
Appear on License:

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

2. Name as shown on exam records, transcripts, or any documentation provided to the Board including maiden name (if different):

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX / MAIDEN 

3. Social Security*: - - Date of Birth: - - 

*This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to M M D D Y Y Y Y 

O.C.G.A. § 19-11-1 et seq. and O.C.G.A. § 20-3-295 et seq., 42 U.S.C.A. § 551 AND 20 U.S.C.A. § 1001. 

4. Physical Address:
(PO BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE) NUMBER AND STREET APT OR SUITE# 

CITY STATE ZIP 

5. Mailing Address:
(if different) NUMBER AND STREET OR PO BOX APT OR SUITE# 

CITY STATE ZIP 

6. Daytime Phone#: - - 
Business or Cell 

Phone#: 
- - 

7. Email Address:

 Check this box if you are a military spouse or a transitioning service member of the United States armed

forces or the National Guard.

Date Entered 

Receipt # 

Submitted $ 

Date Issued 

https://sos.ga.gov/state-licensing-board-residential-and-general-contractors
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SECTION 2: FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
Applicant Name: ____________________________________

 YES 
 NO 

Do your total assets (what is owned) exceed your total liabilities (what is owed)?   
If NO, submit a letter of explanation. 

 YES 2. Have you paid all state and federal income taxes, payroll withholding taxes, and 
unemployment taxes as required by law?  If NO, submit a letter of explanation 
and any supporting documentation.

 YES 
 NO 

3. Have you paid all judgments, taxes, student loans, or child support payments as
required by law? If NO, submit a letter of explanation and any supporting
documentation.

4. During the last 10 years, have you personally, as an individual, been subjected to
an involuntary petition for bankruptcy, been adjudged bankrupt, or sought
protection under bankruptcy laws?
If YES, submit a letter of explanation, discharge documents, and 
schedules A, B, D, and F.

5.

6.

Do you affirm, as an individual, that you have a minimum net worth of 
$25,000?If you do not have, as an individual, a minimum net worth of 
$25,000, submit one of the following: (select one)

 Bank Credit Reference Form, reflecting 24 months' history; or

 $25,000 Surety Bond; or

 $25,000 Line of Credit Letter; or
 $25,000 Letter of Credit.

NOTE – A blank  Bank Credit Reference Form, sample Surety Bond, and Line 
of Credit sample letter are available for download from the Board’s website.

Submit a certificate of insurance on an ACORD form documenting that you 
carry general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000 per 
occurrence.

Do you carry Workers Compensation insurance as required by state law? 
(Georgia requires Workers Compensation Insurance if you have 3 or 
more employees.) 

If YES, submit a certificate of insurance.

1.

  YES

  NO 

 YES
 NO 

7.

 NO 

 YES 
 NO 

 YES, 
I have this to submit. 

 Not required (n/a)
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SECTION 3: PERSONAL HISTORY
Applicant Name: ___________________________________

1a.  Have you ever been arrested, charged, convicted, or sentenced for any felony, misdemeanor, DUI, DWI, or other 
offense?          ___ YES           ___NO 

1b.  Have you ever entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or been given First Offender status for any felony, 
misdemeanor, DUI, DWI, or other offense?             ___YES           ___NO 

 If YES on Question 1a or 1b, you must submit the following: 
o a signed letter of explanation for each offense; and
o a certified copy of court documents showing arrest, dismissal, or final court disposition -

conviction/sentencing documents with a judge’s signature; and
o a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation/parole officer regarding your status or

completion of any probation/parole.

2. Has any licensing board or agency in any state, including Georgia, ever:
• reprimanded, fined, or disciplined you?       ___YES ___NO
• denied issuance of licensure, renewal, or reinstatement?     ___YES    ___NO
• revoked, suspended, restricted, sanctioned, or probated your license?  ___YES    ___NO
• requested or accepted surrender of your license?         ___YES       ___ NO

If YES to any question in #2, submit a signed letter of explanation and a certified copy of the action taken 
against your license with relevant supporting documents.  

3. Will you be conducting business as a sole proprietor using a trade name?

If YES, list the trade name and physical address of the company with which you will be affiliated
through this license.

TRADE NAME 

NUMBER AND STREET      (PO BOX NOT ACCEPTABLE) APT OR SUITE# 

CITY STATE ZIP 

Reminder - To perform work on behalf of a business organization (limited liability company, corporation, 
partnership, business trust, joint venture, or other legal entity), you must submit the Qualifying Agent 
application. If you are a sole proprietorship, you should be applying for an Individual license.  

 YES  NO 
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SECTION 4: APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and do understand the current state laws and rules
and regulations of the Board for which I am applying for licensure and I agree to abide by these laws and rules. 

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a professional license, as referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1, 
administered by the Professional Licensing Boards Division, I also verify one of the following with respect to my
application for a public benefit (check one): 

 I am a United States citizen.  
Please submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as a driver’s license, 
passport, or other documents as indicated on the Board’s website.

OR
 I am not a United States citizen. 
I am either a legal permanent resident of the United States or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under 
the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland 
Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration 
document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

I also hereby verify that I am 18 years of age or older and I have provided at least one secure and verifiable
document, as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with this affidavit. 

In making the above representations under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a 
false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-
20, and face criminal penalties as allowed by such criminal statute. I also understand that any failure to make full and 
accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure. 

Printed Name of Applicant 

Signature of Applicant 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

DAY OF , 20 

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE
My Commission Expires: 

O.C.G.A. § 45-17-6 requires legible seals for notarized documents. 
If an embossed seal is used a foil overlay or shading should be applied 
to make the seal, state, title, name, and county legible when digitized. 

NOTARY SEAL 
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