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GEORGIA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217 
Phone (404) 424-9966 * sos.ga.gov/georgia-board-massage-therapy 
        

      APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE MASSAGE THERAPY 
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 

Please read these instructions, the Georgia Law (O.C.G.A. § 43-24A), General Provisions and the Board Rules pertaining to 
the practice of massage therapy in Georgia carefully prior to completing application. The Board may deny a license for any 

reason set forth in O.C.G.A. § 43-1-19. 
 

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE MASSAGE THERAPY IN GEORGIA UNLESS YOU ARE ISSUED A 
LICENSE BY THE BOARD. PLEASE ONLY SUBMIT PAGES 3-11 TO THE BOARD OFFICE. 

ALL APPLICANTS MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING: 
APPLICATION 

FEE 
The application fee is non-refundable & non-transferable and cannot be combined with any other fee. Money 
Orders and Personal Checks accepted; made payable to The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. Checks 
returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. §16-9-20. Please refer to 
the posted fee schedule on the website. If you have a current license in another jurisdiction you must apply 
by endorsement in accordance with Board Rules. 

 
APPLICATION 

Type or print in ink. You must respond to all the questions and requests on the application, and have your 
signature and the application notarized, or the application will be returned for you to complete. Applications 
are void after 60 days from the date of notification of application deficiencies. If all required 
supplemental documents are not received within that 60-Day window your application will be withdrawn 
and you will need to reapply.   

SECURE & 
VERIFIABLE 
DOCUMENT 

Changes to Georgia Law (OCGA 50-36-1) provide that all applicants for licensure provide a “Secure & 
Verifiable Document” with their application. The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 
(“IIREA”) provides that “not later than August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on 
the Department of Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed 
and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(f). The Attorney General may modify this 
list on a more frequent basis, if necessary. ALL APPLICANTS FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST 
LICENSURE MUST PROVIDE THIS DOCUMENTATION OR THE APPLICATION WILL NOT BE 
PROCESSED.  

CRIMINAL 
BACKGROUND 

CHECK 
(See the 
instructions posted 
on the same site 
you obtained this 
application from 
for printing) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please register to have your fingerprints taken then submit your application or complete them simultaneously. If 
no application is on file with the Board within 30 days of your print registration, approval to get printed will be 
declined and you will need to pay another fee to register for prints. Criminal background checks are required by 
the law (O.C.G.A. § 43-24A-8, 13) for each application submitted. Refer to the Georgia Board of Massage 
Therapy website at sos.ga.gov/georgia-board-massage-therapy under “Forms” section for “MT FIELDPRINT-
GAPS Fingerprinting Instructions.” Applicants must register with FIELDPRINT and follow the guidelines 
found on their website at https://www.fieldprintgeorgia.com.  . DO NOT MAIL FINGERPRINT CARDS TO 
THE BOARD. THEY WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU AND THIS WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING 
OF YOUR APPLICATION. ** DISCLAIMER: The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy is not responsible 
for unacceptable or rejected fingerprints.  The vendor is responsible for providing acceptable fingerprints. 
As of June 1, 2020, your application signals to staff to approve you to get your prints taken. Once approved, 
you will receive an email informing you to go to a print location to get printed within 90 days of the date of 
notification.  As a result, it is imperative that you complete your fingerprints within that timeframe.  If you 
fail to do so, you will have to pay an additional registration fee with FIELDPRINT-GAPS. Your results are 
only available for thirty (30) days from the date you submit your prints; therefore, after prints have been 
taken, you must notify the Board by sending an email to PLB-Healthcare2@sos.ga.gov. If the thirty (30) 
days have expired and your results are no longer available on the FIELDPRINT SITE, you may be 
required to have your prints retaken. PLEASE NOTE: If you want to challenge the accuracy of the 
background results or need to correct or update the record, you will be given 30 days to do so in the 
manner prescribed on the Privacy Rights you were provided.   
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ADDRESS 
CHANGES 

Once a license is issued, you may update your e-mail, mailing and physical address online, or in writing to the 
Board office. If you need to change your e-mail, mailing and/or physical address WHILE this application is 
pending, please notify this office in writing, by mail or by email. The post office does not forward mail from the 
board. NOTE: All name changes must be submitted to the Board office and cannot be done online. Change 
requests may be emailed in a PDF format to PLB-Healthcare2@sos.ga.gov, Attention: Massage Therapy Board. 
When writing the Board regarding a name change you must include a copy of the official document that 
changes the name. (Social Security Cards and Drivers Licenses are not acceptable.) DO NOT SEND 
ORIGINALS. IF YOU DO, THEY WILL NOT BE RETURNED. 

 
ALL APPLICANTS MUST ALSO SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING 

 

CITIZENSHIP   Please see pages 7, 9 and 10 of this application for new requirements to verify your US Citizenship or lawful 
presence in the USA to work. Your application cannot be processed without this information. 

MT 
EDUCATIONAL 
PROGRAMS 

Refer to Board rule 345-8 “Requirements – Board Recognized Massage Therapy Education Program” - Only 
those schools whose programs meet the requirements set forth in this Board rule will be considered for the 
purposes of the Georgia Board massage therapy education program licensure requirement.   

PROOF OF 
LIABILITY 
INSURANCE 

Applicants must submit proof of liability insurance coverage for bodily injury, property damage, and 
professional liability in coverages and amounts of not less than $1 million per occurrence, with not less than a 
minimum annual aggregate of $3 million for all occurrences. A license will not be issued if this is not received.      

 



Page 3 of 13 08/29/2023  

 
 

GEORGIA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
237 Coliseum Drive * Macon, Georgia 31217-3858 

(404) 424-9966 * sos.ga.gov/georgia-board-massage-therapy 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE – MASSAGE THERAPIST 
NON-REFUNDABLE & NON-TRANSFERABLE APPLICATION FEE: $135.00  

(includes $125.00 application fee + $10.00 processing fee) 
(Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. §16-9-20). 

        
         Applying By (Please check only one): APPLICATION               ENDORSEMENT _________ 

PART I: PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 

 
NAME   _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
LAST                                                                FIRST                                                                            MIDDLE                                                   MAIDEN 

NAME (as shown on documentation or transcripts if different): 
 
                __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

LAST                                                                FIRST                                                                            MIDDLE                                                   MAIDEN 

SOCIAL SECURITY #                              -               -                         DATE OF BIRTH      M    M     -    D    D    -    Y    Y    Y    Y 
(THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED AND DISCLOSED                                           (APPLICANTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR 
TO STATE AND FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. §§ 19-11-1 & 20-3-295,                                      OLDER AT TIME OF APPLICATION) 
U.S.C.A §§ 551, 20 & 1001) 

 

PHYSICAL 
ADDRESS           

HOME ADDRESS (P.O. BOX, NOT ACCEPTABLE)                                                                                        APT # 

- 
 

CITY                                                                                                                                                                                                          STATE                               ZIP 

If you are granted a license, your name, mailing address and license number are public information and your mailing address will appear on the internet. Your 
physical address is required, if different than the mailing address. You must immediately notify the Board in writing of an address change. 

 
MAILING 
ADDRESS           

MAILING ADDRESS – A P.O. Box is acceptable as a mailing address (IF DIFFERENT THAN HOME ADDRESS)                                                                   APT # 

- 
 

CITY                                                                                                                                                                                     STATE                                ZIP 

DAYTIME PHONE                             -                               -                                                         OTHER PHONE                     -                               - 
 
 
 

E-MAIL ADDRESS:    
(Please print clearly) 

Male:    Female:    

 
Acknowledgement of your application will be sent by e-mail. Also, if any additional information is needed, e-mail is the most efficient way for 
the Board staff to contact you so that your application can be processed in the most efficient manner. Please notify the Board of any e-mail 
address change. YOUR E-MAIL ADDRESS WILL NOT BE SHARED WITH ANY THIRD PARTY. 
 

Please check this box if you are a military spouse or a transitioning service member of the United States Armed Forces  
(including the National Guard) as defined in O.C.G.A. § 43-1-34. 
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PART II: MASSAGE THERAPY EDUCATION INFORMATION 
 

WHAT CITY AND STATE, COUNTRY DID YOU ATTEND HIGH SCHOOL?    
 

 NAME, ADDRESS OF HIGH SCHOOL    
 

       Did you graduate?   Yes ________________(Graduation Date)       No 
 
       If you did not graduate from high school, do you have a GED or other high school equivalency certificate? A copy of High School  
      Diploma, GED, or Certificate may be requested as evidence of completion/graduation. 
 

       Yes    ____________ (Completion Date)  No   
 
 

 NAME OF MASSAGE THERAPY EDUCATION PROGRAM - NOTE: Only those schools whose programs meet the requirements set forth in  
 Board Rule Chapter 345-8 “Requirements – Board Recognized Massage Therapy Education Program” will be considered for license eligibility; however, you may be  
 required to submit proof of graduation from any other massage school you may have attended. 

 
 
       Address of Massage School                                                                   City                                    State              Zip 
       
       a. Dates Attended:                         (Start)                        (Completion)           b. Graduation Date:                           
 
       c. Type of Program (Circle One):     Diploma      or        Certificate  
 
          Was any portion of your massage therapy education conducted online or via distance learning?   Yes              No 

If YES, you must have your school submit documentation regarding which course(s) were taught online/distance learning and the number of clock 
hours that were awarded for each of those course(s).  An Official Transcript from your school showing the date of completion (graduation date) and 
degree awarded must be forwarded directly to Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. Copies of certificates/diplomas DO NOT meet accepted.  

 

PART III: PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE/CERTIFICATIONS 
 
      Are you licensed to practice as a Massage Therapist in any other state(s)? (    ) Yes  (    ) No  
      Were you licensed as a Massage Therapist during a “grandfathering” period? (   ) Yes (   ) No 
 

LIST STATE(S) OF LICENSURE AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST (Include additional sheets if necessary) 
 

State Originally Licensed _   License No. _  Current? 
 

YES 
 

NO 
Other State License    License No.   Current? YES NO 
Other State License    License No.   Current? YES NO 
Other State License    License No.   Current? YES NO 

* NOTE: Verification of licensure as a massage therapist from other state or jurisdiction must be verified to Georgia Board of 
Massage Therapy. You must contact the state agency and have an original verification of licensure mailed or emailed directly to 
the Board, with the state’s seal on the document. Please contact state agency for fees and processing time.  Copy of licensure card 
is not accepted as verification of license.  The Georgia Board requires all applicants to meet, at a minimum, licensure 
requirements for state of Georgia; therefore, any applicant who was licensed during a “grandfathering in” period must meet the 
current Georgia requirements for licensure. 

 
     Do you hold a license or certification for any other profession? (   ) Yes   (    ) No 
      LIST OTHER PROFESSIONAL LICENSE(S) OR CERTIFICATION(S) YOU HAVE EVER HELD*: 
 

Type    Number   State   Current? 
 

YES 
 

NO 
Type    Number   State   Current? YES NO 
Type    Number   State   Current? YES NO 

 
* NOTE: The Board does not require license/certification (other than as a massage therapist) listed above to be verified.  You may provide 
copies of your licensure card or certificate if you choose to do so.   However, if you have had any disciplinary action taken against your 
license or certification, you must provide the Board with final disposition of the action(s) taken. 
 
Do you have liability insurance coverage for bodily injury, property damage, and professional liability in                 (  ) Yes     (  ) No     
coverages and amounts of not less than $1 million per occurrence, with not less than a minimum annual  
aggregate of $ 3 million for all occurrences?           
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Have you provided  
them Page 7? 

Place of practice: 
Employer Name, City, State 

Job Title/Responsibilities Dates of Employment: 

 
YES        NO    

 
YES        NO    

 
YES        NO    
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PART IV: EXAMINATION 
    HAVE YOU SUCCESSFULLY PASSED ONE OF THE FOLLOWING EXAMS? YOU MUST ANSWER A., B., & C. 
 

A. National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB): NCBTMB, “NATIONAL 
CERTIFICATION EXAM FOR THERAPEUTIC MASSAGE”; (NCETM,) THE “NATIONAL CERTIFICATION EXAM FOR 
THERAPEUTIC MASSAGE AND BODYWORK” (NCETMB), OR THE NATIONAL EXAMINATION FOR STATE LICENSING 
(NESL)? 

YES        NO          IF YES, PLEASE INDICATE TESTING DATE: (MONTH/DAY/YEAR)    
 
    Exam Taken (Circle One):        NCBTM        NCBTMB         NESL       BCTMB 

OR, 
B. Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) “MASSAGE AND BODYWORK LICENSING 
EXAMINATION (MBLEx)? 

 

YES        NO       IF YES, PLEASE INDICATE TESTING DATE: (MONTH/DAY/YEAR)    

OR, 
C. Are you a recent graduate who plans to take one of the above noted exams?       YES        NO 

           (Answer “no” if you have already taken an exam). 
 
INDICATE THE EXAM NAME AND DATE YOU PLAN TO TAKE THE EXAM: 
(MONTH/DAY/YEAR)                                                              CIRCLE ONE: NCBTM     NCBTMB     NESL    or      MBLEx 
 
D.  If you took a state specific massage therapy examination, indicate the name of the state and the date 
you took the exam. State:                                                                 Exam Date:                                      

 
*NOTE: Official verification from NCBTMB, FSMTB or your state showing date taken and passing score must be provided to 
the Board. When you complete your application, contact NCBTMB or FSMTB to request that your scores be sent in a PDF 
format to PLB-Healthcare2@sos.ga.gov or mailed directly to the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy, 237 Coliseum Drive, 
Macon, Georgia 31217-3858. Only original copies are accepted. EXAM SCORES WILL BE HELD UP TO 60 DAYS FROM 
RECEIPT. IF NO APPLICATION IS RECEIVED WITHIN THAT TIMEFRAME, THE SCORES WILL BE 
DISCARDED. You will then be required to have them submitted again to complete your application.  

 
NOTE: CERTIFICATION BY NCBTMB, FSMTB, OR ANOTHER STATE IS NOT A LICENSE TO PRACTICE MASSAGE THERAPY 

IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA. YOU MUST OBTAIN A PROFESSIONAL MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSE FROM THE GEORGIA 
BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY TO PRACTICE IN GEORGIA. 

 

PART V:  EMPLOYMENT 
     ARE YOU CURRENTLY WORKING AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST?        YES       NO 
    If no, last date of employment as a massage therapist:    
 

    IF APPLICABLE, PROVIDE THE LAST THREE PLACES OF EMPLOYMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST,     
    LISTING THE MOST RECENT EMPLOYER FIRST: 
    ** Please indicate your prior massage therapist employment information below.  The Verification of Employment (Pg. 7) 
    form will not be accepted if the employer is not listed on this application below: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

* NOTE: Submit the Verification of Employment form (page 7) to your most recent Employer to verify practice / 
employment as a Massage Therapist. Section II of the Verification of Employment form must be completed by your 
employer. The form will not be accepted if completed by the applicant. If you are self-employed as a MT, complete 
the Verification of Employment form yourself, indicate self- employed, and sign it. 
***IF YOU HAVE NEVER WORKED AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST, STATE SO HERE AND SIGN: 
                                                                                                                    Signed:    



 

 

 

PART VI:  BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
If you answer yes to the following question, you must attach a detailed, signed letter of explanation, and a certified copy of 

the final disposition by any court(s). If you have not yet gone to court, a certified copy of the arrest incident report or arrest 

citation must be proved. You are expected to read this question carefully and completely and to provide updated information 

for any changes occurring while this application is being processed. You will be asked to certify under oath that the answer is 

true and correct.  Failure to answer this question truthfully and correctly may be grounds for denial of your application 

and/or other disciplinary action if licensure is granted. The Board must review the letter of explanation and any supporting 

documents; your application will not be considered complete and submitted to the Board until the information is received. 

  
 YES     NO 

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN ARRESTED, CONVICTED, SENTENCED, PLED GUILTY, OR NOLO 
CONTENDERE OR BEEN GIVEN FIRST OFFENDER STATUS FOR ANY FELONY, 
MISDEMEANOR OR ANY OFFENSE OTHER THAN A MINOR TRAFFIC VIOLATION? (DWI AND 
DUI or any traffic incident resulting in an arrest warrant, arrest or jail time is not a minor traffic violation. 
For purposes of this question; “felony” includes any offenses which, if committed in this state, would be 
deemed a felony and a “conviction” includes a finding or verdict of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere, in a 
criminal proceeding regardless of whether an appeal of the conviction has been sought, and, also includes 
any adjudication of guilt or sentence withheld or not entered pursuant to the provisions of Code Sections 
§§42-08-64, relating to first offenders, or any comparable rule or statue. (Note: You must respond, “yes” if 
you pled and completed probation as a First Offender.)   

If you answer “yes” to any of the questions below, you must submit a detailed, signed letter of explanation and request that 
the licensing board or agency send you a certified copy of the action(s) taken against your license or certification with relevant 
supporting documents directly back to you. Your will not be considered complete until the information is received. 
HAS ANY LICENSING BOARD OR AGENCY IN GEORGIA OR ANY OTHER STATE, JURISDICTION OR TERRITORY 
EVER: 

 YES     NO      DENIED YOUR LICENSE APPLICATION, RENEWAL, OR REINSTATEMENT? 
 

 YES     NO      REVOKED, SUSPENDED, RESTRICTED, OR PROBATED YOUR LICENSE? 
 

 YES     NO      REPRIMANDED, FINED, DISCIPLINED, REQUESTED OR ACCEPTED SURRENDER OF   

                  YOUR LICENSE? 

 YES     NO      HAVE YOU FAILED TO RENEW A LICENSE, CERTIFICATION OR REGISTRATION DURING AN 
 

 INVESTIGATION AGAINST YOU BY A LICENSING BOARD OR OTHER AGENCY? 
 

 YES     NO      IS THERE ANY DISCIPLINARY ACTION OR INVESTIGATION PENDING AGAINST YOU BY ANY  

                           LICENSING BOARD, AGENCY, OR NATIONAL CERTIFYING ORGANIZATION? 

 YES     NO      HAVE   YOU   FAILED   OR   BEEN   REFUSED   AN   EXAMINATION   BY   ANY    

                          PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATION, BOARD OR OTHER REGULATORY ENTITY? 

 YES     NO      HAVE YOU EVER HAD ANY PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY SUITS FILED AGAINST YOU? 
 

 YES     NO      HAVE YOU USED DRUGS OR OTHER INTOXICATING SUBSTANCES TO THE EXTENT THAT  

                          THESE AFFECTED YOUR PROFESSIONAL COMPETENCE? 

 
IMPORTANT: Have you registered to complete the background check through the Georgia Applicant Processing 
Services (GAPS) as explained in the instructions on page 1?                     Yes:          No:     

If No, when will you be completing this requirement? ________________. 

NOTE: AS EXPLAINED IN THE INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 1, YOUR APPLICATION FOR 
LICENSURE CANNOT BE PROCESSED WITHOUT THE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND 

CHECK HAVING BEEN COMPLETED. 
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 GEORGIA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217        
Phone: (404) 424-9966   
sos.ga.gov/georgia-board-massage-therapy 

 

PART VII:  APPLICANT SIGNATURE AND AFFIDAVIT 
 

YOU MUST SIGN THIS AFFIDAVIT IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY 
 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and 
rules and regulations of the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy, and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, 
as amended from time to time. 

 
By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be 
true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1: 

 
    1)    I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current 

Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other 
document as indicated on pages 8 & 9 of this application. 

 

 
 

2) _____ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 
years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal 
Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the 
Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency.   Please submit a 
copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien 
number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number (See pages 8 & 9 of this 
application). 

 
In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result 
in disciplinary action by the Georgia State Board of Massage Therapy and/or criminal prosecution. 

 
 

Signature of Applicant    
 

Date    
 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 
 

               day of                                   , 20   
 

                                                                              (Notary Seal) 
Notary Public Signature 

 
My commission expires:     

 

Note to Notary:  Application should be signed with proper ID. 
 

 

 

  



 

PLEASE SEPARATE THIS FORM, GIVE TO YOUR MOST RECENT EMPLOYER TO COMPLETE, AND 
RETURN THE COMPLETED, SIGNED AND NOTARIZED FORM TO THE BOARD: 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Instructions: 

GEORGIA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
237 COLISEUM DRIVE, MACON, GEORGIA 31217-3858 

 

VERIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT 
1. Applicant: complete Section I and sign. 
2. Submit this form to your most recent employer (Personnel Director, Human Resources Department) who can 
provide verification of your practice as a massage therapist. 
3. If you are self-employed, complete the Verification of Employment form yourself, indicate self-employed, and sign it. 
4. Return the completed, signed and notarized form with your application materials to the Board. 

Section I (To be completed by applicant) 
 
 

Printed Name of Applicant:    
Last                      First                 Middle                Maiden 

 
Applicants Address:    

Street                               City                                  State              Zip Code 
 

RELEASE:  I do hereby consent to and authorize the release of any and all records and information concerning my employment as a 
Massage Therapist to the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy. I understand this information is required as part of the application for 
licensure process 

 
Signature of Applicant:                                                                                 Applicant Phone Number(s): 

 
 

APPLICANT – DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE 
 

(If self-employed, complete this section for your business) 

Section II (To be completed by person verifying employment) 
Instructions: 
1. Complete Section II of this form. If self-employed, complete this section indicating your business name, address, etc…. 
2. Massage Therapy employment must have been for compensation. 
3. Return this form to the applicant to submit with their application for licensure. 

 

1. Name of Business:                                                                                    Phone Number:    
 

2. Physical Address of Location:    
(City/State/Zip Code) 

 

3. Applicant’s Position/Title:     4. Employment Dates: From:                    To:    
 

5. Physical Location of practice (mobile, contract, or same as above):    
 

6. Printed name and title of person verifying employment:    
(Name)                                             (Title) 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this 

 
               day of                                   , 20   

 
Signature of Employer/Person completing this form 

 

                                                                                (Notary Seal) 
Notary Public Signature 

 
My commission expires:     
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APPLICANT:  PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW THAT YOU 
POSSESS.  RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF YOUR APPROPRIATE 

DOCUMENTATION. 
 

License Applied For: Massage Therapist 
Name (Please print clearly) 

 
       Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 

Issued February 20, 2018 by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia 
 
  The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by Senate Bill 160, signed into law as Act No.  
  27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of  
  Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney  
  General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g).   The Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary. 

 
The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents 
that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or 
immigration status. 

 

          An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 
 

          An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 
 

          An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,  
Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain 
Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer,  
such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50- 
36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]1 

 
          An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto  
 Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the  
 Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the  
 bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 
 

          An expired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe, provided that it contains a photograph  
 of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye  
 color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer. A listing of federally recognized Native American tribes may be  
 found at: https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 
          An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR §  

274a.2] 
 

          An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);  
8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 
 

          A unexpired passport issued by a foreign government provided that such passport is accompanied by a United States  
Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form specifying 
an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law2 [O.C.G.A. § 50- 
36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 
 

          An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A.  

§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 
 
    
1 For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of 
identification when voting pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417. 
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          An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 
 

          An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 
 

          An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card [O.C.G.A. §50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR §  
41.2] 

 
          An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 
          A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)  

(Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 
 

          A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)  
(Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 
  _____ Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State (Form DS-1350) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);  

6 CFR § 37.11] 
 

  _____Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-545) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);  
6 CFR § 37.11] 

 
  _____Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-240) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 

 6 CFR § 37.11] 
 
  _____An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, municipal authority, or territory of the United  

States bearing an official seal [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 
 
  _____When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an applicant may submit either an expired or  

unexpired document that is listed above as a secure and verifiable document. [O.C.G.A. §§ 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)] 
 
  _____When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1, an individual may submit the aggregate forms  

of identification authorized by O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1(e). 
 

          In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or program, an agency is required by federal 
 law to accept a document or other form of identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other  
 form of identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular program or administration  
 of that particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36- 2(c)] 
 
 
 

  _________________________ 
  2Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued by foreign nations to satisfy the requirements  
   for submission of secure and verifiable documents to only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States Department of  
   Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s lawful  
   immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law. 
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Office of the Secretary of State 

Name-Based Criminal History Record Information Consent/Inquiry Form 
 

 
I hereby authorize                                                                                                             to conduct an inquiry for the purpose 

       Agency/Company 
listed below and receive any Georgia and/or national criminal history record information as authorized by state and federal law. 

 

Full Name (print)  

Address  

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number 
    

 
   Please check ONLY one of the boxes listed below:  

This authorization is valid for                                        days from date of signature. 
 

I,                                                                                                        , give consent to the above-named entity  
to perform periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my employment. 

 
     

   Signature     Date 
 

AREA BELOW IS FOR AGENCY USE ONLY 
Date of Inquiry:                              Time of Inquiry:                               Operator’s Initials:    
 
Purpose Code Used: (check one) 

NON-CRIMINAL JUSTICE PURPOSES 
 E - Employment 
 M - Working with Mentally Disabled 
 N - Working with Elderly 
 W - Working with Children 
 P - Public Records (no consent required) 
 F – Probate Court / Weapons Carry License 

PERSONAL REQUEST (INDIVIDUAL OR THEIR ATTORNEY) 
 U - Personal Copy 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE 
 J - Civilian Criminal Justice Employment (State & III Info Received) 
 Z - Sworn Criminal Justice Employment (State & III Info Received) 

The inquiry resulted in the following: (check all that apply) 
 No Criminal Record Available 
 Criminal Record (Attached/Released) 
 No NCIC/GCIC Warrant 
 Possible NCIC/GCIC Warrant (List Wanting Agency Below) 

 
    Wanting Agency Name:     

    Wanting Agency Telephone:    

    Agency Designee Signature and Title: _______________________________________ Date:____________ 
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                               Attachment A 
 

NON-CRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS 
 

As an applicant who is the subject of a Georgia and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) national 
fingerprint/biometric-based criminal history check for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application 
for employment or a license, an immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you 
have certain rights which are discussed below. All notices must be provided to you in writing. These 
obligations are pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 552a, and 
Title 28 Code of Federal Regulation (CFR), 50.12, among other authorities. 

• You must be provided an adequate written FBI Privacy Act Statement (dated 2013 or later) when you 
submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act Statement must explain 
the authority for collecting your fingerprints and associated information and whether your fingerprints 
and associated information will be searched, shared or retained.

• You must be advised in writing of the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of your 
FBI criminal history record as set forth at 28 CFR 16.34.

• You must be provided the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in your 
FBI criminal history record (if you have such a record).

• If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or 
complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the employment, license, or 
other benefit based on the information in the FBI criminal history record.

• If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record 
for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the 
record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information 
regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity- history-summary-
checks and https://www.edo.cjis.gov. You may find information regarding how to obtain a copy of your 
Georgia criminal history record on the GBI website: https://gbi.georgia.gov/services/obtaining-criminal-
history-recordinformation-frequently-asked- questions.

• If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you 
should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. 
Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI by submitting a request via 
https://www.edo.cjis.gov. The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the 
questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of 
an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to 
your record in accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 
16.34.) If the disputed arrest occurred in the State of Georgia, you may send your challenge directly to 
the GCIC. Contact information for the GCIC can be found at https://gbi.georgia.gov/services/obtaining-
criminal-history-record-information- frequently-askedquestions.

• You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will 
use it only for the authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, 
regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime 
Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.
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                                                        Attachment B 

                                                          
Privacy Act Statement 

 
This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 fingerprint card. 

Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is 
generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities 
include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal 
regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may 
affect completion or approval of your application. 

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be 
predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics 
may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the 
purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation Identification (NGI) 
system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available 
records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints 
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your 
fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI. Routine 
Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and 
may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses 
as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the 
FBI’s Blanket 

Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized 
non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other 
suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; 
criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety. 
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