GEORGIA State BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

237 Coliseum Drive • Macon, Georgia 31217-3858 404-424-9966 - Telephone The Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists | Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

APPLICATION INITIATION FORM FOR REGISTRATION WITH THE GEORGIA BOARD FOR LICENSURE AS A PSYCHOLOGIST BY <u>EXAMINATION, EXAM WAIVER, ENDORSEMENT, CPQ OR I/O</u>

Effective July 1, 2014, The Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (hereafter the "Board") has established a more efficient, streamlined, and revised application process for applicants for licensure as a psychologist in Georgia. The Board has collaborated with the **Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards** (ASPPB) to process licensure applications through their **Psychology Licensure Universal System** (PLUS) program.

As a result, the application process will provide applicants with a permanent record of their application and supporting documents that will be retrievable from ASPPB for the rest of the applicant's professional career.

In addition, participation is available to all applicants in the **Certificate of Professional Qualification in Psychology** program (CPQ) with ASPPB <u>if the</u> <u>applicant desires to apply</u>. CPQ is a designation provided by ASPPB that will provide applicants with the mobility for licensure consideration in any jurisdiction that participates in the ASPPB PLUS program should you desire to practice in that jurisdiction.

The application for licensure as a Psychologist in Georgia will require an applicant to:

- Submit to the Board an APPLICATION INITIATION FORM registering their intent for licensure to be obtained by exam, exam waiver, endorsement, CPQ or I/O, the \$110.00 fee (includes a \$10 mail in application processing fee), a Secure & Verifiable Document (SVD) and an Affidavit of Citizenship (see instructions on the form).
- After submission of the Application Initiation registration form, please register with Fieldprint/GAPS to complete a fingerprint background check as required by O.C.G.A. §§ 43-39-6 and 43-39-8(b)(6). The applicant shall be responsible for all fees associated with the performance of such background check - see instructions on how to register and complete the fingerprint check posted on the Board website. <u>You must submit the application</u> <u>initiation registration form prior to you registering for the fingerprint</u> <u>background check.</u>

- 3. Once a complete Application Initiation form is received, the applicants name and contact information will be sent to ASPPB who will contact the applicant by e-mail and guide them through the PLUS registration to begin the application for licensure process. A separate fee is required, payable to ASPPB, to complete the licensure application.
- 4. ASPPB will review and verify the application and work with applicants to obtain all required supporting documents. Following their review, ASPPB will submit the completed PLUS application to the Board for review.
- 5. Once a PLUS application is approved by the Board, applicants will then be notified of their eligibility to register and sit for the <u>ASPPB EPPP</u>, <u>Parts I</u> (<u>Knowledge</u>) and <u>Part II (Skills) exam</u> and the Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) exam. Upon passage of both parts of the EPPP and Laws & Rules exams, applicants are to notify the Board's administrative staff they are ready to be scheduled for the next available Oral Examination date.
- For applicants by Examination, the Oral Exam may be scheduled within the final 2 months prior to the satisfactory completion of the Post-Doctoral Supervised Work Experience (PDSWE). Rule 510-2-.01(1)(3)
- 7. The Board currently administers the Oral Exam via ZOOM monthly.

Types of Licenses:

 LICENSURE AS A PSYCHOLOGIST – a renewable license is issued to applicants who have met all licensure requirements and passed all examinations. Each issued license will indicate a common expiration/renewal date of December 31st of every Even Numbered year regardless of the date of issuance.

Following the <u>initial renewal</u> of the license, then the licensee will have a full twoyear licensure period (i.e. January 1st of every <u>odd</u> numbered year through December 31st of every <u>even</u> numbered year).

One of two methods may be used to obtain licensure as a Psychologist in Georgia:

1. By **EXAMINATION –** for initial licensing; never licensed.

2. By **ENDORSEMENT** - for individuals who hold current, valid licenses to practice psychology in other states or jurisdictions whose standards, in the opinion of the board, are not lower than those required by O.C.G.A. § 43-39. The board may require the applicant to pass such written and oral examinations, as the board may deem necessary.

2. TEMPORARY PSYCHOLOGY LICENSES may be issued to applicants for licensure by Endorsement <u>only</u>.

• Applicants must submit the entire application package (see below

under licensure by endorsement) indicating on the application initiation form the request for a Temporary License. <u>There is an</u> additional \$100 fee payable to the Georgia Board for a Temporary License.

- The applicant by endorsement must have passed the EPPP national licensure exam. Applicants by endorsement licensed on or after **November 1, 2020** are required to take the EPPP Part 2.
- Once the applicant's complete PLUS Application is received, and the Board reviews and approves it, the applicant may then be register and sit for the Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) exam. Applicants must pass both the EPPP Part II if applicable, and the jurisprudence exam **BEFORE** a temporary license can be issued.
- Refer to Board rule 510-9-.01.

3. PROVISIONAL PSYCHOLOGY LICENSES may be granted to individuals who are in the process of completing the post-doctoral supervised work experience requirement who have passed the EPPP Parts 1 & 2 and the Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) exams and completed all other requirements for permanent licensure except for the post-doctoral supervised work experience requirement and the Oral examination.

• Applicants must submit the entire application package (see below under licensure by examination) indicating on the application initiation form the request for a Provisional License. <u>There is an additional \$100 fee</u> payable to the Georgia Board for a Provisional License to be issued. Refer to Board rule 510-9-.02.

Required forms/procedures for licensure by Examination or Endorsement applicants:

The following are the requirements for submission of an application for licensure for those requesting licensure for the first time (i.e. by examination) or for those who have been licensed less than five years in another state and are requesting licensure by endorsement:

- 1. Application Initiation form and required fee(s) for licensure as a psychologist; and,
- 2. A Secure and Verifiable Document (SVD); and,
- 3. An Affidavit of Citizenship; and,
- 4. Registration with Fieldprint/GAPS as required by GA law to cause the submission of a criminal fingerprint background check [O.C.G.A. §§ 43-39-6 and 43-39-8(b)(6).]
- 5. Participation in the ASPPB PLUS program application process.

Additional information for Licensure by Endorsement Applicants:

The Board reviews applications for licensure by endorsement on a case-by-case basis. Applicants must hold a current, valid, unencumbered license in another state or jurisdiction (refer to Board rule 510-3-.02) to apply by endorsement.

The EPPP Part 1 is required for an applicant for licensure by endorsement. <u>However</u>, if licensed on or after November 1, 2020 the applicant shall be required to take and pass the EPPP Part II exam.

Applicants by endorsement must take and pass the EPPP part 2 (if applicable), the Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws and Rules) exam and the Board administered Oral Examination before licensure is considered.

Licensure Requirements for holders of the CPQ:

- CPQ applicants are <u>required</u> to take and pass the Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) and Board administered Oral examination. Refer to Board rule 510-3-.02(d).
- CPQ applicants <u>must provide</u> official documentation of their CPQ status by requesting ASPPB to send the appropriate documents and their complete CPQ file to the Georgia Board.

Disability Accommodation: If an applicant has a disability that may require certain accommodations to sit for any of the required examinations, please: Print out and complete the <u>ADA Request for Accommodation</u> form posted on the same webpage as all other Board applications and forms and submit to the administrative staff along with the initiation application form and all other supporting documents and fee(s).

Veterans: If you have served on active duty in the Armed Forces, the Reserves or the National Guard during wartime or during any conflict when the President committed military personnel, you may be eligible for Veterans' Preference Points added to your examination scores. You will need to submit a copy of your **DD 214** form with your application and other supporting documents. Refer to O.C.G.A. §§ 43-1-9 through13 for more information.

Application Processing: The Board's administrative staff will process an applicant's initiation registration form, fee(s), and all supporting documents within ten (10) business days of receipt in the Board office. Candidates for licensure as a psychologist in Georgia are not referred to ASPPB for the PLUS program until <u>all</u> required forms, documentation and fee(s) have been submitted and processed by the administrative staff.

Names: If any application documents or records are in a different name than the applicant is applying under, please indicate this in writing when submitting the application. If applicants/licensees wish to change their names on file, on a license, then they must send a copy of the legal document changing the name to the Board.

Please keep a copy of <u>ALL</u> application materials submitted to the Board.

Fees: For application initiation registration forms mailed into the Georgia Board office: personal checks, money orders or cashier's checks - made payable to: The Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists.

- Application and mail in application processing fees are Non-Refundable.
- Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. §16-9-20.
- Fees for the ASPPB PLUS program and/or the registration for the EPPP examinations are NOT payable to the Georgia Board.

Examination Dates: The Board currently administers **the Oral Exams** via ZOOM each month. Please visit the Board website, <u>The Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists | Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov)</u>, for meeting dates. Information regarding the **Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws and Rules) and Oral Exams** may also be found on this site.

The Board appreciates the time and effort involved in completing the required application materials and forms. It will be most helpful to the Board and Board staff in reviewing your application if you ensure that all of the information is accurate, timely, and legible, and that you have reviewed the pertinent Georgia Rules and Laws.

Mailing address, physical address and/or e-mail address changes: Please use your online account <u>The Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists</u> <u>Georgia Secretary of State (ga.gov)</u> to make the changes yourself, or notify the Board promptly, in writing, of any change:

- By E-Mail: <u>ExamBoards-Healthcare@sos.ga.gov</u> (**DO NOT E-Mail** Applications)
- Or by USPS Mail: Georgia Board of Examiners of Psychologists, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858