About The Board

The Georgia General Assembly created the Georgia State Board for the Certification of Librarians in 1937 to ensure that librarians who work for any public library serving a population of 5,000 or more, and every library operated by the State or its authority, meet certain minimum education qualifications. The Board has the authority to adopt rules which establish standards for licensure. The act also provides for public funds to be withheld from any library which fails to comply with the registration requirements of this act. The Board is comprised of six members, five of whom are appointed by the Governor, and serve for terms of five years. Of the appointed members, three are certified librarians, one is a trustee of a public library, and one is a member from the public at large. The sixth member is the director of public library services of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Board Members

Dr. Linda Most, Chair – Library Trustee

Julie Walker, Vice-Chair – State Library Services

Kathryn Epps, Consumer Member

Alicia Brown MacKinney, Public Librarian

Anne Isbell, Public Librarian

W. Todd Groce, Specialty Librarian


Executive Director
Chris Jones

Board Meetings

More information on Board Meetings and Events can be found on the Librarians Board Events page.