Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers FAQ
Georgia Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers FAQ
See the How-To Guide: Plumber License page.
For a description of the licensing requirements, see Board Rule 121-2-02.
See the How-To Guide: Plumber License page. Or contact the board office at:
237 Coliseum Drive
Please provide your name, mailing address and the type of license you are requesting.
Licenses expire every 2 years. You must renew your license prior to the expiration date and pay the renewal fee of $75.00. An email reminder about renewal will be sent to licensees approximately 8 weeks prior to renewal deadline. To qualify for renewal, plumbing contractors must have completed 4 hours per year of continuing education. See Board Rule 121-4-.06 for details.
Board Rule 121-4-.06 outlines the requirements for continuing education. Licensees must complete at least 4 hours per year of instruction related to their profession. Courses must be conducted by a college, vocational-technical school, or trade association. Continuing education courses must be in the areas of plumbing installation, design, state codes, products, innovations or new techniques, tools and materials, safety, or work-related legal issues. Courses for master plumbers also may be in the areas of environmental or business issues. The division approves courses offered by institutions of higher learning, vocational-technical schools, and trade, technical, or professional organizations. The division will determine if courses held by institutions under the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia are acceptable.
No, the Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers does not reciprocate with any other states at this time.
Be sure to check federal, state, and local laws and requirements.
You may want to visit First Stop Business Information Center for more information.
To obtain a state medical gas piping certification you must:
- submit a completed application documenting completion of an approved training program, and
- list a current valid Georgia journeyman or master plumber license.
For renewal of the certification, complete and submit the Medical Gas Piping Certification Renewal form.
Board Rule 121-2-.11 provides additional information about Medical Gas Piping. There is no charge for this certification.
Have you been honorably discharged from active military duty within the last 180 days? If so, the Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers has created an application designed specifically for returning service men and women.
The application will require your Forms DD 214, DD 2586 and NGB Form 22 and Form 1059 if applicable, letters from your training managers and a letter of recommendation from your Commander or designated representative.
If you meet the requirements, the Board will provide expedited processing to get you into the workforce as quickly and efficiently as possible. Download the application and instructions >> here.