About the Board

The Georgia State Board of Optometry is a six-member board appointed by the Governor to protect, promote, and preserve the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Georgia. The Board is composed of five licensed, practicing optometrists and one consumer member. They are responsible for the regulation of licensed optometrists in Georgia. The Board reviews applications administer examinations, licenses qualified applicants and regulates the practice of licensees throughout the state. Complaints are investigated and, if warranted, disciplinary action may be taken by the Board.

The practice of optometry consists of the diagnosis, treatment, and management of diseases and disorders of the visual system, the eyes, and associated structures, including the diagnosis of related systemic conditions. As a learned science, licensed optometrists meet a rigorous licensing standard that consists of formal optometric education, internship, and examination.

Board Members

Robert McCullough, O.D. - President 2023-2024

Paul C. Ajamian, O.D. - Vice President 2023-2024

Ellen Fitzgerald, O.D.

Jeffrey Hackleman, O.D. 

Jeanne M. Perrine, O.D.

B. Thassanee Parker, Consumer Member


Executive Director

Brig Zimmerman

Board Meetings

More information on Board Meetings and Events can be found on the Optometry Board Events page.