About the Board

The Georgia Board of Examiners for the Certification of Water and Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators and Laboratory Analysts was created by legislation enacted in 1969 to protect the public health, safety, and welfare by establishing minimum qualifications for persons who operate wastewater treatment plants, wastewater collection systems, water distribution systems, public water supply systems, or who conduct certain tests of water or wastewater samples in conjunction with the operation of public water system or wastewater treatment plants. The Board certifies thirteen categories of license. Requirements for all categories include education, training, experience, and passage of a national examination. The Board is comprised of six members appointed by the governor. Five are active in the profession and one is a member of the public at large. All members are appointed for terms of four years. The Board meets six times per year.

Board Members

Margaret Doss – Chair, Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator Member

Gilbert Shearouse – Vice Chair, Consultant/Instructor Member

Asmita Patel – Environmental Protection Division Representative Member

Debra Wright – Public Water Supply System Operator Member

Kartik Bhatt – Consumer Member


Executive Director
Brad Coman


Board Meetings

More information on Board Meetings and Events can be found on the Water & Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators Board Events page.