Architects and Interior Designers FAQ
Architects and Interior Designers FAQ
More information about the Georgia Board of Architects and Interior Designers
Applicants for the A.R.E. must meet the following requirements as described in
O.C.G.A. § 43-4-11 and Chapter 50-7 of the Rules of the Board:
Meet education requirements;
Meet work experience requirements;
Establish an IDP record with NCARB.
Please refer to the law and rules for details concerning the education, work experience, and IDP requirements.
Yes. Effective May 15, 2008, an NCARB IDP Council Record is required.
Applicants for a Georgia license by reciprocity must meet the following requirements:
Hold a current National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ (NCARB) certificate, which must be in good standing;
Hold a current certificate of registration in another state, which must be in good standing.
You may contact NCARB at (202) 783-6500 or at their website at www.ncarb.org for the uniform application for architect registration.
Georgia law and rules do not require architectural firms to be registered in this State. Please refer to O.C.G.A § 43-4-10(b) concerning the practice of architecture by firms.
Applicants for examination in Georgia may apply based on ten years of work experience only if they submitted a letter of intent to the Board office prior to July 1, 1985 as required in O.C.G.A. § 43-4-11(b)(2).
The Board office receives a copy of your grades at the same time they are mailed to you. When we have verified that you have passed all parts of the examination, your license number will be assigned, and you will be emailed a link to our website where you may print your license for free, or, if you want a license printed on our card stock paper, you may order a printed license from the site for a $25.00 fee.
Your license will expire on June 30th of each odd-numbered year. The electronic renewal application can be completed online once you receive an email notification that the renewal portal has been opened. For access to the online renewal application, go to the Board’s website. Click the button labeled License Renewals. You may also directly update changes to your address information online at the Board’s website. Please note that failure to receive the email notification does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for timely renewal.
You may apply for reinstatement of your expired license by completing a reinstatement application and submitting it to the Board office along with the appropriate fee.
Yes. A registered architect must report having completed 24 professional development units during the two-year period immediately preceding each biennial renewal date as a condition for registration renewal. Registrants should read the complete description of the professional development reporting requirements in Rule Chapter 50-6 which is available at this website.
Yes. The Professional Licensing Boards now charges $25.00 for verification of license status and/or transfer of grades. A request form is available on the Board website which can be downloaded and submitted to the Board office along with the fee.
Yes. An architect holding a valid license to practice in Georgia who has retired from the active practice of architecture and is no longer practicing as an architect in Georgia, may request inactive license status by filing the required application and paying the appropriate fee as indicate in the fee schedule. (see Board Rule 50-6-.08). The architect’s license must currently be Active to be eligible for Inactive status. A person who holds an inactive license may apply to reactivate the license by submitting a Reactivation application, fee and continuing education requirements. See Rule 50-6-.08(6).
In 2003, HB285 amended the Georgia Erosion and Sediment Control Act of 1975. These amendments included a groundbreaking mandatory certification program for all individuals involved in land disturbing activities in Georgia. For additional information, please contact the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission. (https://gaswcc.georgia.gov/)
Current law requires an NAAB accredited degree. According to O.C.G.A. § 43-4-11(b)(3), applicants for architect examination in Georgia may qualify to take the examination with a bachelor’s degree in architectural engineering technology from a school or college in this state (Southern Polytechnic State University) approved by the ABET, or any other bachelor’s degree with a substantial concentration in architecture approved by the board from a board approved school or college in this state (Georgia Institute of Technology or Savannah School of Art and Design), and at least six years of practical experience.
All correspondence and applications should be mailed to:
Georgia State Board of Architects and Interior Designers
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
- American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) American Society of Interior Designers (ASID)
- International Interior Design Association International Interior Design Association
- National Council for Interior Design Qualification National Council for Interior Design Qualification
- Georgia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Georgia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects
- National Council of Architectural Registration Boards National Council of Architectural Registration Boards