Athletic Trainers FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions related to the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers.
Yes. You cannot use your certification to practice in Georgia. You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers to practice as an Athletic Trainer in Georgia.
No, but you may submit an application for licensure by endorsement/reciprocity. The state where you are currently licensed must have licensure requirements that are substantially equal to or more stringent than the Georgia requirements.
- Please note that it is a violation of state law to practice in Georgia as an Athletic Trainer without a Georgia license.
- You must hold a valid license issued by the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers to practice as an Athletic Trainer in Georgia.
- There are provisions of law that will allow athletic trainers licensed in another state or jurisdiction to practice in the state of Georgia on a limited basis if he or she is visiting the state as an athletic trainer for a sports team.
To know if you meet this exemption, review O.C.G.A. § 43-34-29.3.
- You must submit the appropriate application and any required supplemental documents along with the non-refundable and non-transferable fee. Once your application is complete and all supporting documents have been received and processed, your complete application file will be reviewed within 25 business days (excluding holidays/weekends). If you are not eligible for a license at that time, or any supporting documents are missing, you will receive a letter (by e-mail if the address is on file) indicating the status of your application. You may NOT practice as an Athletic trainer in Georgia until the license has been issued.
- Applications are void after 60 days from the date of notification of application deficiencies. If all required supplemental documents are not received within that 60-day window, your application will be withdrawn, and you will need to re-apply.
You can check the status of your application by visiting the Check Your Status page.
Address changes will be accepted via USPS Mail Service or fax to 866-888-1308 if the appropriate information is submitted on the Name and Address Change Request Form. You may use the Online Services site to update your own address and email address online by logging into your account using our User ID and Password.
Submit a copy of a marriage license, divorce decree or court order via USPS mail service or by fax to 866-888-1308 along with the Name and Address Change Request Form.
- A copy of your driver’s license or social security card is not acceptable.
- You can print a copy of your license from the Online Services site.
- Please do not send original documents as they cannot be returned.
If you would like a hard copy of the license pocket card, click here.
- Mail the form by USPS mail service only along with your license number and the appropriate fee of $25.
- You should receive your new pocket card generally within fifteen (15) business days.
The Board no longer issues hard copies of license pocket cards.
- You can print a copy of your license from the Online Services site.
Yes. Individuals become subject to the requirements of renewal beginning the day that the license is issued. As a result, CE completed prior to the date the license was issued in Georgia may not be used to meet the CE requirements to renew the license.
- Athletic Trainers are required to complete 40 contact hours of continuing education (CE) in accordance with Board Rules.
- If you received your Georgia license within one year before the renewal expiration date shall, you will not be required to meet the continuing education requirements for that initial renewal period ONLY.
- NOTE: CE are required only if the licensee applies to renew the license. If the licensee allows the license to expire (lapse) or applies to place the license in an inactive status before the license expires, CE will not be required until he or she attempts to reinstate the license.
Georgia Athletic Trainer licenses expire on June 30th of each even numbered year.
- Licenses are renewed biennially (every 2 years). You may renew your license during the renewal period either online or by mail.
- If applying by mail, you will need to call the Board office at (404) 424-9966 to request a renewal application be mailed to you.
Yes. Licenses expire on June 30th of each even numbered year; therefore, you must complete all required continuing education prior to that date to renew the license without penalty.
Fees are subject to change at the Boards discretion. Please refer to the Fee Schedule page for a copy of the current fee prices.
Yes. Applicants for Licensure by Examination will be required to pass the national exam given by the Board of Certification (BOC) for Athletic Trainers.
- For exam information, please visit their website at http://www.bocatc.org.
Those applying for licensure by Endorsement/Reciprocity (see Question #5) may be granted a license without examination if the applicant is a qualified athletic trainer holding a license in another state where such state recognizes licensees of this state in the same manner (refer to Board Rule 53-4-.01).
Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217
Phone: (404) 424-9966
Fax: (866) 888-1308
Email: [email protected]
O.C.G.A. § 50-13-9.1 Allows for an applicant, a licensee and/or entity to petition the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers to vary (modify) or waive (not apply) all or part of a rule requirement in their particular situation. For a rule or portion thereof to be varied or waived, the petitioner must be able to demonstrate strict application of rule can lead to unreasonable, uneconomical, and unintended results in the petitioner’s particular instance.
- The statute also allows for the Board to grant a variance or waiver when the petitioner is able to demonstrate that the purpose of the underlying statute upon which the rule is based can be or has been achieved by other specific means which are agreeable to the person seeking the variance or waiver and that strict application of the rule would create a substantial hardship to such person.
- If an applicant, a licensee and/or entity desires to make such a petition, you must download and complete a Petition for Rule Variance or Waiver form and submit it along with any supporting documentation to the Board for consideration. You may download the instructions and form by visiting the Application/Form Downloads section on the home page of the Board website.
- Please be aware that a failure to properly complete the form and submit the documentation supporting your statements within the petition may result in the denial of the request based on insufficient evidence to substantiate that the application of the rule in your circumstance will cause a hardship.
- The petition will be posted for a minimum of 15 days on the GeorgiaNet Public Registry and petitioners may conduct a search for their petition. Please note that any member of the public, including interested parties, shall have the opportunity to submit written comments in support of or against proposed variances or waivers prior to the Board decision. The Board has up to 60 days from receipt of the petition to render a decision to either grant or deny the petition. The petitioner will be notified in writing of the Board’s decision and the written statement will include relevant facts and the reasons for the Board’s action.
The Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers does not issue letters of good standing.
- If another licensing authority or employer requires an official statement about the status of a license in this state, the licensee may submit an Online License Verification request via the Quick Link entitled Purchase a Verification of Licensure [needs hyperlink], which can be found on the home page of the Board website.
- Please note that a $35 fee is required before the verification will be issued. The license verification request will be processed and forwarded to the entity you indicated on the online form. If you have multiple licenses and/or you need the license verification sent to multiple locations, you will be required to submit a new order and fee each time.
- If you do not have access to a credit or debit card for payment of the fee, you may submit your request by mail using a check or money order. Click here to access, download and print the order form.
- If another licensing authority requires that your verification be submitted on their forms, you may submit the $35 verification fee online and submit the form to [email protected].
As of January 1, 2014 Article 6 of Chapter 2 of Title 20 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated was amended to enact the “Return to Play Act of 2013” to include the requirement that public and private schools and public recreation leagues provide information to parents on the nature and risk of concussions, head injuries, endorse concussion recognition education courses and establish concussion management and return to play policies. In addition, the amendment provides for definitions within the miscellaneous provisions under the “Quality Basic Education Act.”
- The amendment defines ‘Health care provider’ as “a licensed physician or another licensed individual under the supervision of a licensed physician, such as a…certified athletic trainer who has received training in concussion evaluation and management.”
- As a matter of public protection, the Georgia Board of Athletic Trainers encourages all licenses to become familiar with this statutory change and practice accordingly.