Broker-Dealer Agents [O.C.G.A. § 10-5-31]
A broker-dealer agent is employed by a broker-dealer to sell securities but is not themselves a registered broker-dealer. See O.C.G.A. § 10-5-2(1). Once the firm pays the registration fee through FINRA, the analyst assigned to the agent’s registration will contact you.
Agents in Georgia must be affiliated with a FINRA-registered broker-dealer. To register as an agent, one must complete the following requirements:
Submit a fee of $55.00 through Web CRD.
Georgia recognizes the following general examinations, and an applicant applying to be registered as an agent shall provide proof to the Commissioner that the applicant has passed within the two-year period immediately preceding the date of the application, except in regards to the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam which the applicant shall take and pass within the four-year period immediately preceding the date of the application:
(a) The Series 63 Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination administered by FINRA; and
(b) One of the following securities examinations or combination of examinations:
- FINRA Series 1 Registered Representative Examination;
- FINRA Series 2 Non-Member General Securities Examination;
- FINRA Series 6/S6TO Investment Company Products/Variable Contracts Representative Examination and the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam;
- FINRA Series 7/S7TO General Securities Representative Examination and the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam;
- FINRA Series 22/S22TO Direct Participation Programs Representative Examination and the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam;
- FINRA Series 52/S52TO Municipal Securities Representative Examination and the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam;
- NASAA Real Estate Securities Examination; or
- FINRA Series 79/S79TO Investment Banking Representative Examination and the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam.
File a Form U4 through Web CRD.
All applicants requesting registration as a broker-dealer agent must submit fingerprints as required by O.C.G.A. § 10-5-35. The most recent guidance on how to submit fingerprints can be found on the Securities Division website.
Submit any other information requested by the Commissioner.
Expiration and Renewal
Unless renewed, all broker-dealer agent registrations (regardless of when permitted in the calendar year) expire on December 31st of each calendar year. The renewal fee is $45.00. Renewals should be submitted through web CRD prior to expiration of registration.
FINRA publishes instructions on web CRD renewal during the fall prior to expiration. If you do not receive instructions from FINRA regarding the renewal process during the fall you should contact the FINRA Gateway Call Center at (301) 869-6699.
Please be advised: Failure to renew by December 31st will result in termination of your registration in Georgia. The Securities Division will not send out separate renewal notices to remind registrants and notice filers of the renewal process.