Frequently Asked Questions
Questions related to the Georgia Board of Optometry
View the How To Guide: Optometrist page.
Submit a completed application, a non-refundable application fee, a Secure and Verifiable Document and request official transcripts from your educational entity (showing completion of degree and graduation date) be mailed or submitted electronically by school, and certified scores of Parts I, II, III, and the TMOD of the National Boards Examination. Applicants must also take and pass the Georgia Optometry Laws & Rules Exam.
According to Rule 430-2-.01, candidates for licensure in Georgia will be required to pass Parts 1, 2 and 3 if applicable of the National Board examinations; and Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease (TMOD) examination, and the Georgia State Jurisprudence examination administered by the vendor PSI or its successor.
Please allow up to 15 business for the processing of your application. Some applications may require a Board review and take longer to process. Once your license has been issued, it will be available on the website under "license verification."
Print your license once processed.
View the Reinstatement section of the How To Guide: Optometrist page.
- Applicant must complete the reinstatement application.
- Applicant must pay a reinstatement fee
- The Board must approve all reinstatements.
Yes. Licensees may request that their license be placed on Inactive status under the provisions set forth in Board Rule 430-2-.05.
Apply for Reinstatement pursuant to Board rule 430-2-.09.
All address changes must be reported to the Board within 10 days after the move. The most efficient way to change an address is through our website. You may also submit address changes in writing. The license number, name as it appears on the license, the old address and the new address is required. Address changes may be submitted by mail, e-mail to [email protected], or fax (866-888-7127.
To request a name change, submit the legal document causing the name change (divorce decree, marriage certificate, etc.) and a written request providing the current name and the new name, by fax to 866-888-7127, or via e-mail to [email protected].
View the Renewal section on the How to Guide: Optometrist page.
- Please use the online renewal webpage. You may request a paper renewal form be mailed to you by calling 404-424-9966.
- All licenses will expire December 31st of odd numbered years.
- The renewal fee is $125.00.
- Attain the required number of Continuing Education hours. See Rule 430-2-.04 for specific continuing education requirements.
- After December 31st, a fee in the amount of $325.00 is required if you submit your renewal between January 1st and January 31st of the following year.
After January 31st of the following year, your license will automatically go into a lapse status and must be reinstated pursuant to the rules.
The Georgia State Board of Optometry has adopted Rule 430-2-.04. Licensees are encouraged to utilize the services of ARBO’s OE Tracker Program. It is designed to archive into a centralized data base CE attendance data from any format.
All licensees register with the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO) www.arbo.org . After the licensee registers at the website, he/she may login and will be given an OE Tracker Card/#.
Only those randomly selected for Continuing Education audit must submit proof of their continuing education credits along with their renewal application.
There is a form on the Board's website you may use, or you can simply send a written request to the Board. There is a fee of $35 to process each requested verification. Please provide the name and full mailing address of the intended recipient of the verification.
You may also submit a request online.
OPTOMETRISTS WITH DEA PERMITS ARE REQUIRED TO REGISTER FOR THE PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP). Optometrists who possess a DEA permit are required to register to use the PDMP. All new DEA prescriber registrants must register with the PDMP within 30 days of obtaining a DEA Permit. To register for the PDMP visit https://dph.georgia.gov/pdmp on the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) website. For additional information or to submit any questions, requests, or concerns regarding this please contact DPH at 404-463-1517 or send an email to [email protected].
O.C.G.A. § 31-12-12. Title 31 contains the complete Contact Lens Law.
The Board maintains a list of currently approved CE providers.
The Board only licenses individuals as Optometrists, it does not license businesses or Optometry Practices. The Board must receive a formal complaint against a licensee, or unlicensed individual holding themselves out to the public to be licensed, for it to consider any further actions against a licensee.
The standard of care is the same for an in-person, face-to-face eye exam as for a virtual eye exam. Please reference in Board Rule 430-5-.01 and O.C.G.A. § 31-12-12.