The Georgian Nurse

The Georgian Nurse Publication

The Georgian Nurse is published quarterly and is the official publication of the Georgia Board of Nursing.  Copies of The Georgian Nurse are available in every healthcare facility and nursing program in the State of Georgia.  Additionally, an ePub link is emailed to all licensees with a valid email address.  

History Of The Georgia Board Of Nursing

On August 22, 1907, the Georgia General Assembly passed legislation to create what would become known as the Georgia Board of Nursing. The newly created Board was tasked with regulating the growing field of registered professional nurses, as well as overseeing registered nursing education programs. The new legislation authorized then Governor M. Hoke Smith to appoint five members to the Board that would act on behalf of the citizens of Georgia. As such, on September 23, 1907, the first members of the Board were appointed and sworn into office. Less than a month later, on October 19, 1907, the first meeting of the Georgia Board of Nursing was called to order.

Learn More About the History Of The Georgia Board Of Nursing>>

Board Members

Tammy Bryant, RN, MSN - President, Practical Nursing Education Member 

Merry Fort, RN, BS, Vice-President Nursing Service Administration Member

Darrell W. Thompson, RN, DNP, ACNP-BC, FNP-BC -  Registered Nursing Education Member

Cynthia Summerlin, DNP, MSN, RN, FNP-C, Registered Nursing Education Member 

Joshua Batson, NP-C, APRN Member

Roger Pierce, Nursing Service Administration Member

Ryan Loke, Consumer Member

Stephanie Dickerson, Nursing Service Administration Member

K. Andrea Phipps, LPN, Licensed Practical Nurse Member

Ashlan Porter, RN, Board Member

Jennifer Pipkin, RN, MSN, CRNA, Registered Nurse Member

Maceo Tanner, Licensed Practical Nurse Member


Executive Director

Tara Taylor


Board Meetings

More information on Board Meetings and Events can be found on the Nursing Board Events page.

Professional Associations

Board Services

Advisory Committees

The Board uses advisory committees to assist with its regulatory work.



237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217