Hearing Aid FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions related to the Georgia Board of Hearing Aid Dealers and Dispensers
Visit the How to Guide: Hearing Aid Dispenser page for more information.
Hearing Aid Training Permit: A 6 month permit to practice under the DIRECT SUPERVISION AND IMMEDIATE OBSERVATION of a licensed Georgia Hearing Aid Dispenser. This permit is renewable every 6 months. Submit the application, fee, and supervising dispensers’ statement.
NOTE: You will NOT be made eligible to register and sit for any of the required exams for full licensure as a Training Permit holder.
Hearing Aid Apprentice Permit: Submit an application, the fee, and all supporting documents required. A 1-year permit that is not renewable and can be issue only one time. Practice once the permit is issued is ONLY under the indirect supervision of a Georgia licensed hearing aid dispenser. The permit will only be issued after the applicant has taken and passed the Georgia Laws and Rules exam, the Audiogram exam, and the Georgia Practical exam.
Hearing Aid Dispensers License: Submit a completed application for licensure by examination, the required fee and all supporting documents as explained in the Board rules and on the application forms available on our board's page. When the application is complete, you will be made eligible to sit for the required exams: The Audiogram, Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) and Practical Exams administered by PSI. The ILE national exam administered by IHS.
NEW: All applicants for a Dispensers license MUST complete a fingerprint background check. See the instructions on how to register and complete this new requirement on the same webpage you found the applications and other forms.
If you currently hold a license in another state or jurisdiction, submit an official verification of licensure from every state you hold or have held a license to practice in, active or not. You may use the form in the application, or the submitting licensure entity may use their own forms or documentation. Verification of licensure in another state or jurisdiction may also be e-mailed to the Board to [email protected].
Applicants must provide information on the sponsoring dealership they will be employed by once licensed.
The Audiogram, Georgia Jurisprudence (Laws & Rules) and Practical Exams are administered by PSI. Contact PSI @ www.psiexams.com. IHS administers the national ILE exam. You can find out more details at www.ihsinfo.org.
Where do I send verification of licensure from other states and entities? Verification of Licensure from other state licensure Boards or regulatory entities may be e-mailed to the Georgia Board of HADD's to [email protected].
Each applicant for licensure as a dispenser must register and provide fingerprints for a nationwide criminal background check to be conducted at the applicants’ expense. The instructions and vendor for the background check can be reviewed by clicking HERE. The background check is required for dispenser applicants only, not for apprentice or training permit applicants. If you complete a background check as an apprentice or training permit applicant, you will be required to complete another background check when you apply for dispenser.
Failure to comply with this requirement will delay the processing of this application for licensure and may result in the application being denied.
Please allow up to 15 business days for the administrative staff to process and issue approved licenses for passing exam candidates whose application file is otherwise complete.
1. NAME CHANGES:
- A request for a name change for licensees must be submitted in writing by fax to 866-888-7127, by e-mail to [email protected] or by USPS mail service to the Board at 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858, and must be accompanied by a copy (no original documents will be returned) of the legal document affecting the name change (i.e. divorce decree, marriage certificate).
- A request for a name change for a Dealership: a new application, the non-refundable fee, and all supporting documents be submitted to the Board. The dealership may print a copy of the license indicating the new name, or request one from the Board ($25 fee to accompany written request) of the license once approved by the Board.
2. ADDRESS CHANGES:
- The Board will accept mailing and physical address changes for licensees by USPS mail service to the Board @ 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858, by e-mail to [email protected], or by fax to 866-888-7127. You may also use the online address & e-mail updates feature.
- Physical address changes for dealerships cannot be completed online or by fax. Any physical address change for a dealership requires the submission of a new application; the non-refundable fee and all supporting documents to the Board, 237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, GA 31217-3858 (refer to rule 276-4-.02). A written statement requesting the closure of the prior location is required. A new license will be issued to the new locations dealership once approved by the Board. Online changes to a dealerships physical location address will not be accepted nor recognized by the Board.
Visit the How to Guide: Hearing Aid Dispenser page for more renewal information on renewing DISPENSER licenses.
Visit the How to Guide: Hearing Aid Dealer page for more renewal information on renewing DEALER licenses.
Complete the renewal application online or request a paper renewal form be mailed to you by calling 404-424-9966. All licenses will expire December 31st of every odd numbered year. See the Fee Schedule for the current renewal fee. A late renewal period is available to licensees from January 1st - 31st of even numbered years. An additional penalty amount is charged for all late renewals (see fee schedule). After the late renewal period, all non-renewed licenses are administratively lapsed. Once lapsed, the licensee must apply for reinstatement.
Effective January 1, 2016, 20 hours of Continuing Education are required for the renewal of a Dispensers license. A random number of renewing licensees will be selected for a Continuing Education Hours Audit (Dispensers only). Only those Hearing Aid Dispensers randomly selected for Continuing Education audit must submit proof of their continuing education credits. You will receive specific instructions if you are chosen for an audit.
Fill out this form or submit a request in writing for a verification of license along with a $35.00 fee (money order, cashier’s check, certified check). Please indicate the name as it appears on the license, the full license number, and the name/address of where you wish the verification to be sent. The processing time is 10-15 days.
You may also submit a request online.